Archives par étiquette : Writers House

CHILDREN OF THE BLACK GLASS d’Anthony Peckham

Howl’s Moving Castle meets Neil Gaiman in this propulsive middle-grade trilogy, set in a world as mesmerizing as it is menacing, following children on a quest to save their father who get embroiled in the sinister agendas of rival sorcerers.

CHILDREN OF THE BLACK GLASS (Book 1)
by Anthony Peckham
Simon & Schuster, April 2023
(via Writers House)

In an unkind alternate past, somewhere between the Stone Age and a Metal Age, Tell and his sister Wren live in a small mountain village that makes its living off black glass mines and runs on brutal laws. When their father is blinded in a mining accident, the law dictates he has thirty days to regain his sight and be capable of working at the same level as before or be put to death.
Faced with this dire future, Tell and Wren make the forbidden treacherous journey to the legendary city of Halfway, halfway down the mountain, to trade their father’s haul of the valuable black glass for the medicine to cure him. The city, ruled by five powerful female sorcerers, at first dazzles the siblings. But beneath Halfway’s glittery surface seethes ambition, violence, prejudice, blackmail, and impending chaos.
Without knowing it, Tell and Wren have walked straight into a sorcerers’ coup. Over the next twelve days they must scramble first to save themselves, then their new friends, as allegiances shift and prejudices crack open to show who has true power.

Anthony Peckham is a highly acclaimed screenwriter whose work includes Sherlock Holmes and Clint Eastwood’s Invictus. He is a Writers Guild of America Award winner and an NAACP Image Award nominee. Children of the Black Glass is his novel-writing debut.

BUNNICULA, THE GRAPHIC NOVEL by James Howe, Andrew Donkin, & Stephen Gilpin

Celebrate over forty years of the modern classic BUNNICULA with this fang-tastic graphic novelization that will send a shiver down your spine and leave you howling with laughter!

BUNNICULA, THE GRAPHIC NOVEL
written by James Howe & Andrew Donkin
illustrated by Stephen Gilpin
Atheneum/Simon & Schuster, August 2022
(via Writers House)

Beware the hare! Harold the dog and Chester the cat must find out the truth about the newest pet in the Monroe household—a suspicious-looking bunny with unusual habits…and fangs! Could this innocent-seeming rabbit actually be a vampire? Experience the chills and thrills of this classic tale in an all-new graphic novel format!

James Howe is the author of more than ninety books for young readers. Bunnicula, coauthored by his late wife Deborah and published in 1979, is considered a modern classic of children’s literature. The author has written six highly popular sequels, along with the spinoff series Tales from the House of Bunnicula and Bunnicula and Friends. Among his other books are picture books such as Horace and Morris but Mostly Dolores and beginning reader series that include the Pinky and Rex and Houndsley and Catina books. He has also written for older readers. The Misfits, published in 2001, inspired the nationwide antibullying initiative No Name-Calling Week, as well as three sequels. A common theme in James Howe’s books from preschool through teens is the acceptance of difference and being true to oneself.
Andrew Donkin is a writer and graphic novelist. He was described by The Times (London) as “the graphic novel supremo,” which is what he’ll have on his tombstone in the unlikely event he ever dies. Andrew has written more than seventy books that sold more than nine million copies, including children’s books, graphic novels, and even the odd book for grown-ups. He is a longtime collaborator with Eoin Colfer. The pair recently coauthored the award-winning graphic novel, Illegal. Andrew lives near the river Thames in London with his partner, their two children, and no vampire bunny rabbits.
Stephen Gilpin graduated from the NYC School of Visual Arts where he studied painting and cartooning. He is the illustrator of the Who Shrunk Daniel Funk series and The Extraordinary Adventures of Ordinary Boy series. Stephen currently lives in Hiawatha, Kansas.

