Archives par étiquette : Kaplan DeFiore Rights

Série DUCK AND MOOSE de Kirk Reedstrom

Duck and Moose will need to put their differences aside to learn to live with each other and maybe even become friends in this laugh-out-loud early graphic novel series perfect for fans of Narwhal and Jelly and Chick and Brain.

DUCK AND MOOSE Series
by Kirk Reedstrom
Disney Hyperion, March 2024
(via Kaplan/DeFiore Rights)

Book 1: DUCK MOVES IN!

The first book in a laugh-out-loud early graphic novel series perfect for fans of Narwhal and Jelly! Quiet-loving Moose’s life is turned upside down by free-wheeling Duck. The two will need to put their differences aside if they’re ever going to be neighbors…or friends!

Moose loves peace and quiet, relaxing, living alone, and spring! He can’t wait for the arrival of sun, flowers, and…a new neighbor?! Duck just landed himself a new home. He loves parties, karaoke, and living with—and on—Moose’s head. Moose tries everything he can to send Duck away, but he soon finds that this persistent neighbor might just be the best thing spring could bring.

Book 2: MOOSE BLASTS OFF!

The second book in a laugh-out-loud early graphic novel series perfect for fans of Narwhal and Jelly! Quiet-loving Moose’s life is turned upside down by free-wheeling Duck. The two will need to put their differences aside if they’re ever going to be neighbors…or friends!

Moose loves playing astronaut. Imagining his helmet, his seatbelt, and rocketing off into space are his favorite things to do! One day, Moose invites Duck to play with him. But there’s just one problem—Duck doesn’t know how to use his imagination! Moose teaches him but soon becomes frustrated because Duck doesn’t play astronaut the “right” way. How will these friends learn how to work—and imagine—together?

Filled with zany hijinks and slapstick humor, Kirk Reedstrom’s Duck and Moose series showcases unlikely friendships and the power of compromise.

Kirk Reedstrom has spent most of his adult life surrounded by books—he currently works at a public library, and he used to be a bookseller at Blue Willow, an independent bookstore in Houston, TX. He has led children’s art workshops at The Kimball Museum and interned with William Joyce at the Moonbot Studios. And he mixes all his past experiences with traditional and digital mediums to develop fun-filled characters with a little bit of mayhem. Kirk enjoys creating books that make people laugh.

GRAVE MISTAKES de Kitty Curran

A twelve-year-old’s family is deadly embarrassing (literally) in this modern middle grade coming-of-age mystery that crosses the madcap macabre humor of The Addams Family with a poignant depiction of friendship, grief, and finding your way home (even if your home is in a graveyard).

GRAVE MISTAKES: THE DEAD FAMILY
by Kitty Curran
Disney Hyperion, August 2023
(via Kaplan/DeFiore Rights)

Molly Dade has big problems. She’s got an important violin audition coming up, she’s been paired with her nemesis for a group project, and she’s struggling to hide a life-or-death secret from…well, from everyone. It wasn’t long ago that the Dades were just a regular Maine family living in their reportedly haunted house in the local cemetery. But then Molly’s mom and twin brother Marty were killed in a freak accident. And Molly, her older brother Timothy, and her father became the town’s newest bereaved family.

Except Mom and Marty are still very much present. No one knows why, but Mom is now a ghost and Marty is a poltergeist. Oh, and there’s also Molly’s younger sister Dyandra, who is a zombie.

Keeping all this supernatural stuff a secret from everyone is hard work, especially when the dead (undead?) members of the family still want to participate in things like the Parent Teacher Association meetings or come to the (very public, very potentially embarrassing) school concert.

When Dad’s new cemetery assistant seems to know the Dade family secret, Molly and Marty worry about the future of their family. And when Marty begins to regain his memories of the explosion that killed him and Mom, the twins realize that the situation might be even more grave than they thought. Someone might be after the Dade family—but who? And why?

Kitty Curran is the co-author of two adult books published by Quirk (For Your Consideration: Keanu Reaves and My Lady’s Choosing: An Interactive Romance Novel), as well as a YA time-travel fantasy graphic novel forthcoming from Boom! Studios. Kitty has also worked as a designer and had her work featured in Time, Upworthy, CNN, HelloGiggles, CBS, and The Huffington Post. She is a London native who is now based in Chicago. GRAVE MISTAKES is her middle grade debut.

