Archives de catégorie : Comics & Graphic Novels

BEA WOLF de Zach Weinersmith, illustré par Boulet

A modern middle-grade graphic novel retelling of Beowulf, featuring a gang of troublemaking kids who must defend their tree house from a fun-hating adult who can instantly turn children into grown-ups.

BEA WOLF
by Zach Weinersmith
illustrated by Boulet
First Second/Roaring Brook, February 2023
(via The Gernert Company)

Listen! Hear a tale of mallow-munchers and warriors who answer candy’s clarion call! Somewhere in a generic suburb stands Treeheart, a kid-forged sanctuary where generations of tireless tykes have spent their youths making merry, spilling soda, and staving off the shadow of adulthood.
One day, these brave warriors find their fun cut short by their nefarious neighbor Grindle, who can no longer tolerate the sounds of mirth seeping into his joyless adult life. As the guardian of gloom lays siege to Treeheart, scores of kids suddenly find themselves transformed into teenagers, beset by the plagues of hormones and pimples! The survivors of the onslaught cry out for a savior—a warrior whose will is unbreakable and whose appetite for mischief is unbounded. They call for Bea Wolf!

Zach Weinersmith is acclaimed creator of Saturday Morning Breakfast Cereal (smbccomics.com) an online comic with over 250,000 daily readers and over 300 million annual views. He’s the author of the New York Times bestseller Soonish.
Boulet is the critically-acclaimed French artist and cartoonist, most noted for his self published work Bouletcorp which receives over 200,000 visitors a month on the English side alone! His work has been featured on Slate, The Washington Post, The New York Times, and many more. He lives in France.

LION OF JUDAH (Graphic Novel) de M. Menelik Makhar

An immersive graphic novel detailing Bob Marley’s moving personal history and foundation as a musical, cultural, spiritual, and political legend.

LION OF JUDAH: A Graphic Novel
by M. Menelik Makhar
Ten Speed Press, March 2023

LION OF JUDAH is the graphic novel story of Bob Marley’s early life and origins as an artist and musical prophet. The book juxtaposes Marley’s personal history with stories of H.I.M. Haile Selassie I, the former emperor of Ethiopia and Marley’s self-proclaimed « Spiritual Father, » and Kwame Nkrumah, the first president of an independent Ghana, the country of Marley’s family ancestry. LION OF JUDAH—named for the prominent symbol of the Rastafari movement—weaves together the seminal moments of these three timelines through an anthology-style artistic collaboration of an international all-star team of comic artists including Damien Hill, Massimiliano Veltri, Will Rosado, N. Steven Harris, Christopher « ChrisCross » Williams, and Eric Battle among others.
This full-color, immersive visual reading experience is the untold story of Bob Marley, a comprehensive history of Reggae music, and an insightful examination of music, spirituality, and politics. LION OF JUDAH depicts the enduring lessons of struggles, triumph, and tragedy that connect us all.

M. Menelik Makhar is an acclaimed activist, songwriter/ghostwriter, and musician.

GIVE ME SPACE BUT DON’T GO FAR de Haley Weaver

A graphic memoir of one woman’s utterly relatable and life-affirming anxiety journey.

GIVE ME SPACE BUT DON’T GO FAR
by Haley Weaver
‎Avery, Spring/Summer 2023
(via Neon Literary)

Through eleven illustrated essays, GIVE ME SPACE BUT DON’T GO FAR encourages readers to understand anxiety as a part of them, a neutral thing as unavoidable and intrinsic as any other part of their body. Anxiety isn’t an obstacle, it’s a roommate. Or in Haley Weaver’s case, her anxiety is represented by a wide-eyed tangle of string, Weaver reveals over the course of the book that it isn’t an enemy to defeat or an obstacle to overcome. Anxiety just is, and it’s never going away, but if we care for it with tender curiosity and attention, it has many gifts to offer. With care, practice, and the friendship of some really great coping mechanisms, you can learn how to live with your anxiety roommate in a mutually respectful, affectionate, even meaningful way.
GIVE ME SPACE BUT DON’T GO FAR is more than just a memoir; it’s a valentine to selfacceptance and forgiveness.

