Archives par étiquette : Ashley Elston

FIRST LIE WINS d’Ashley Elston

Evie Porter has everything a nice, Southern girl could want—perfect, doting boyfriend, house with a white picket fence and a garden, fancy group of friends. Only thing is—Evie Porter doesn’t exist.

FIRST LIE WINS
by Ashley Elston
Pamela Dorman Books/Viking, Spring 2023
(via Sterling Lord Literistic)

The identity came first: Evie Porter, newest resident of Lake Forbing, Louisiana. Once she was given a name and location by her mysterious boss, she became that person. She learned everything there was to know about the town and the people in it. Then the mark: Ryan Sumner. She ate, slept and breathed everything Ryan.
The last piece of the puzzle was the job.
Sometimes the jobs were short, lasting a few days to a week. A quick in and out. Other times, they were much longer. A couple months or more. She knew this job would be different. She knew she couldn’t make any mistakes especially after what happened on the last job. She came in expecting the worst but she never saw the woman coming.
Because the one thing she worked her entire life to keep clean, the one identity she could always go back to—her real identity—just walked right into this job. Evie Porter must stay one step ahead of her past while making sure there’s still a future in front of her.
FIRST LIE WINS is a twisty, cat-and-mouse suspense that turns the domestic thriller on its head. It’s a stylish, sharp, impossible-to-put-down read in the vein of Laura Dave, Liv Constantine, and Julie Clark.

Ashley Elston is the author of several young adult novels, including The Rules for Disappearing (a finalist in the Best Young Adult Novel category of the International Thriller Awards) and 10 Blind Dates. Her work has been translated into 23 languages. She graduated with a Liberal Arts degree from Louisiana State University in Shreveport. Ashley worked for many years as a wedding photographer before turning her hand to writing. Ashley lives in Louisiana with her husband and three sons. 10 Blind Dates has been optioned by ACE Entertainment, the group who produced To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before.