Archives de catégorie : Nos incontournables

THE SUNKEN CITY TRILOGY d’Emma Noyes

« Fans of Pirates of the Caribbean will be captivated by this swash buckling adventure on the high seas. A complex and rich narrative… that immerses you fully in the storytelling – a fantasy you won’t want to end! » – Kate W. J. White, author of the Caskets of Ice series

THE SUNKEN CITY TRILOGY
by Emma Noyes
Independently published, 2021-2022
(via The Whalen Agency)

THE SUNKEN CITY – Book 1 (published December 2021)
Amare Bellamy is not a witch. Orphaned as a child and raised on a ship by the most dangerous men in the Caribbean, Amare is one thing and one thing alone: a pirate. And pirates hate magic. After a fateful storm plunges her to the depths of the ocean, Amare wakes to find herself in a strange new world: an underwater kingdom, where magic exists, but is strictly outlawed by the King—a man who claims to be her true father. As Amare struggles to fit into her new role as Princess of the Sunken City, she finds herself tangled in a web of love between two brothers—one good, one not so good. And as strange powers manifest within her, she must question everything she was raised to believe—especially if she has any hope of stopping the evil brewing at the bottom of the ocean.

THE FALLEN WITCH – Book 2 (published April 2022)
Amare Bellamy never meant to get married. She had a simple plan: rescue the Captain, rendezvous with the crew, and escape the Sunken City. But when her father bumps up the wedding without notice, she has no choice but to comply—that is, until Lukas shows up. He presents Amare with an ultimatum: break into Skullhaven and collect the ring that could raise the Fallen Witch, or watch her friends die. She agrees, under the contingency that, once their mission is complete, they never speak again. Amare is dead set on sticking to this plan… until she finds out they must pose as a married couple to get inside Skullhaven. Cornered, she agrees to keep up the ruse until they can get the ring and get out. But what happens when their fake marriage starts to feel not so fake at all?

WAR OF SHADOWS – Book 3 (publishing December 6th, 2022)
The Fallen Witch has risen, bringing chaos back with her. The Ten Kingdoms have splintered. Amare and her friends are on the run. Tectixa is dead set on raising the oceans, wiping out all of humanity in the process. And, as if that weren’t enough, Lukas’s first love is back from the dead. Before Amare can ask what this means for their relationship, Lukas and Phoebe are stolen away, sending her into a magic-fueled rage. Now, if she wants to save the man she loves and protect the Ten Kingdoms from all-out war, she’ll have to go undercover, pretending to get close to the witch she despises most of all. Alliances will be formed, trust will be broken, and true love will be the final test.

Emma V. R. Noyes grew up in a suburb outside Chicago and attended Harvard University, where she graduated with a B.A. in history & literature. Her first series, a self-published YA fantasy trilogy titled The Sunken City (The Sunken City; Book 1 and The Fallen Witch: Book 2 – just published) – has combined sales of over 5,000 copies (only the first two books have been published). She has grown a rather large following on BookTok, with over 137,500 followers and 7 million likes, and  Instagram, with over 25,000 followers. Emma’s adult debut GUY’S GIRL will be published by Berkley in October 2023.

THE HURRICANE WARS de Thea Guanzon

The fates of two rivals with opposing magical abilities are swept together in THE HURRICANE WARS, the spellbinding debut in a steamy fantasy romance trilogy set in a Southeast Asia-inspired world ravaged by storms, perfect for fans of S.A. Chakraborty, Leigh Bardugo, Sarah J. Maas, and R.F. Kuang.

THE HURRICANE WARS #1
by Thea Guanzon
Harper Voyager, July 2023

Talasyn and Alaric have always known their destinies were intertwined.
After a decade of war, magic is becoming rare in Lir. Nations of aethermancers who command the elements—Rainsingers, Firedancers, Thunderstruck, Windcallers—have all fallen to the Night Emperor and his Shadowborn warriors. His son, Prince Alaric, has been tasked with snuffing out any remaining threats. And the rebel soldier Talasyn is very much a threat—as the last known Lightweaver on the continent, she can create radiant weapons that cut through Alaric’s dark magic. Each believes this war will only end once one kills the other. Yet, as the foes clash in epic duels across the dramatic landscapes of Lir, neither seems quite capable of dealing the final blow. Then a new opportunity for peace emerges, but it can only be sealed by a marriage between light and dark. Forced together to save their people, Talasyn and Alaric must decide if they are fated to join hands, or destroy each other…
An exquisite fantasy brimming with unforgettable characters, sizzling romance, and richly drawn worlds, this breathtaking novel marks the debut of an extraordinary new writer.

Thea Guanzon was born in Bacolod City in the Philippines and currently resides in Metro Manila. She holds a Bachelor of Arts in International Studies from Miriam College and she has worked in election management and women’s rights. This is her first novel.

CHILDREN OF THE BLACK GLASS d’Anthony Peckham

Howl’s Moving Castle meets Neil Gaiman in this propulsive middle-grade trilogy, set in a world as mesmerizing as it is menacing, following children on a quest to save their father who get embroiled in the sinister agendas of rival sorcerers.