La série de chapter books JUNIE B. JONES de Barbara Park bientôt adapté pour le petit écran

Les chaînes américaines Nickelodeon et Awesomeness, qui appartiennent au groupe Paramount, ont récemment annoncé de nouveaux projets de séries TV adaptées de livres à succès, dont JUNIE B. JONES. Elle sera diffusée sur la plateforme de streaming Paramount+. Plus d’informations concernant le casting et la date de diffusion devraient être communiquées prochainement. (Lire l’article de Deadline)

Écrite par Barbara Park et illustrée par Denise Brunkus, la série de près de trente volumes publiés par Random House aux États-Unis entre 1992 et 2013 raconte les aventures hilarantes de la petite Junie B. Jones à l’école maternelle et en CP. Les livres ont connu un grand succès en Amérique du nord avec plus de 65 millions d’exemplaires vendus. A l’occasion de la série tv, Random House prévoit de publier une nouvelle adaptation sous forme de bande dessinée en quatre volumes.

Les droits de langue française sont toujours disponibles.

FORTUNA SWORN de K.J. Sutton

Get immersed in this New Adult romantic fantasy series for fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses

FORTUNA SWORN, Book 1
by K.J. Sutton
‎ Once Upon a Time Books, June 2019
(via Writers House)

We were meant to be seductive. We were designed to lure humans in.
Fortuna Sworn is the last of her kind. Her brother disappeared two years ago, leaving her with no family or species to speak of. She hides among humans, spending her days working at a bar and her nights searching for him. The bleak pattern goes on and on… until she catches the eye of a powerful faerie. He makes no attempt to hide that he desires Fortuna. And in exchange for her, he offers something irresistible. So Fortuna reluctantly leaves her safe existence behind to step back into a world of creatures and power. It soon becomes clear that she may not have bargained with her heart, but her very life.

K.J. Sutton lives in a land of darkness and snow. She spends her time writing stories or watching twisted shows on Netflix. She always has a cup of Vanilla Chai in her hand and despises wearing anything besides pajamas. She adores interacting with fellow writers and readers. Until then, she’s hard at work on her next book. K.J. Sutton also writes young adult novels as Kelsey Sutton.

IF NIETZCHE WERE A NARWHAL de Justin Gregg

Funny and counter-intuitive, IF NIETZSCHE WERE A NARWHAL reveals how human intelligence may actually be more of a liability than a gift, and how the animal kingdom, in all its diversity, gets by just fine without it.

IF NIETZCHE WERE A NARWHAL:
What Animal Intelligence Reveals About Human Stupidity
by Justin Gregg
Little, Brown, August 2022
(via Writers House)

At first glance, human history is full of remarkable feats of intelligence. We invented writing. Produced incredible achievements in music, the arts, and the sciences. We’ve built sprawling cities and traveled across oceans—and space—and expanded to every part of the globe.
Yet, human exceptionalism can be a double-edged sword. With our unique cognitive prowess comes severe consequences, including existential angst, violence, discrimination, and the creation of a world teetering towards climate catastrophe. Understood side-by-side, human exceptionalism begins to look more like a curse.
As scientist Justin Gregg persuasively argues, there’s an evolutionary reason why human intelligence isn’t more prevalent in the animal kingdom. Simply put, non-human animals don’t need it to be successful. And, miraculously, their success arrives without the added baggage of destroying themselves and the planet in the process.
In seven mind-bending and hilarious chapters, Gregg highlights one feature seemingly unique to humans—our use of language, our rationality, our moral systems, our so-called sophisticated consciousness—and compares it to our animal brethren. What emerges is both demystifying and remarkable, and will change how you look at animals, humans, and the meaning of life itself.
Destined to become a classic, IF NIETZSCHE WERE A NARWHAL asks whether we are in fact the superior species. It turns out, the truth is stranger—and far more interesting—than we have been led to believe.

Justin Gregg is a Senior Research Associate with the Dolphin Communication Project and an Adjunct Professor at St. Francis Xavier University where he lectures on animal behavior and cognition. Originally from Vermont, Justin studied the echolocation abilities of wild dolphins in Japan and The Bahamas. He currently lives in rural Nova Scotia where he writes about science and contemplates the inner lives of the crows that live near his home.