Archives de catégorie : Fantasy

THE SUNKEN CITY TRILOGY d’Emma Noyes

« Fans of Pirates of the Caribbean will be captivated by this swash buckling adventure on the high seas. A complex and rich narrative… that immerses you fully in the storytelling – a fantasy you won’t want to end! » – Kate W. J. White, author of the Caskets of Ice series

THE SUNKEN CITY TRILOGY
by Emma Noyes
Independently published, 2021-2022
(via The Whalen Agency)

THE SUNKEN CITY – Book 1 (published December 2021)
Amare Bellamy is not a witch. Orphaned as a child and raised on a ship by the most dangerous men in the Caribbean, Amare is one thing and one thing alone: a pirate. And pirates hate magic. After a fateful storm plunges her to the depths of the ocean, Amare wakes to find herself in a strange new world: an underwater kingdom, where magic exists, but is strictly outlawed by the King—a man who claims to be her true father. As Amare struggles to fit into her new role as Princess of the Sunken City, she finds herself tangled in a web of love between two brothers—one good, one not so good. And as strange powers manifest within her, she must question everything she was raised to believe—especially if she has any hope of stopping the evil brewing at the bottom of the ocean.

THE FALLEN WITCH – Book 2 (published April 2022)
Amare Bellamy never meant to get married. She had a simple plan: rescue the Captain, rendezvous with the crew, and escape the Sunken City. But when her father bumps up the wedding without notice, she has no choice but to comply—that is, until Lukas shows up. He presents Amare with an ultimatum: break into Skullhaven and collect the ring that could raise the Fallen Witch, or watch her friends die. She agrees, under the contingency that, once their mission is complete, they never speak again. Amare is dead set on sticking to this plan… until she finds out they must pose as a married couple to get inside Skullhaven. Cornered, she agrees to keep up the ruse until they can get the ring and get out. But what happens when their fake marriage starts to feel not so fake at all?

WAR OF SHADOWS – Book 3 (publishing December 6th, 2022)
The Fallen Witch has risen, bringing chaos back with her. The Ten Kingdoms have splintered. Amare and her friends are on the run. Tectixa is dead set on raising the oceans, wiping out all of humanity in the process. And, as if that weren’t enough, Lukas’s first love is back from the dead. Before Amare can ask what this means for their relationship, Lukas and Phoebe are stolen away, sending her into a magic-fueled rage. Now, if she wants to save the man she loves and protect the Ten Kingdoms from all-out war, she’ll have to go undercover, pretending to get close to the witch she despises most of all. Alliances will be formed, trust will be broken, and true love will be the final test.

Emma V. R. Noyes grew up in a suburb outside Chicago and attended Harvard University, where she graduated with a B.A. in history & literature. Her first series, a self-published YA fantasy trilogy titled The Sunken City (The Sunken City; Book 1 and The Fallen Witch: Book 2 – just published) – has combined sales of over 5,000 copies (only the first two books have been published). She has grown a rather large following on BookTok, with over 137,500 followers and 7 million likes, and  Instagram, with over 25,000 followers. Emma’s adult debut GUY’S GIRL will be published by Berkley in October 2023.

THE HURRICANE WARS de Thea Guanzon

The fates of two rivals with opposing magical abilities are swept together in THE HURRICANE WARS, the spellbinding debut in a steamy fantasy romance trilogy set in a Southeast Asia-inspired world ravaged by storms, perfect for fans of S.A. Chakraborty, Leigh Bardugo, Sarah J. Maas, and R.F. Kuang.

THE HURRICANE WARS #1
by Thea Guanzon
Harper Voyager, July 2023

Talasyn and Alaric have always known their destinies were intertwined.
After a decade of war, magic is becoming rare in Lir. Nations of aethermancers who command the elements—Rainsingers, Firedancers, Thunderstruck, Windcallers—have all fallen to the Night Emperor and his Shadowborn warriors. His son, Prince Alaric, has been tasked with snuffing out any remaining threats. And the rebel soldier Talasyn is very much a threat—as the last known Lightweaver on the continent, she can create radiant weapons that cut through Alaric’s dark magic. Each believes this war will only end once one kills the other. Yet, as the foes clash in epic duels across the dramatic landscapes of Lir, neither seems quite capable of dealing the final blow. Then a new opportunity for peace emerges, but it can only be sealed by a marriage between light and dark. Forced together to save their people, Talasyn and Alaric must decide if they are fated to join hands, or destroy each other…
An exquisite fantasy brimming with unforgettable characters, sizzling romance, and richly drawn worlds, this breathtaking novel marks the debut of an extraordinary new writer.

Thea Guanzon was born in Bacolod City in the Philippines and currently resides in Metro Manila. She holds a Bachelor of Arts in International Studies from Miriam College and she has worked in election management and women’s rights. This is her first novel.

