Archives par étiquette : Mushens Entertainment

Gaumont UK fait l’acquisition des droits du thriller DOG ROSE DIRT de Jen Williams

La filière britannique de Gaumont vient d’acheter les droits audiovisuels du thriller psychologique DOG ROSE DIRT de Jen Williams et prévoit de l’adapter en série télé.

Dans le livre, publié en juillet 2021 chez HarperCollins UK, la journaliste Heather Evans retourne dans sa maison d’enfance après le suicide inexpliqué de sa mère, et découvre que celle-ci entretenait depuis des années une correspondance troublante avec Michael Reave, un tueur en série emprisonné depuis plus de vingt ans. Lorsque le corps d’une femme est retrouvé décoré de fleurs, tout comme l’étaient ses victimes, Reave est la seule personne qui pourrait faire avancer l’enquête. Après des années de silence, il accepte de parler à Heather, et seulement à Heather.

‘Masterclass in suspense’ –The Times
‘Will have you up all night with the lights on’ –ELLE
‘Brilliant – filled with tension and twists’ –Sarah Pinborough
‘An unsettling, terrifying thriller’ –Abigail Dean

Les droits de langue française sont toujours disponibles.

BOOK FOUR de Lia Louis

The new novel by the bestselling author of Dear Emmie Blue and Eight Perfect Hours. Perfect for fans of Beth O’Leary, Josie Silver and Cecelia Ahern.

BOOK FOUR (tentative title)
by Lia Louis
Trapeze UK, TBD 2023
(via Mushens Entertainment)

Every Tuesday and Thursday morning, 32-year old musician Natalie Fincher plays at a busy London train station piano. Since the death of her husband two years ago, it’s the only time she forgets how lonely she is, and the only place she feels comfortable playing music anymore – where she’s anonymous, and nobody’s really listening. Then sheet music starts being left anonymously in the lid of the piano stool – specific songs she played only for her husband when he was sick. Is someone up there looking down on her? Or has someone down here been listening all along? Natalie is about to find out…

‘Lia Louis has become a must-buy author for me!’ –Jodi Picoult

Lia Louis lives in the United Kingdom with her partner and three young children. Before raising a family, she worked as a freelance copywriter and proofreader. She was the 2015 winner of Elle magazine’s annual writing competition and has been a contributor for Bloomsbury’s Writers and Artists blog for aspiring writers.

DRAGON RIDER de Taran Matharu

From the New York Times bestselling author of the Summoner series, comes an immersive new fantasy world where humans can bond with dragons… Taran Matharu’s debut adult fantasy trilogy follows Jai, hostage in the court of an Emperor who killed his father, who finds himself caught up in a rebellion – and stumbles across a dragon’s egg which could be the key to change his fate forever.

DRAGON RIDER
by Taran Matharu
HarperVoyager, July 2023
(via Mushens Entertainment)

Jai is a Captive in the Sabine Court – ever since his father Rohan, leader of the Plainsfolk, led an uprising and was put to death by the Emperor who Jai must now serve. The Sabine Empire has a powerful tool, the Gryphon Guard: elite warriors who ride gryphons. Only one thing is more powerful than them: dragons, exclusive to a rival kingdom. When the emperor’s son is betrothed to Princess Erica of the Dansk Kingdom she brings with her a powerful dowry: dragons. These powerful beasts come in several forms, but secrecy surrounds them and only the Dansk Royalty can soul-bond with these magical beasts to draw on their power and strength. There is uproar when the Emperor is found dead, and the Dansk King is accused of his murder. In the ensuing chaos, Jai has one choice: run or be killed. And when he finds a stunted dragon’s egg in the belly of Ragni’s dead dragon, he takes it with him. Soon, united with Princess Erica, also on the run from Titus, he must make a decision. Does he flee to an anonymous life or – aided by his new dragon chick – does he stand up and fight against a cruel Empire that destroyed his people?

Taran Matharu is the New York Times bestselling author of the Summoner series, which has been translated into 15 languages and has sold over two million copies in the English language. He was born in London in 1990. Taran began to write the Summoner series in November 2013 at the age of 22, taking part in ‘Nanowrimo 2013’ and sharing his work on Wattpad.com. The shared sample of the story went viral, reaching over 3 million reads in less than six months. His Contender trilogy was published in 2019. He has won the Journal de Mickey award in France and the Sakura medal in Japan, and was Book Trust’s writer in residence.

THE HIDDEN HEART de Theresa Howes

A sweeping love story set in occupied France in 1944 where an art-forger is blackmailed by the British government into looking into the loyalties of a French priest, rumoured to be a collaborator. For fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, Kate Morton and Letters to the Lost.

THE HIDDEN HEART
by Theresa Howes
on submission
(via Mushens Entertainment)

1944. Marguerite Segal, an artist living under a false identity on the Cote d’Azur to escape her criminal past, is blackmailed by British Intelligence into befriending Father Etienne Valade, a local priest suspected of being an Nazi collaborator. Her mission is to persuade him to pass on information from the high ranking German officers who attend his church. Connected by a passion for art, they soon fall in love. As she tries to convince him to pass on information learned in the confessional box, her association with him increasingly puts her in danger of violent reprisals from the local people. At the same time, her covert work, creating false identity cards to camouflage those hiding from the Third Reich, brings her under the scrutiny of the occupying enemy.
As the Allied invasion draws closer, Marguerite has to work out who she can trust in a world where everything is at stake. Should she put her faith in the man she loves, without knowing the motivation behind his actions? Or by trusting a man so full of contradictions, will she be aligning her fate with that of a man whose heart she cannot know?

Theresa Howes lives in London, and has a background as an actor. Her work has been long-listed for the Mslexia Novel Award, the Bath Novel Award, The Caledonia Novel Award, The Lucy Cavendish College Prize, and the BBC National Short Story Award. Theresa is already working on her second novel: at the end of WWII, a female war reporter who was used as a honey trap by British Intelligence during the war is trying to rebuild her marriage until the high ranking British officer she exposed as traitor reappears in her life, determined to get his revenge.

THE CONSPIRACIES d’Abigail Dean

Stonesmere will never be the same again… A tender, heartbreaking novel about community, tragedy, and the lasting power of love from the bestselling author of Girl A.

THE CONSPIRACIES
by Abigail Dean
HarperCollins, January 2022
(via Mushens Entertainment)

In a quiet lakeside town, an anonymous gunman enters a school. Hours later, Marty’s mother Ava is dead, her arms outstretched to protect the children she taught. As the town strives to regain its sense of community in the wake of tragedy, cracks emerge, and with them, conspiracies. Who is the shadowy figure chasing Marty as she grapples with her grief? And what of the group of people who insist the shooting never happened? Together with her childhood friend Leo, Marty must piece together the mystery of that fateful day – and face up to the truth about the part she played.

Abigail Dean was born in Manchester, and grew up in the Peak District. She graduated from Cambridge with a Double First in English. Formerly a Waterstones bookseller, she spent five years as a lawyer in London, and took summer 2018 off to work on her debut novel, Girl A, ahead of her thirtieth birthday. Girl A was published in hardback in January 2021 and became an instant Sunday Times and New York Times bestseller, also topping the charts in Ireland and Australia. It reached #1 in the UK Kindle charts. The novel has been acquired in 35 territories, and television/film rights have sold to Sony. Johan Renck, director of Chernobyl, is attached to work on the television adaptation. Abigail works as a lawyer for Google, and always loved reading, writing, and talking about books.