Archives de catégorie : Young Adult

WHEN STARS COME OUT de Scarlett St. Clair

From the brilliant mind of A Touch of Darkness‘s bestselling author Scarlett St. Clair comes a YA crossover in a darkly unique fantasy world.

WHEN STARS COME OUT
by Scarlett St. Clair
‎ Sourcebooks, July 2022

Anora Silby can see the dead and turn spirits into gold coins, two things she would prefer to keep secret as she tries to lead a normal life at her new school. After all, she didn’t change her identity for nothing. Hiding her weirdness is just one of many challenges. By the end of her first day, she’s claimed the soul of a dead girl on campus and lost the coin. Turns out, the coin gives others the ability to steal souls, and when a classmate ends up dead, there’s no mistaking the murder weapon. Navigating the loss of her Poppa, the mistrust of her mother, the attention of gorgeous and enigmatic Shy, and Roundtable, an anonymous student gossip app threatening to expose her, are hard enough. Now she must find the person who stole her coin before more lives are lost, but that means making herself a target for the Order, an organization that governs the dead on Earth―and they want Anora and her powers for themselves.

Scarlett St. Clair is the bestselling author of the Hades x Persephone saga, the Hades saga, and King of Battle and Blood. She has a Master’s degree in Library Science and Information Studies and a Bachelors in English Writing. She is obsessed with Greek Mythology, murder mysteries, and the afterlife.

INTO THE SUBLIME de Kate A. Boorman

A new YA psychological thriller from the author of What We Buried about four teenage girls who descend into a dangerous underground cave system in search of a lake of local legend, said to reveal your deepest fears.

INTO THE SUBLIME
by Kate A. Boorman
Henry Holt, July 2022
(via Dystel, Goderich & Bourret)

When the cops arrive, only a few things are clear:
– Four girls entered a dangerous cave.
– Three of them came out alive.
– Two of them were rushed to the hospital.
– And one is soaked in blood and ready to talk
.

Amelie Desmarais’ story begins believably enough: Four girls from a now-defunct thrill-seeking group planned an epic adventure to find a lake that Colorado locals call « The Sublime. » Legend has it that the lake has the power to change things for those who risk―and survive―its cavernous depths. They each had their reasons for going. For Amelie, it was a promise kept to her beloved cousin, who recently suffered a tragic accident during one of the group’s dares.
But as her account unwinds, and the girls’ personalities and motives are drawn, things get complicated. Amelie is hardly the thrill-seeking type, and it appears she’s not the only one with the ability to deceive. Worse yet, Amelie is covered in someone’s blood, but whose exactly? And where’s the fourth girl?
Is Amelie spinning a tale to cover her guilt? Or was something inexplicable waiting for the girls down there? Amelie’s the only one with answers, and she’s insisting on an explanation that is more horror-fantasy than reality. Maybe the truth lies somewhere in between? After all, strange things inhabit dark places. And sometimes we bring the dark with us.

Kate A. Boorman is an award-winning writer from the Canadian prairies. She was born in Nepal, grew up in the small town of Rimbey, Alberta, and now lives in Edmonton, where she wrangles her family and schemes up travel to faraway lands. Kate has a MA in Dramatic Critical Theory and has held an odd assortment of jobs, from accordion accompanist to qualitative research associate. She is the author of What We Buried and the Winterkill trilogy.

ALL THAT’S LEFT IN THE WORLD d’Erik J. Brown

Jamie and Andrew are strangers, and two of the last people left alive. They don’t know what they’ll find on their perilous journey … but they may just find each other. What If It’s Us meets Life as We Knew It in this postapocalyptic, queer YA adventure romance from debut author Erik J. Brown. Perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Alex London.

ALL THAT’S LEFT IN THE WORLD
by Erik J. Brown
Balzer + Bray, March 2022
(via Dystel, Goderich & Bourret)

When Andrew stumbles upon Jamie’s house, he’s injured, starved, and has nothing left to lose. A deadly pathogen has killed off most of the world’s population, including everyone both boys have ever loved. And if this new world has taught them anything, it’s to be scared of what other desperate people will do . . . so why does it seem so easy for them to trust each other?
After danger breaches their shelter, they flee south in search of civilization. But something isn’t adding up about Andrew’s story, and it could cost them everything. And Jamie has a secret, too. He’s starting to feel something more than friendship for Andrew, adding another layer of fear and confusion to an already tumultuous journey.
The road ahead of them is long, and to survive, they’ll have to shed their secrets, face the consequences of their actions, and find the courage to fight for the future they desire, together. Only one thing feels certain: all that’s left in their world is the undeniable pull they have toward each other.

