Archives par étiquette : WHEN FRIENDSHIP FOLLOWED ME HOME

WHEN FRIENDSHIP FOLLOWED ME HOME de Paul Griffin

Mise à jour du 30 octobre 2015 : droits cédés à Bayard Jeunesse

Shiloh meets Counting by 7s in this deeply moving middle grade breakout novel about life, loss, and the magic of friendship

WHEN FRIENDSHIP FOLLOWED ME HOME
by Paul Griffin
Dial, June 2016

Full of pace and laughter, bruises and heart. Paul Griffin is the sort of writer you’re torn between telling the whole world about and keeping all to yourself.” —Markus Zusak, author of The Book Thief

« Heart-expanding. This book convinced me all over again that love and imagination are life’s biggest magic. It’ll make you want to grab hold of everyone important to you and lick them on the nose. » —Rebecca Stead, author of When You Reach Me

Ben Coffin has never felt like he fits in. A former foster kid, he keeps his head down at school to avoid bullies and spends his afternoons reading sci-fi books at the library. But that all changes when he finds a scruffy abandoned dog named Woody and befriends the librarian’s daughter, Halley. For the first time, Ben starts to feel like he belongs in his own life. Then, Ben’s adoptive mother dies, and as his home life disintegrates, Halley’s cancer returns. Suddenly Ben is more alone than ever. But with a little help from Halley’s magician father, Ben discovers his place in the world and learns to see his own magic through others’ eyes.
Despite tackling serious issues and weighty themes (bullying, death/loss, terminal illness) this book is filled with moments of levity and wry observations that will ring true to middle schoolers and adult readers alike. Like Leslie Burke from Bridge to Terabithia or August Pullman from Wonder, Halley and Ben are the kind of unforgettable characters who will stick with readers long after the final page. Ben’s relationship with Woody is truly life-changing. When Ben’s life begins falls apart, Woody acts as an anchor, helping Ben through tough times. This book is a must-read for dog-lovers and fans of books like “Hotel for Dogs”. A heartwarming middle grade novel that’s also perfect for readers of “Okay For Now” and “Almost Home”.

Paul Griffin is the award-winning author of Ten Mile River, The Orange Houses, and Burning Blue. He lives, trains dogs, and writes in New York City.