CHILDREN OF THE BLACK GLASS d’Anthony Peckham

Howl’s Moving Castle meets Neil Gaiman in this propulsive middle-grade trilogy, set in a world as mesmerizing as it is menacing, following children on a quest to save their father who get embroiled in the sinister agendas of rival sorcerers.

CHILDREN OF THE BLACK GLASS (Book 1)
by Anthony Peckham
Simon & Schuster, April 2023
(via Writers House)

In an unkind alternate past, somewhere between the Stone Age and a Metal Age, Tell and his sister Wren live in a small mountain village that makes its living off black glass mines and runs on brutal laws. When their father is blinded in a mining accident, the law dictates he has thirty days to regain his sight and be capable of working at the same level as before or be put to death.
Faced with this dire future, Tell and Wren make the forbidden treacherous journey to the legendary city of Halfway, halfway down the mountain, to trade their father’s haul of the valuable black glass for the medicine to cure him. The city, ruled by five powerful female sorcerers, at first dazzles the siblings. But beneath Halfway’s glittery surface seethes ambition, violence, prejudice, blackmail, and impending chaos.
Without knowing it, Tell and Wren have walked straight into a sorcerers’ coup. Over the next twelve days they must scramble first to save themselves, then their new friends, as allegiances shift and prejudices crack open to show who has true power.

Anthony Peckham is a highly acclaimed screenwriter whose work includes Sherlock Holmes and Clint Eastwood’s Invictus. He is a Writers Guild of America Award winner and an NAACP Image Award nominee. Children of the Black Glass is his novel-writing debut.

THE CLAMOURING de Polly Crosby

A middle-grade fairytale-inspired fantasy about a twelve-year-old girl who embarks on a mission to save her kidnapped Grandma. She learns that her family have kept generations of secrets hidden, and that she must follow a trail of clues to discover exactly what they are. A rich and dark atmosphere reminiscent of Kiran Millwood Hargrave, Sophie Anderson and Frances Hardinge.

THE CLAMOURING (Book 1)
by Polly Crosby
On submission in the UK
(via Mushens Entertainment)

Twelve-year-old Nesta lives in the woods with her Grandma. It is a lonely life where the woodland animals are her only friends. When Nesta realises that her Grandma is missing, she finds a silver coin which shows her a vision – Grandma was taken by two men in wolfskins and she must rescue her. A local boy, Kit, arrives to take her to safety, but Nesta longs for an adventure and follows him to the bright and noisy town of Ostrov, where the residents are obsessed with fairytales – stories where the women are helpless and dependent, and are always needing to be saved. As the feisty and determined Nesta embarks on a mission to rescue her Grandma, she discovers that generations of secrets have been kept hidden from her. She realises that she must harness her emerging talents to save the only family she knows, figuring out the story of her heritage in the process…

Polly Crosby’s protagonist, Nesta, is non-verbal, and Polly plans to include more representations of disability throughout the series – she herself was the first baby in the world to be diagnosed with cystic fibrosis through the heel-prick test, and living with disability and chronic illness is a theme important to her writing. She intends this to be the first in a series of three books.

Polly Crosby is an alumna of Curtis Brown Creative and holds an MA in Creative Writing from The University of East Anglia. Her debut adult novel, The Illustrated Child, was a runner-up for the Bridport Prize’s Peggy Chapman Andrews Award for a First Novel. It was snapped up by HarperCollins HQ in the UK in a 48 hour pre-empt, and a few days later by HarperCollins Park Row Books in North America. Her second novel, The Unravelling, was published in January 2022 with two more adult novels to come from HQ. THE CLAMOURING will be her first middle-grade book.

FORTUNA SWORN de K.J. Sutton

Get immersed in this New Adult romantic fantasy series for fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses

FORTUNA SWORN, Book 1
by K.J. Sutton
‎ Once Upon a Time Books, June 2019
(via Writers House)

We were meant to be seductive. We were designed to lure humans in.
Fortuna Sworn is the last of her kind. Her brother disappeared two years ago, leaving her with no family or species to speak of. She hides among humans, spending her days working at a bar and her nights searching for him. The bleak pattern goes on and on… until she catches the eye of a powerful faerie. He makes no attempt to hide that he desires Fortuna. And in exchange for her, he offers something irresistible. So Fortuna reluctantly leaves her safe existence behind to step back into a world of creatures and power. It soon becomes clear that she may not have bargained with her heart, but her very life.

K.J. Sutton lives in a land of darkness and snow. She spends her time writing stories or watching twisted shows on Netflix. She always has a cup of Vanilla Chai in her hand and despises wearing anything besides pajamas. She adores interacting with fellow writers and readers. Until then, she’s hard at work on her next book. K.J. Sutton also writes young adult novels as Kelsey Sutton.