Archives de catégorie : Fantasy

THE CLAMOURING de Polly Crosby

A middle-grade fairytale-inspired fantasy about a twelve-year-old girl who embarks on a mission to save her kidnapped Grandma. She learns that her family have kept generations of secrets hidden, and that she must follow a trail of clues to discover exactly what they are. A rich and dark atmosphere reminiscent of Kiran Millwood Hargrave, Sophie Anderson and Frances Hardinge.

THE CLAMOURING (Book 1)
by Polly Crosby
On submission in the UK
(via Mushens Entertainment)

Twelve-year-old Nesta lives in the woods with her Grandma. It is a lonely life where the woodland animals are her only friends. When Nesta realises that her Grandma is missing, she finds a silver coin which shows her a vision – Grandma was taken by two men in wolfskins and she must rescue her. A local boy, Kit, arrives to take her to safety, but Nesta longs for an adventure and follows him to the bright and noisy town of Ostrov, where the residents are obsessed with fairytales – stories where the women are helpless and dependent, and are always needing to be saved. As the feisty and determined Nesta embarks on a mission to rescue her Grandma, she discovers that generations of secrets have been kept hidden from her. She realises that she must harness her emerging talents to save the only family she knows, figuring out the story of her heritage in the process…

Polly Crosby’s protagonist, Nesta, is non-verbal, and Polly plans to include more representations of disability throughout the series – she herself was the first baby in the world to be diagnosed with cystic fibrosis through the heel-prick test, and living with disability and chronic illness is a theme important to her writing. She intends this to be the first in a series of three books.

Polly Crosby is an alumna of Curtis Brown Creative and holds an MA in Creative Writing from The University of East Anglia. Her debut adult novel, The Illustrated Child, was a runner-up for the Bridport Prize’s Peggy Chapman Andrews Award for a First Novel. It was snapped up by HarperCollins HQ in the UK in a 48 hour pre-empt, and a few days later by HarperCollins Park Row Books in North America. Her second novel, The Unravelling, was published in January 2022 with two more adult novels to come from HQ. THE CLAMOURING will be her first middle-grade book.

FORTUNA SWORN de K.J. Sutton

Get immersed in this New Adult romantic fantasy series for fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses

FORTUNA SWORN, Book 1
by K.J. Sutton
‎ Once Upon a Time Books, June 2019
(via Writers House)

We were meant to be seductive. We were designed to lure humans in.
Fortuna Sworn is the last of her kind. Her brother disappeared two years ago, leaving her with no family or species to speak of. She hides among humans, spending her days working at a bar and her nights searching for him. The bleak pattern goes on and on… until she catches the eye of a powerful faerie. He makes no attempt to hide that he desires Fortuna. And in exchange for her, he offers something irresistible. So Fortuna reluctantly leaves her safe existence behind to step back into a world of creatures and power. It soon becomes clear that she may not have bargained with her heart, but her very life.

K.J. Sutton lives in a land of darkness and snow. She spends her time writing stories or watching twisted shows on Netflix. She always has a cup of Vanilla Chai in her hand and despises wearing anything besides pajamas. She adores interacting with fellow writers and readers. Until then, she’s hard at work on her next book. K.J. Sutton also writes young adult novels as Kelsey Sutton.

THE FIRST BINDING de R. R. Virdi

A heroic fantasy series which follows a wandering storyteller, a hero or villain out of legend (depending on who you’ve heard the stories from), on a quest to kill the terrifying demons who took everything from him, and to undo a worse evil he’s set loose—a power nearly as old as god bent on turning the world at war with itself.

THE FIRST BINDING
(Tales of Tremaine, Book 1)
by R.R. Virdi
Tor/Macmillan, August 2022
(via JABberwocky)

All legends are born of truths. And just as much lies. These are mine. Judge me for what you will. But you will hear my story first.
I buried the village of Ampur under a mountain of ice and snow. Then I killed their god. I’ve stolen old magics and been cursed for it. I started a war with those that walked before mankind and lost the princess I loved, and wanted to save. I’ve called lightning and bound fire. I am legend. And I am a monster.
My name is Ari.
And this is the story of how I let loose the first evil.

Thus begins the tale of a storyteller and a singer on the run and hoping to find obscurity in a tavern bar. But the sins of their past aren’t forgotten, and neither are their enemies.
Ari is still in the throes of hunting down the story book demons that took his old life from him and set him on the path to becoming all he is known and feared to be. But corrupt nobles are playing a dangerous game of politics and murder, old enemies are coming to find him, magical beings out of storybooks bent on revenge of their own against him, and a power nearly as old as god working to turn neighboring countries against one another in war.
Ari’s old lives are catching up swiftly and it could cost him the entire world. Unless he turns back and faces his past.

