Archives de catégorie : Young Adult

THE SUNKEN CITY TRILOGY d’Emma Noyes

« Fans of Pirates of the Caribbean will be captivated by this swash buckling adventure on the high seas. A complex and rich narrative… that immerses you fully in the storytelling – a fantasy you won’t want to end! » – Kate W. J. White, author of the Caskets of Ice series

THE SUNKEN CITY TRILOGY
by Emma Noyes
Independently published, 2021-2022
(via The Whalen Agency)

THE SUNKEN CITY – Book 1 (published December 2021)
Amare Bellamy is not a witch. Orphaned as a child and raised on a ship by the most dangerous men in the Caribbean, Amare is one thing and one thing alone: a pirate. And pirates hate magic. After a fateful storm plunges her to the depths of the ocean, Amare wakes to find herself in a strange new world: an underwater kingdom, where magic exists, but is strictly outlawed by the King—a man who claims to be her true father. As Amare struggles to fit into her new role as Princess of the Sunken City, she finds herself tangled in a web of love between two brothers—one good, one not so good. And as strange powers manifest within her, she must question everything she was raised to believe—especially if she has any hope of stopping the evil brewing at the bottom of the ocean.

THE FALLEN WITCH – Book 2 (published April 2022)
Amare Bellamy never meant to get married. She had a simple plan: rescue the Captain, rendezvous with the crew, and escape the Sunken City. But when her father bumps up the wedding without notice, she has no choice but to comply—that is, until Lukas shows up. He presents Amare with an ultimatum: break into Skullhaven and collect the ring that could raise the Fallen Witch, or watch her friends die. She agrees, under the contingency that, once their mission is complete, they never speak again. Amare is dead set on sticking to this plan… until she finds out they must pose as a married couple to get inside Skullhaven. Cornered, she agrees to keep up the ruse until they can get the ring and get out. But what happens when their fake marriage starts to feel not so fake at all?

WAR OF SHADOWS – Book 3 (publishing December 6th, 2022)
The Fallen Witch has risen, bringing chaos back with her. The Ten Kingdoms have splintered. Amare and her friends are on the run. Tectixa is dead set on raising the oceans, wiping out all of humanity in the process. And, as if that weren’t enough, Lukas’s first love is back from the dead. Before Amare can ask what this means for their relationship, Lukas and Phoebe are stolen away, sending her into a magic-fueled rage. Now, if she wants to save the man she loves and protect the Ten Kingdoms from all-out war, she’ll have to go undercover, pretending to get close to the witch she despises most of all. Alliances will be formed, trust will be broken, and true love will be the final test.

Emma V. R. Noyes grew up in a suburb outside Chicago and attended Harvard University, where she graduated with a B.A. in history & literature. Her first series, a self-published YA fantasy trilogy titled The Sunken City (The Sunken City; Book 1 and The Fallen Witch: Book 2 – just published) – has combined sales of over 5,000 copies (only the first two books have been published). She has grown a rather large following on BookTok, with over 137,500 followers and 7 million likes, and  Instagram, with over 25,000 followers. Emma’s adult debut GUY’S GIRL will be published by Berkley in October 2023.

THE HURRICANE WARS de Thea Guanzon

The fates of two rivals with opposing magical abilities are swept together in THE HURRICANE WARS, the spellbinding debut in a steamy fantasy romance trilogy set in a Southeast Asia-inspired world ravaged by storms, perfect for fans of S.A. Chakraborty, Leigh Bardugo, Sarah J. Maas, and R.F. Kuang.

THE HURRICANE WARS #1
by Thea Guanzon
Harper Voyager, July 2023

Talasyn and Alaric have always known their destinies were intertwined.
After a decade of war, magic is becoming rare in Lir. Nations of aethermancers who command the elements—Rainsingers, Firedancers, Thunderstruck, Windcallers—have all fallen to the Night Emperor and his Shadowborn warriors. His son, Prince Alaric, has been tasked with snuffing out any remaining threats. And the rebel soldier Talasyn is very much a threat—as the last known Lightweaver on the continent, she can create radiant weapons that cut through Alaric’s dark magic. Each believes this war will only end once one kills the other. Yet, as the foes clash in epic duels across the dramatic landscapes of Lir, neither seems quite capable of dealing the final blow. Then a new opportunity for peace emerges, but it can only be sealed by a marriage between light and dark. Forced together to save their people, Talasyn and Alaric must decide if they are fated to join hands, or destroy each other…
An exquisite fantasy brimming with unforgettable characters, sizzling romance, and richly drawn worlds, this breathtaking novel marks the debut of an extraordinary new writer.

Thea Guanzon was born in Bacolod City in the Philippines and currently resides in Metro Manila. She holds a Bachelor of Arts in International Studies from Miriam College and she has worked in election management and women’s rights. This is her first novel.

DUNGEON CRAWLER CARL de Matt Dinniman

The apocalypse will be televised! They call it Dungeon Crawler World. But for Carl, it’s anything but a game. This series is modern day Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy meets Ready Player One meets Hunger Games (with a dash of The Running Man to boot!)

