Stephanie Garber’s Caraval series meets Mary E. Pearson’s Dance of Thieves series in this sweeping fantasy about a young woman caught in a game of cat-andmouse with the silver-tongued king of a magical island.

by Catelyn Wilson
(via JABberwocky Literary Agency)

#1 THESE WICKED STARS (October 2022)

Remember, if you know what you want, you’ll never find it.
Hazel Blackthorn is an outcast, the bastard daughter of a nameless sailor and a disgraced mother. She will do anything to marry her secret fiancé and escape her oppressive life. When her fiancé announces he must marry her cousin in order to save his family’s crumbling business, Hazel is heartbroken and her hope for the future crushed. But a kind old man offers her salvation: Travel to the mythical Bazaar that visits the island once every thirty years and return before the end of the festival with medicine he needs, and she will have all the riches in the world. Gripped by hope, Hazel accepts.
But in the Bazaar, a place where the gods themselves used to dwell, Hazel can trust nothing. In a world where you can buy time and purchase power, wicked merchants wield cruel magic. As she travels further into the Bazaar, searching for the medicine her benefactor desires, she becomes enmeshed in a game of cat and mouse with the all-powerful King of the Bazaar, a man with a silver-tongue and shadowy past.
As time runs out and the Bazaar threatens to trap Hazel forever, she begins to unravel the mystery of the Bazaar and why the King wants her for himself. But Hazel must decide if her desire for her freedom is worth the cost the Bazaar demands—and if the love she thought she needed is the one she truly deserves.

#2 THESE FALLEN GODS (December 2023)

« There is a darkness in me. A hunger. A lust for power. The appetite of a god. »
The Bazaar has fallen, Zaire is gone, and Adelaide is alive. But Hazel Blackthorn has never felt more alone.
With her sister sick from the lotus flower, and haunted by powers she doesn’t understand, Hazel struggles to come to terms with who she is. When she and Cassian learn of strange, cataclysmic events across the world, it is clear their time has run out. The gods are rising.
Hazel learns that the answers to defeating the gods and saving Adelaide may be hidden far away in ancient archives. She and Cassian leave Veara island and embark on a journey across the sea. But the gods have not been forgotten in these new lands, and their followers are eager to serve their masters and deliver Hazel back to Irra.
Fighting old enemies and traveling with new allies, Hazel must confront her identity and master her powers if she hopes to save the world from the wrath of hungry gods. And as Cassian battles his own past and his endless curse, the two risk losing their bond forever.

Catelyn Wilson writes YA Fantasy with a splash of romance. She loves incorporating mythology into her books and firmly believes morally grey is the way to any woman’s heart. She has an unhealthy obsession with Jane Austen, sunscreen, and animals. She lives in Texas with her husband and mini-Aussie, Churro.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email