Archives de catégorie : LGBT+

Le National Book Award décerné à Malinda Lo pour LAST NIGHT AT THE TELEGRAPH CLUB

Le roman YA paru chez Dutton aux États-Unis en janvier 2021 vient de remporter le National Book Award dans la catégorie Young People’s Literature. Ce prestigieux prix littéraire américain s’ajoute à la listedes nombreuses distinctions déjà reçues par ce livre depuis sa publication :

2021 National Book Award Winner
Publishers Weekly Best Books of 2021
2021 Goodreads Choice Award Nominee
2021 BookPage Best Young Adult Books of 2021
Eight Starred Reviews!
Fourteen-Week National Bestseller
Finalist for the NEIBA Book Award
2021 Medal Winner of the Alice B Awards

Voici ce que le jury a déclaré au sujet de ce livre :

“LAST NIGHT AT THE TELEGRAPH CLUB glows with desire and hums with sensuality as sapphic romance flashes against fear and intolerance. In lustrous detail, Malinda Lo materializes Chinese American Lily and white Kath’s love story during the rise of 1950’s McCarthyism. Lo’s exquisite prose contrasts Lily’s unhurried discovery of her sexuality against Kath’s unquestioned belonging at the Telegraph Club. Lo beckons readers, sentence by restrained sentence, into this incandescent novel of queer possibility.”

Pour lire la présentation du roman, cliquer ici.

Les droits de langue française sont toujours disponibles.

LAST NIGHT AT THE TELEGRAPH CLUB de Malinda Lo

Acclaimed author of Ash Malinda Lo returns with her most personal and ambitious novel yet, a gripping story of love and duty set in San Francisco’s Chinatown during the 1950s.

LAST NIGHT AT THE TELEGRAPH CLUB
by Malinda Lo
Dutton, January 2021
(via Dystel, Goderich & Bourret)

« That book. It was about two women, and they fell in love with each other. » And then Lily asked the question that had taken root in her, that was even now unfurling its leaves and demanding to be shown the sun: « Have you ever heard of such a thing? »
Seventeen-year-old Lily Hu can’t remember exactly when the question took root, but the answer was in full bloom the moment she and Kathleen Miller walked under the flashing neon sign of a lesbian bar called the Telegraph Club. America in 1954 is not a safe place for two girls to fall in love, especially not in Chinatown. Red-Scare paranoia threatens everyone, including Chinese Americans like Lily. With deportation looming over her father—despite his hard-won citizenship—Lily and Kath risk everything to let their love see the light of day.

Restrained yet luscious.” —Sarah Waters, bestselling author of Tipping the Velvet
“Finally, the intersectional, lesbian, historical teen novel so many readers have been waiting for.” —Kirkus, starred review
“A must-read love story…alternately heart-wrenching and satisfying.” —
Booklist, starred review
“This standout work of historical fiction combines meticulous research with tender romance to create a riveting bildungsroman.” —
Horn Book, starred review
“Proof of Malinda Lo’s skill at creating darkly romantic tales of love in the face of danger.
 » —O: The Oprah Magazine

Winner of the National Book Award for Young Adult literature
• O, the Oprah Magazine
included LAST NIGHT AT THE TELEGRAPH CLUB in their list of 32 LGBTQ Books That Will Change the Literary Landscape in 2021.
• Buzzfeed included it on its list of 25 LGBTQ+ YA Books You’ll Want to Curl Up with This Winter.
• Bustle included it in their 42 Books to Get Excited About This Winter.

Malinda Lo is the critically acclaimed and bestselling author. Her debut novel Ash, a lesbian retelling of Cinderella, was a finalist for the William C. Morris YA Debut Award, the Andre Norton Award for YA Science Fiction and Fantasy, the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award, and was a Kirkus Best Book for Children and Teens. She has been a three-time finalist for the Lambda Literary Award.

BEATING HEART BABY de Lio Min

A tender best friends to enemies to lovers story with Asian Americans leads, celebrating first love, second chances, indie rock, and transitions of all kinds.

BEATING HEART BABY
by Lio Min
Flatiron Books/St. Martin’s Press, July 2022

Santi has only had his heart broken one time, and it was all his fault. When he accidentally leaked his internet best friend Memo’s song, and it became an overnight hit, Memo disappeared—leaving their song’s cult fame, and Santi, behind.
Three years later, Santi arrives in Los Angeles with a mission: get over the ghost of Memo. Thankfully, his new school and its wildly-talented Sunshower marching band welcome him with open arms. All except for his section leader, the prickly, proud, musical prodigy Suwa. After a disastrous first encounter, Suwa makes Santi’s life a living hell. But when Santi realizes Suwa is trans, then Suwa realizes Santi takes his identity in stride, both boys begin to let their guards down. Santi learns Suwa’s surliness masks a painful, still-raw history of his own, and as they open up to each other, their friendship quickly takes on the red-hot blush of a mutual crush.
Just as Santi is feeling settled in this new life, with a growing found family and a head-over-heels relationship with Suwa, he begins to put together the pieces of an impossible truth—that Memo and Suwa might just be one and the same. But their fragile fresh start threatens to rip apart at the seams again when Suwa is offered the chance to step into the spotlight he’s owed, but has always denied himself. Now, as each of them faces the future, Santi and Suwa must finally reckon with their dreams, their pasts, and the boy who always seems to appear right at the wrong time.
Truly an electric “mix tape” debut,
Beating Heart Baby is a coming-of-age and romance celebrating the uncertainties queer youth encounter amidst the turmoil of first love. This knockout book truly pulses with life and energy, begging to be read and shared. It’s Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist for a new generation.