DUNGEON CRAWLER CARL (Book 1)
by Matt Dinniman
Independently published, September 2020
(via The Gernert Company)

A man. His ex-girlfriend’s cat. A sadistic game show unlike anything in the universe: a dungeon crawl where survival depends on killing your prey in the most entertaining way possible.
In a flash, every human-erected construction on Earth—from Buckingham Palace to the tiniest of sheds—collapses in a heap, sinking into the ground. The buildings and all the people inside have all been atomized and transformed into the dungeon: an 18-level labyrinth filled with traps, monsters, and loot. A dungeon so enormous, it circles the entire globe. Only a few dare venture inside. But once you’re in, you can’t get out. And what’s worse, each level has a time limit. You have but days to find a staircase to the next level down, or it’s game over.
In this game, it’s not about your strength or your dexterity. It’s about your followers, your views. Your clout. It’s about building an audience and killing those goblins with style. You can’t just survive here. You gotta survive big. You gotta fight with vigor, with excitement. You gotta make them stand up and cheer. And if you do have that « it » factor, you may just find yourself with a following. That’s the only way to truly survive in this game—with the help of the loot boxes dropped upon you by the generous benefactors watching from across the galaxy.

Book 5 in the series was published in February 2022.

Matt Dinniman is a writer and artist from Gig Harbor, Washington. He is the author of the bestselling Dungeon Crawler Carl series along with ten other novels and dozens of works of short fiction. He lives with his wife, family, and menagerie of animals.

NEVER COMING HOME de Kate Williams

The beach read you have been dying for! When ten of America’s hottest teenage influencers are invited to an exclusive island resort, things are sure to get wild. But murder isn’t what anyone expected. Will anyone survive? A dark thriller and satire of social media.

NEVER COMING HOME
by Kate Williams
Delacorte Press, June 2022
(via Levine, Greenberg, Rostan)

Everyone knows Unknown Island—it’s the world’s most exclusive destination. Think white sand beaches, turquoise seas, and luxury accommodations. Plus, it’s invite only, no one over twenty-one allowed, and it’s absolutely free. Who wouldn’t want to go?
The mysterious resort launched with a viral marketing campaign, and now the whole world is watching as the mysterious resort opens its doors to the First Ten, the ten elite influencers specifically chosen to be the first to experience everything Unknown Island has to offer. You know them. There’s the gamer, the beauty blogger, the rich girl, the superstar, the junior politician, the environmentalist, the DJ, the CEO, the chef, and the athlete.
What
they don’t know is that they weren’t invited to Unknown Island for their following—they were invited for their secrets. Everyone is hiding a deadly one, and it looks like someone’s decided it’s payback time. Unknown Island isn’t a vacation, it’s a trap. And it’s beginning to look like the First Ten—no matter how influential—are never coming home.

Kate Williams has written for Seventeen, NYLON, Cosmopolitan, Bustle, Vans, Calvin Klein, Urban Outfitters, and many other brands and magazines. She is the author of The Babysitters Coven series: The Babysitters Coven, For Better or Cursed, and Spells Like Teen Spirit. Kate Lives in Kansas with her family.

LEAGUE OF LIARS d’Astrid Scholte

In this fantasy thriller, four teens charged with murder and caught up with the illegal use of magic band together to devise the ultimate jailbreak. Perfect for fans of Six of Crows and How to Get Away with Murder.

LEAGUE OF LIARS
by Astrid Scholte
G.P Putnam’s Sons, February 2022
(via Sterling Lord Literisitc)

Ever since his mother was killed, seventeen-year-old Cayder Broduck has had one goal—to see illegal users of magic brought to justice. People who carelessly use extradimensional magic for their own self-interest, without a care about the damage it does to society or those around them, deserve to be punished as far as Cayder is concerned. Because magic always has a price. So, when Cayder lands a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to apprentice under a premier public defender, he takes it. If he can learn all the tricks of public defense, the better he’ll be able to dismantle defense arguments when he’s a prosecutor. Then he’ll finally be able to make sure justice is served.
But when he meets the three criminals he’s supposed to defend, it no longer seems so black and white. They’re teenagers, like him, and their stories are … complicated, like his. Vardean, the prison where Cayder’s new clients are incarcerated, also happens to be at the very heart of the horrible tear in the veil between their world and another dimension—where all magic comes from.
LEAGUE OF LIARS is a dark and twisty mystery set in a richly-drawn world where nothing is as it seems, rife with magic, villains and danger.

Astrid Scholte was raised on a diet of Spielberg, Lucas and Disney, and knew she wanted to be surrounded by all things fantastical from a young age. She’s spent the last fourteen years working in film, animation and television as both an artist and a manager. Career highlights include working on James Cameron’s Avatar, Steven Spielberg’s The Adventures of Tintin and Disney’s Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur. She lives in Melbourne, Australia, with her fiancé and two cats, Lilo and Mickey. Her debut young adult novel, Four Dead Queens, was an international bestseller and award winner.