Archives par étiquette : Holly Goldberg Sloan

THE ELEPHANT IN THE ROOM de Holly Goldberg Sloan

From the New York Times bestselling author of Counting by 7s comes a heartfelt middle-grade novel about « the importance of compassion and bravery when facing life’s challenges” (Kirkus) for fans of The One and Only Ivan and Front Desk.

THE ELEPHANT IN THE ROOM
by Holly Goldberg Sloan
Penguin US, March 2021

It’s been almost a year since Sila’s mother traveled halfway around the world to Turkey, hoping to secure the immigration paperwork that would allow her to return to her family in the U.S. The long separation is almost impossible for Sila to withstand. But things change when she accompanies her father (who is a mechanic) to fix a truck outside their Oregon town. There, behind an enormous stone wall, Sila meets a grandfatherly man who only months before won the lottery. Their new alliance leads to the rescue of a circus elephant named Veda, and then to a friendship with an unusual boy named Mateo, proving that comfort and hope come in the most unlikely of places. A moving story of family separation and the importance of the connection between animals and humans, this novel has the enormous heart and uplifting humor that readers have come to expect from the beloved author of Counting by 7s.

Holly Goldberg Sloan spent part of her childhood living in Istanbul, Turkey. After graduating from Wellesley College in Massachusetts, she worked in commercial production in Los Angeles and in her twenties began writing family feature films, including Angels in the Outfield and Made In America. She was the first woman to direct a live action film for the Walt Disney Company when she directed (and wrote) The Big Green. She is the author of six previous novels, including the E.B. White Read-Aloud Honor Winner Counting by 7s, the New York Times Bestseller Short, and the highly praised To Night Owl from Dogfish (which she co-wrote with author Meg Wolitzer). The mother of two sons, she and her husband, Gary Rosen, live in Los Angeles.

TO NIGHT OWL, FROM DOGFISH de Holly Goldberg Sloan & Meg Wolitzer

A middle-grade novel, co-written by an extraordinary duo of New York Times bestselling authors

TO NIGHT OWL, FROM DOGFISH
by Holly Goldberg Sloan & Meg Wolitzer
Dial Books / Dutton, March 2019

In the vein of The Parent Trap (actually like a reverse- Parent Trap!), this delightful epistolary novel is told almost exclusively through email correspondence between two girls desperately trying to derail the bourgeoning relationship between their gay fathers.  An antic adventure ensues, revealing a full cast of quirky and diverse characters.  And despite their strikingly different personalities, the girls become close friends and discover the true meaning of family.
Avery Bloom is anxious and academic and afraid of the water. Bett Devlin is brash and athletic and loves to surf. The only things they seem to have in common are their age–twelve–and the fact that their dads have fallen in love with each other. Now their dads are sending them to the same sleepaway camp, against their will, so that they can become friends. But when the girls reluctantly grow to like each other and start looking forward to becoming a family, their dads fall out of love. Can Avery and Bett figure out a way to bring their fathers back together now that they can’t imagine a life without a stepsister?

Holly Goldberg Sloan is the NY Time bestselling author of COUNTING BY 7s and SHORT, as well as the award winning I’LL BE THERE and it’s follow up CALL ME BY YOUR NAME, and the early reader APPLEBLOSSOM THE POSSOM.  Meg Wolitzer is the NY Times bestselling author of THE FEMALE PERSUASION, THE INTERESTINGS, THE UNCOUPLING, THE TEN-YEAR NAP, THE POSITION, THE WIFE, and SLEEPWALKING, as well as the young adult novel, BELZHAR.  The talents of these two incredible writers have been meshed together seamlessly by each of their respective US editors, who worked together on this special project!