FOUR LETTER WORD de Gretchen McNeil

In this pulse pounding thriller, Izzy and her family welcome an exchange student into their home. But after a series of mishaps and coincidences, and with a serial killer on the loose, Izzy begins to suspect the young man is not who he seems.

FOUR LETTER WORD
by Gretchen McNeil
Disney Hyperion, March 2024
(via Kaplan/DeFiore Rights)

For most of her life, Izzy has been looking forward to fulfilling her mother’s dream of studying abroad in Italy. Going into her senior year, Izzy is counting down the days until she can leave her humdrum life behind, until Alberto, a handsome and mysterious Italian exchange student shows up for his stay with her family. Now life in her hometown doesn’t seem so drab, as Izzy, and everyone else, is immediately charmed by Alberto and his irresistible accent.

But something about Alberto isn’t quite…right. As an avid true crime fan, Izzy has been following a serial killer case in San Francisco and the murderer, whose description bears a passing resemblance to the Italian exchange student living in her house, seems to have made his way north. As Izzy pays closer attention to Alberto—his actions, his temper—she finds more and more holes in his story that he has trouble explaining away.

When a local girl is murdered, Izzy thinks Alberto might not be who he seems. Worse, a series of “accidents” seem to target Izzy herself. In a race against the clock, Izzy must convince anyone that Alberto could be a notorious killer before another girl ends up dead.

Gretchen McNeil is the author of #NoEscape, I’m Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl, Possess, 3:59, Relic, and Ten which was adapted as the Lifetime original movie Ten: Murder Island in 2017, as well as Get Even and Get Dirty, adapted as the series Get Even which is streaming worldwide on BBC iPlayer and Netflix.

LIE UNTIL IT’S TRUE de Jessie Weaver

A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder meets Knives Out in this haunting YA thriller. To redeem herself, true crime TikToker Amanda Pruitt spends the summer in Colorado investigating a murder that seems open and shut. But when two crimes—one past, one present—intertwine, Amanda becomes the main suspect.

LIE UNTIL IT’S TRUE
by Jessie Weaver
Disney Hyperion, May 2024
(via Kaplan/DeFiore Rights)

Amanda Pruitt needs redemption. She is the one, after all, who turned her sister in for murder and anonymously broadcasted her trial to millions on TikTok. And she was wrong. Her sister is innocent, making Amanda the villain—not the hero—all along.

So when her childhood best friend’s mom is arrested for murdering an eccentric billionaire and refuses to give a statement, Amanda decides to help solve the crime. This could be her second chance. If she can use her TikTok to get the public on her friend’s side, the police will have to reopen the investigation.

The plan? Stay the summer with her aunt who is the concierge at the Summit, a historic (read: haunted) hotel in the mountains that also happens to be the scene of the crime. Investigate the billionaire’s murder. Win back her estranged bestie Vincent.

Not the plan? See a ghost. Fall for Vincent. Black out and lose 15 minutes of her life. Wake up to find the dead body of a frenemy.

Amanda and Vincent must work together to find the killer, or Amanda risks going down for a murder she isn’t quite sure she didn’t commit. Set in a possibly haunted hotel and including TikTok interstitials, this is the perfect follow up to Live Your Best Lie.

Before writing about flawed, funny teens with big hearts, Jessie Weaver spent ten years teaching them English. She completed the Stanford University online novel writing program in 2019. Though she’s an East Coast girl at heart, she currently lives in Colorado with her husband and two daughters.

ALI CROSS: THE GRAPHIC NOVEL de James Patterson

Don’t miss a minute of this action-packed thrill ride—#1 New York Times bestseller ALI CROSS in fullcolor!

ALI CROSS: THE GRAPHIC NOVEL
by James Patterson
JIMMY Patterson, July 2024
(via Kaplan/DeFiore Rights)

Ali Cross has always dreamed of following in the footsteps of his father, famous detective Alex Cross, who never gives up on a case. Ali’s chance to prove himself arrives sooner than he might think when his best friend, Gabe, goes missing.

But the more Ali digs, the more he realizes maybe he didn’t know his friend as well as he thought. At the same time, his house is hit in a string of burglaries. With his father on trial for a crime he didn’t commit, Ali is on his own to piece together the clues. Will Ali be able to trust his instincts and find his friend—or is he in over his head?

This action-packed, page-turning, full-color graphic novel is a blockbuster addition to any shelf.

James Patterson is the world’s bestselling author. The creator of Max Einstein and Middle School, he founded JIMMY Patterson to publish books that young readers will love. He lives in Florida with his family.