Archives par étiquette : AS MANY NOWS AS I CAN GET

AS MANY NOWS AS I CAN GET de Shana Youngdahl

In the vein of All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven comes an emotionally resonant debut about an intense summer romance, the choices we make, and the choices we hope to never be given

AS MANY NOWS AS I CAN GET
by Shana Youngdahl
Dial Books For Young Readers, Winter 2020

In one crazy moment during the summer before they leave home for college, overachievers Scarlett and David plunge into an irresistible swirl of romance, particle physics, questionable decisions, and electrified emotion. Months later, while her fellow freshmen are enjoying goofy orientation activities, Scarlet realizes she pregnant. The father could be David, or Cody, Scarlett’s high-school boyfriend and David’s best friend.
Told in non-linear, vivid first-person chapters, the novel captures glimpses and moments from Scarlett’s last few years of high school and first year of college in Maine. With the help of Mina, her poetry-spouting and endlessly pragmatic roommate, Scarlett navigates her new reality. But, as Scarlett’s world begins to find order, David’s veers into a drug-fueled darkness.
AS MANY NOWS AS I CAN GET is the story of a physics-obsessed girl who experiences a beautiful tornado of a relationship and learns how to pick up the pieces on the other side. Witty, cerebral, and achingly poignant, Shana Youngdahl’s debut is for readers who love Jandy Nelson, Nina LaCour, and Jennifer Niven.

Shana Youngdahl has an MFA in Creative Writing from the University of Minnesota. She has authored a poetry collection and three chapbooks, and currently teaches poetry d first-year writing at the University of Maine, Farmington.