« Crafted with patience, passion, and most importantly, tremendous love. Read R.R. Virdi! » ―Jim Butcher, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Dresden Files

« THE FIRST BINDING is epic fantasy at its finest―an homage to storytelling and legend, richly told and endlessly engaging. Complex and luxuriant, this is an emotional, multifaceted gem of a book that examines the twists and turns a story takes on its journey from the truth. » ―Andrea Stewart, author of Bone Shard Daughter

R.R. Virdi is a two-time Dragon Award finalist and a Nebula Award finalist. He is the author of two urban fantasy series, The Grave Report, and The Books of Winter. One of his short stories is part of a collection of artists’ works to go to the moon aboard the Astrobotic Peregrine Lunar Lander in 2022. His love of classic cars drove him to work in the automotive industry for many years before he realized he’d do a better job of maintaining his passion if he stayed away from customers. He was born and raised in Northern Virginia and is a first generation Indian-American with all the baggage that comes with. He’s offended a long list of incalculable ancestors by choosing to drop out of college and not pursue one of three pre-destined careers: lawyer, doctor, engineer. Instead, he decided to chase his dream of being an author. His family is still coping with this decision a decade later. He expects them to come around in another fifteen to twenty years. Should the writing gig not work out, he aims to follow his backup plan and become a dancing shark for a Katy Perry music video.

WHEN STARS COME OUT de Scarlett St. Clair

From the brilliant mind of A Touch of Darkness‘s bestselling author Scarlett St. Clair comes a YA crossover in a darkly unique fantasy world.

WHEN STARS COME OUT
by Scarlett St. Clair
‎ Sourcebooks, July 2022

Anora Silby can see the dead and turn spirits into gold coins, two things she would prefer to keep secret as she tries to lead a normal life at her new school. After all, she didn’t change her identity for nothing. Hiding her weirdness is just one of many challenges. By the end of her first day, she’s claimed the soul of a dead girl on campus and lost the coin. Turns out, the coin gives others the ability to steal souls, and when a classmate ends up dead, there’s no mistaking the murder weapon. Navigating the loss of her Poppa, the mistrust of her mother, the attention of gorgeous and enigmatic Shy, and Roundtable, an anonymous student gossip app threatening to expose her, are hard enough. Now she must find the person who stole her coin before more lives are lost, but that means making herself a target for the Order, an organization that governs the dead on Earth―and they want Anora and her powers for themselves.

Scarlett St. Clair is the bestselling author of the Hades x Persephone saga, the Hades saga, and King of Battle and Blood. She has a Master’s degree in Library Science and Information Studies and a Bachelors in English Writing. She is obsessed with Greek Mythology, murder mysteries, and the afterlife.

THE HOUSE ON WATCH HILL de Karen Marie Moning

After the conclusion of the bestselling Fever series, Karen Marie Moning begins a new trilogy, the Watch Hill series, which is Lives of the Mayfair Witches meets Mexican Gothic, with a dash of True Blood for good measure.

THE HOUSE ON WATCH HILL
by Karen Marie Moning
‎ William Morrow, January 2023
(via Writers House)

Twenty-four-year-old Zo Grey is already reeling from the sudden death of her mother when she receives a mysterious call from an attorney in Divinity, Louisiana, advising that she has been left an inheritance by a distant relative named Juniper Cameron, the terms of which he will only discuss in person. With nothing left to lose, Zo heads to Divinity, where she learns she has been left a small fortune and a monstrosity of a house that sits ominously at the peak of Watch Hill – but she must live in it, alone, for three years before the house, or the fortune, is hers.
Met with this irresistible opportunity to dig out from under her debts, finally go to college, and build a future for herself, Zo puts aside her misgivings about the forbidding house and the strange circumstances, and moves into the Gothic mansion, where she is quickly met by a red-eyed Stygian owl and an impossibly sexy Scottish groundskeeper. The house, Zo soon learns, is full of countless secrets and mystifying riddles, with doors that go nowhere, others that are dead-bolted and impossible to open, and a mysterious turret into which there is no visible means of ingress. What Zo doesn’t yet know is that her own roots lie in this very house and that, in order to discover her true identity and awaken her dormant powers, she will have to face off against the grand matriarch who brought her here – Juniper Cameron – who is far from gone, and who has sinister plans for Zo…

Karen Marie Moning is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Highlander series and the Fever series, which have nearly 9 million copies in print in the English language and have been translated into an additional 24 languages.