Archives de catégorie : Picture Books

KITTEN’S FIRST FULL MOON de Kevin Henkes

Kevin Henkes’s acclaimed national bestseller about a kitten, the moon, and a bowl of milk was awarded the Caldecott Medal and was a New York Times Best Illustrated Book.

KITTEN’S FIRST FULL MOON
by Kevin Henkes
Greenwillow, September 2015

KITTEN’S FIRST FULL MOON is an acclaimed modern classic, from one of the most celebrated and beloved picture book creators working in the field today. This memorable character and her suspenseful adventure are just right for the very youngest child. It is Kitten’s first full moon, and when she sees it she thinks it is a bowl of milk in the sky. And she wants it. Does she get it? Well, no . . . and yes. What a night!

A concise story, large type, and luminescent pictures play second fiddle to the true star of this book: a brave young kitten who sets out into the world on a quest that leaves her bruised, bewildered, and hungry, but that ultimately leads her back home, where something special is waiting just for her. This perfectly sized board book edition introduces Kitten to a new generation of the youngest readers. 

Indefatigable Kitten is a role model for all ages—taking chances, picking herself up when she fails, trying out new strategies to get what she wants, and figuring out when enough is enough.

Winner of the Caldecott Medal, an ALA Notable Book, a New York Times Best Illustrated Book, and winner of the Charlotte Zolotow Award.

Kevin Henkes has been praised both as a writer and as an illustrator and is the recipient of the Children’s Literature Legacy Award for his lasting contribution to literature for children. He received the Caldecott Medal for KITTEN’S FIRST FULL MOON; Caldecott Honors for Waiting and Owen; two Newbery Honors, one for Olive’s Ocean and one for The Year of Billy Miller;and Geisel Honors for Waiting and Penny and Her Marble. His other books include The World and Everything in It; A HouseA Parade of ElephantsChrysanthemum; and the beloved Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse. Kevin Henkes lives with his family in Madison, Wisconsin.

NOSE TO NOSE de Thyra Heder

From the critically acclaimed author-illustrator of Alfie, Thyra Heder’s NOSE TO NOSE is an insightful and hilarious picture book about trying to make new friends as the new dog in town and the courage it takes to face a problem “nose to nose”.

NOSE TO NOSE
by Thyra Heder
BYR/Abrams, September 2024

Toby is the new dog on the block, and he can’t wait to meet his neighbors. But his attempts to make friends go largely un-sniffed by his busy neighborhood, and Toby finds being new isn’t so easy. At least he finds a nice, smelly ball at the park. There’s just one problem: The ball actually belongs to another pup, Pancake, who desperately wants it back.

Toby tries his best to explain his mistake, but when his messages get misunderstood, the neighborhood rumors fly: Toby is a bad dog! Beware! Toby doesn’t know if he’ll ever make a friend, but hopefully by being brave and taking a chance, he can make things right.

This pooch-filled story by critically acclaimed author Thyra Heder playfully unveils the currents of communication happening all around us and champions the courage it takes to confront a problem “nose to nose.”

Thyra Heder is the author and illustrator of Sal Boat, Fraidyzoo, The Bear Report, Alfie, and How Do You Dance?. She is also a scenic designer and storyboard artist for film and advertising. She lives in Brooklyn.

FINDING THINGS de Kevin Henkes, illustré par Laura Dronzek

From bestselling husband and wife team Kevin Henkes and Laura Dronzek.

FINDING THINGS
by Kevin Henkes, illustrated by Laura Dronzek
Greenwillow Books, April 2024

If you were on a walk and found a ball, you could take it home and play with it. You are likely to find many other wonderful things as you explore the world—maybe even a new friend—and that makes you very lucky.

Award-winning creators Kevin Henkes and Laura Dronzek’s collaborations are always exceptional; full of vivid and deceptively simple observations of the world around us. FINDING THINGS features a succinct text and exquisite, emotionally rich illustrations, and it encourages readers to be creative and to find purpose and connections in what surrounds them. A terrific read-aloud to treasure and share, as well as a great title for visual literacy and emerging readers, Finding Things is also a wonderful choice for social and emotional learning.

Kevin Henkes has been praised both as a writer and as an illustrator and is the recipient of the Children’s Literature Legacy Award for his lasting contribution to literature for children. He received the Caldecott Medal for Kitten’s First Full Moon; Caldecott Honors for Waiting and Owen; two Newbery Honors—one for Olive’s Ocean and one for The Year of Billy Miller—and Geisel Honors for Waiting and Penny and Her Marble. His other books include Sun Flower Lion, A Parade of Elephants, Chrysanthemum, and the beloved Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse. Kevin Henkes lives with his family in a house in Madison, Wisconsin.

Laura Dronzek is a painter whose work has been exhibited nationally. Her picture books include Moonlight, by Helen V. Griffith; It Is Night, by Phyllis Rowand; White Is for Blueberry, by George Shannon; Little Houses, by Kevin Henkes; and a quartet of seasonal picture books also by Kevin Henkes. She lives in Madison, Wisconsin.

BIANCA AND THE BUTTERFLY de Sergio Ruzzier

From two-time Geisel Honor–winning author-illustrator Sergio Ruzzier comes a timeless picture book about a young polar bear who befriends a butterfly and encounters new experiences.

BIANCA AND THE BUTTERFLY
by Sergio Ruzzier
HarperCollins Children’s Books, March 2025

Sergio is one of Maurice Sendak’s artistic heirs, having won the prestigious Sendak Fellowship in 2011. His work has been met with much acclaim, including two Geisel Honor Medals, as well as awards by American Illustration, the Society of Illustrators, Communication Arts, and the Society of Publication Designers.

Sergio Ruzzier is a two-time Geisel Honor–winning picture book author and illustrator. Sergio has written and illustrated many picture books, including Fox and Chick: The Party, a 2019 Geisel Honor Book; Fish and Wave, a 2023 Geisel Honor Book; Two Mice; and more. He was a recipient of the 2011 Sendak Fellowship and winner of the Parents’ Choice Gold Medal for The Room of Wonders and This Is Not a Picture Book!

THE PEDDLER OF PUDDLES de Beth Ferry, illustré par Tim Lichtenheld

From the bestselling creators of Stick and Stone.

THE PEDDLER OF PUDDLES
by Beth Ferry, illustrated by Tim Lichtenheld
Clarion Books, April 2025

This is a story about an on-the-go inventor who makes homes for others before realizing the rewards of putting down his own roots. This friendship-forward tale is perfect for fans of Bear Came Along and Strictly No Elephants.

Beth Ferry is the New York Times bestselling author of numerous picture books.

Tom Lichtenheld’s New York Times bestsellers include I Wish You More and Duck! Rabbit!; Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site; and Stick and Stone.