Erik J. Brown is a Lambda Literary Emerging Writers Fellow and a Temple University graduate with a degree in writing and media arts. When not writing genre-blending books for young adults, he enjoys traveling and embarking on the relentless quest of appeasing his Shiba Inu. Erik lives in Philadelphia with his husband.

LOLA, AT LAST de JC Peterson

JC Peterson breathes new life into Pride and Prejudice’s most infamous sibling, Lydia Bennet, proving that you can always start over no matter who you are.

LOLA, AT LAST
by JC Peterson
‎ HarperTeen, March 2023
(via Dystel, Goderich & Bourret)

Lola Barnes’ summer is not off to the best start. Fresh off a scandal that tanked her social status, Lola has somehow managed to also alienate her twin sister, lose the friends she thought she had, and put a… fiery end to the first party of the summer. (The boat was barely on fire, for the record—and all the partygoers were just fine.) Lola is given an ultimatum: jail time, or spending the summer with the nonprofit Hike Like a Girl. Everyone seems to expect Lola to fail. But even as Lola encounters bugs, blisters, and bears (oh my!), she finds something greater that she’s been missing all along: unexpected friends, a sweet romance, strength she didn’t know she had—and herself, Lola, at last.

Also available: BEING MARY BENNET (HarperTeen, March 2022)

It is a truth universally acknowledged that every bookworm secretly wishes to be Lizzy Bennet from Pride and Prejudice. With a hilariously sharp voice, a sweet and fulfilling romance that features a meet-cute in an animal shelter, and a big family that revels in causing big problems, this charming comedy of errors about a girl who resolves to become the main character of her own story (at any and all costs), is perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Becky Albertalli…and Jane Austen, of course.

Literary references, friendship, family drama, adorable dogs—this book has it all! Fans of Jane Austen will eat up this playful contemporary homage to Pride and Prejudice.” – School Library Journal

JC Peterson is a YA writer based in Denver, CO. She grew up surrounded by the lakes in Michigan and earned her degree in journalism from Michigan State University. She’s steadily worked her way west, living for a stint in Oklahoma City (fewer lakes but more buffalo) before settling in Denver (fewer buffalo but more mountains). JC writes witty young adult novels about found family and fans of cardigans. Her debut, Being Mary Bennet publishes by HarperTeen in March 2022. When not writing, she loves to hike, shop + eat local, and travel with her husband and two children

MISSING DEAD GIRLS de Sara Walters

Tillie Gray didn’t kill Madison Frank…but everyone thinks she did in this gripping suspense thriller from Sara Walters, author of The Violent Season.

MISSING DEAD GIRLS
by Sara Walters
‎ Sourcebooks, February 2023
(via Dystel, Goderich & Bourret)

17-year-old Tillie has never hurt anyone and has an expunged juvenile record to prove it. When she and her mother move into the quiet suburb of Willow Creek, Tillie is certain she’s left her old life behind. Especially when Tillie meets Madison, a beautiful, carefree girl from the wealthy side of town. The two form a fast friendship, and by the end of summer, Tillie knows all her secrets. Except when school begins, Madison completely abandons her, and lets her friends mercilessly bully Tillie. Then Madison goes missing. A week later, photos of her bloody body appear online, posted by a profile with Tillie’s name on it. Now, the entire town has Tillie in their crosshairs, convinced she had something to do with Madison’s disappearance… and possible death. To clear her name, Tillie must find out what happened to Madison. But the dark secrets that might prove her innocence could very well destroy her.

Sara Walters works as an advocate for victims and survivors of domestic and sexual violence in central Pennsylvania. Previously, she worked as a reproductive rights advocate and a college instructor. She earned her MFA in Creative Writing at the University of South Florida, and studied children’s and young adult literature while earning her doctorate in education at the University of Tennessee. She believes in the power of storytelling as a voice for survivors, and aims to give space to the stories too often silenced.