CHILDREN OF THE BLACK GLASS (Book 1)
by Anthony Peckham
Simon & Schuster, April 2023
(via Writers House)

In an unkind alternate past, somewhere between the Stone Age and a Metal Age, Tell and his sister Wren live in a small mountain village that makes its living off black glass mines and runs on brutal laws. When their father is blinded in a mining accident, the law dictates he has thirty days to regain his sight and be capable of working at the same level as before or be put to death.
Faced with this dire future, Tell and Wren make the forbidden treacherous journey to the legendary city of Halfway, halfway down the mountain, to trade their father’s haul of the valuable black glass for the medicine to cure him. The city, ruled by five powerful female sorcerers, at first dazzles the siblings. But beneath Halfway’s glittery surface seethes ambition, violence, prejudice, blackmail, and impending chaos.
Without knowing it, Tell and Wren have walked straight into a sorcerers’ coup. Over the next twelve days they must scramble first to save themselves, then their new friends, as allegiances shift and prejudices crack open to show who has true power.

Anthony Peckham is a highly acclaimed screenwriter whose work includes Sherlock Holmes and Clint Eastwood’s Invictus. He is a Writers Guild of America Award winner and an NAACP Image Award nominee. Children of the Black Glass is his novel-writing debut.

DUNGEON CRAWLER CARL de Matt Dinniman

The apocalypse will be televised! They call it Dungeon Crawler World. But for Carl, it’s anything but a game. This series is modern day Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy meets Ready Player One meets Hunger Games (with a dash of The Running Man to boot!)

DUNGEON CRAWLER CARL (Book 1)
by Matt Dinniman
Independently published, September 2020
(via The Gernert Company)

A man. His ex-girlfriend’s cat. A sadistic game show unlike anything in the universe: a dungeon crawl where survival depends on killing your prey in the most entertaining way possible.
In a flash, every human-erected construction on Earth—from Buckingham Palace to the tiniest of sheds—collapses in a heap, sinking into the ground. The buildings and all the people inside have all been atomized and transformed into the dungeon: an 18-level labyrinth filled with traps, monsters, and loot. A dungeon so enormous, it circles the entire globe. Only a few dare venture inside. But once you’re in, you can’t get out. And what’s worse, each level has a time limit. You have but days to find a staircase to the next level down, or it’s game over.
In this game, it’s not about your strength or your dexterity. It’s about your followers, your views. Your clout. It’s about building an audience and killing those goblins with style. You can’t just survive here. You gotta survive big. You gotta fight with vigor, with excitement. You gotta make them stand up and cheer. And if you do have that « it » factor, you may just find yourself with a following. That’s the only way to truly survive in this game—with the help of the loot boxes dropped upon you by the generous benefactors watching from across the galaxy.

Book 5 in the series was published in February 2022.

Matt Dinniman is a writer and artist from Gig Harbor, Washington. He is the author of the bestselling Dungeon Crawler Carl series along with ten other novels and dozens of works of short fiction. He lives with his wife, family, and menagerie of animals.

TOO EARLY de Nora Ericson & Elly MacKay

A gentle, cozy story following a family’s bleary-eyed wake-up routine, a little one who’s eager to start the day, and the quiet magic of early mornings.

TOO EARLY
written by Nora Ericson
illustrated by Elly MacKay
Arams Books for Young Readers, November 2022

I wake up very early.
Good morning, Sun, on your way at last. You don’t wake up nearly as early as I do.
Now the wind is waking.
Tickle tickle on my cheeks,
rustle rustle through the leaves.
Birds untuck and start to coo,
Whooo whooo, you wake up too early, yes you doooo . . .

In sweet, melodic verse written from the perspective of the earliest riser, TOO EARLY follows a family’s morning routine, exploring both the groggy haze and the everyday magic inherent in the predawn hours of a loving household.

This winning title invites readers into the morning routine of its characters. Readers may notice warm colors beginning to hint at the culminating sunrise that will conclude the book; before that, however, the quiet yet potent text engages other senses by describing rustling leaves, cooing birds, and, finally, the baby crying. Cozy, sumptuous, and stirring—the perfect way to greet the dawn.” – Kirkus, starred review

Nora Ericson studied painting at Yale University and writing for children at Vermont College of Fine Arts. Originally from central New York, she now lives in Portland, Oregon, with two kids, two dogs, and two cats. Besides reading and writing, she loves cooking, tromping in the woods, and whittling spoons while daydreaming of her future miniature donkey farm. She’s also the author of Dill & Bizzy: An Odd Duck and a Strange Bird and Dill & Bizzy: Opposite Day
Elly MacKay is an internationally recognized paper artist and children’s book author and illustrator. She wrote and illustrated the picture books Red Sky at NightIf You Hold a Seed, and Butterfly Park, among others. The distinctive three-dimensional quality in her works is made by setting up layers of painted paper in a miniature theater. She lights the scene and photographs it to create her unique illustrations. MacKay lives in Owen Sound, Ontario, with her family.