Lio Min has listened to, played and performed, and written about music for most of their life. Their debut novel BEATING HEART BABY is about boys, bands, and Los Angeles, where they lived for seven years. They’ve profiled and interviewed acts including Japanese Breakfast, Rina Sawayama, Purity Ring, Caroline Polachek, Christine and the Queens, Metric, Yaeji, Speedy Ortiz, and Mitski.

SOME FARAWAY PLACE de Lauren Shippen

The third Bright Sessions novel from creator Lauren Shippen, features Rose, who has her humdrum life flipped upside down when she starts to travel into dreams.

SOME FARAWAY PLACE
(The Bright Sessions, Book 3)
by Lauren Shippen
Tor Teen/St. Martin’s Press, September 2021

Rose Atkinson’s mother can see the future. Her father can move things he doesn’t touch. Her brother Aaron can read minds. And Rose, well, she makes a mean spaghetti bolognese.
Everyone else in her family is Atypical, which means they manifested an ability that defies the limits of the human experience. At nineteen, well past the average age of manifestation, Rose is stuck defending her decision not to go to college and instead working in the kitchen of a local restaurant, hoping to gain the experience she needs to become a chef.
When a rollerblading accident sends her to the hospital, she meets a girl she can’t forget and she starts to feel like maybe her life isn’t quite so small. But when she starts falling asleep mid-conversation, she thinks, then again maybe I’m doomed to never have good things.
Rose should be happy to learn that she’s Atypical after all―that diving into dreams makes her a part of her family in the way she always wanted. But the more time she spends in the dreamworld, the more complicated her ability becomes. Trying to balance her work, her power, and a girlfriend who doesn’t know about Atypicals, Rose seeks help. But she soon discovers that being Atypical comes with dangers she never could have imagined. Even her carefully constructed dreamworld isn’t safe. This is the story of Atypical Rose, who discovers that your dreams coming true isn’t always a good thing.

Shippen continues to expand her fascinating universe…This entry contains everything that makes the universe of this world appealing, including sympathetic, complex characters; magic powers that cause more problems than they solve; and…diversity. A must-read for Bright Sessions fans.” ―Kirkus Reviews

Lauren Shippen, author of The Infinite Noise, is a writer best known for her work in fiction podcasts. She is the creator and sole writer of the popular audio drama, The Bright Sessions. She went on to executive produce The AM Archives and co-produce Passenger List before founding Atypical Artists, a company dedicated to audio storytelling. She wrote MARVELS, an audio adaptation of the popular comic, released in 2019 by Marvel and Stitcher. Lauren was named one of Forbes’s 2018 30 Under 30 in Media and one of MovieMaker Magazine’s and Austin Film Festival’s 25 Screenwriters to Watch. She was born in New York City and grew up in Bronxville, New York. She currently lives in Los Angeles but travels frequently to New York.

THE FEELING OF FALLING IN LOVE de Mason Deaver

From the bestselling author of I Wish You All the Best, comes a new kind of love story, about the bad decisions we sometimes make… and the people who help get us back on the right path. Perfect for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston and What If It’s Us by Adam Silvera and Becky Albertalli.

THE FEELING OF FALLING IN LOVE
by Mason Deaver
Push/Scholastic, May 2022
(via Dystel, Goderich & Bourret)

Just days before spring break, Neil Kearney is set to fly across the country with his childhood friend (and current friend-with-benefits) Josh, to attend his brother’s wedding―until Josh tells Neil that he’s in love with him and Neil doesn’t return the sentiment.
With Josh still attending the wedding, Neil needs to find a new date to bring along. And, almost against his will, roommate Wyatt is drafted.
At first, Wyatt (correctly) thinks Neil is acting like a jerk. But when they get to LA, Wyatt sees a little more of where it’s coming from. Slowly, Neil and Wyatt begin to understand one another… and maybe, just maybe, fall in love for the first time…

Born and raised in a small North Carolina town, Mason Deaver is an award-winning and best selling author of books like I Wish You All the Best, which was named an NPR Concierge Pick and picked to be a Junior Library Guild selection; and their most recent novel The Ghosts We Keep. On the rare occasion they aren’t writing, they usually fill their time by watching horror movies, or worsening their bad posture by playing too many video games.