Haley Weaver illustrates and shares webcomics about anxiety + mental health, relationships, and selfhood on her Instagram account @HaleyDrewThis. Her illustrations have been featured on other notable accounts and websites, including Bustle, Betches, New York Magazine, and Bored Panda. She has a knack for transforming universal (and sometimes overwhelming) feelings into digestible, relatable illustrations. Since sharing her first doodle to Instagram in 2017, Haley has accrued a fan base of almost 300,000 followers on Instagram.

SILVER #1 OF TREASURES AND THIEVES de Stephan Franck

A rollicking vampire-filled graphic novel heist that will keep you guessing until the very end for fans of Bram Stoker’s Dracula and Ocean’s Eleven, from award-nominated animator and comic book creator Stephan Franck.

SILVER: OF TREASURES AND THIEVES (Book 1)
by Stephan Franck
‎ Abrams ComicArts, October 2022

There are only two kinds of objects in this world. The ones that shine and the ones that don’t.
SILVER’s protagonist, James Finnigan, only concerns himself with objects from the first category. Those objects don’t hide in plain sight. They hide in dark places.
When Finnigan loses his grifter gang’s lifetime fortune in a heist gone wrong, he stumbles on a consolation prize in the crypt of the Harker Foundation—a notebook that tells of an ancient, immeasurable treasure, accompanied by a bar of pure silver to prove it. It’s a tall tale, but also Finnigan’s only lead. In an effort to make up for what he’s lost, he mounts the heist of the millennium in search of the Silver Dragon. Just one catch: The famed treasure is said to be hidden in a castle full of vampires. 
Set in the noir-pulp era of the 1930s, award-nominated animator Stephan Franck’s 
Silver is a rip-roaring, genre-bending graphic novel that draws on the best of gothic horror and heist tropes to tell a story that is pure adventure. Silver offers the captivating dynamics of an ensemble cast of misfits, while inviting us to accept that Bram Stoker’s Dracula was a tale of fact, not fiction. The result is a smart, innovative story complete with world-class visuals and sharply drawn characters that’s equal parts action, humor, and heart.

Stephan Franck is an animator/writer/director/comic book creator. He was a supervising animator on the cult classic The Iron Giant and contributed story to Despicable Me. He cocreated the animated TV series Corneil & Bernie (Nicktoons-Hub Network), received an Annie Award nomination for Best Director in a TV Program for Smurfs: The Legend of Smurfy Hollow, and supervised the animation of Marvel Studios’ What If…?. He lives in Los Angeles.

BATPIG de Rob Harrell

A supremely hilarious graphic novel series featuring an unstoppable, super-swine hero who boldly fights for justice. . . in between taking mud baths and eating tasty sandwiches.

BATPIG SERIES
by Rob Harrell
‎ Dial Books
(via Writers House)

BATPIG: WHEN PIGS FLY (Book 1, November 2021)

Ordinary pig, Gary Yorkshire, has his entire life turned upside down when a bite on the nose from a radioactive bat turns him into . . . BATPIG. With the support of his best friends, Brooklyn the bat and Carl the fish, he finally feels like he’s getting a handle on this whole superhero business. That is, until he faces a battle against time itself, when an underappreciated janitor slows down the clock so much that a math class never ever ends (the horror!). Can Batpig save the class from never-ending fractions?

This is an absolute must-read for fans of Dav Pilkey’s Dog Man series. Readers will go hog wild for this lovable hero. » –Kirkus, starred review

BATPIG: TOO PIG TO FAIL (Book 2, June 2022)

In this hilarious, hijinks-filled graphic novel super-swine Batpig is ready to face even bigger bullies, harder fights, and scariest of all—meeting his superhero idol.
Ordinary pig, Gary Yorkshire, has his entire life turned upside down when a bite on the nose from a radioactive bat turns him into . . . BATPIG. With the support of his best friends, Brooklyn the bat and Carl the fish, he finally feels like he’s getting a handle on this whole superhero business. That is, until he faces a battle against time itself, when an underappreciated janitor slows down the clock so much that a math class never ever ends (the horror!). Can Batpig save the class from never-ending fractions?

Rob Harrell is the author/illustrator of Wink, created the Life of Zarf series, the graphic novel Monster on the Hill, and also writes and draws the long-running daily comic strip Adam@Home, which appears in more than 140 papers worldwide. He created and drew the internationally syndicated comic strip Big Top until 2007. He lives with his wife in Indiana.