Archives par étiquette : Abrams Books

KRAKEN de Wendy Williams

The enthralling examination of one of the most popular and most intriguing animals in the deep blue sea.

KRAKEN:
The Curious, Exciting, and Slightly Disturbing Science of Squid
by Wendy Williams
Abrams Press, July 2022

The ocean is the last remaining source of profound mystery and discovery on Earth with eighty percent of it still largely unexplored; thus, it is of perennial fascination. In KRAKEN, journalist Wendy Williams introduces one of the ocean’s most charismatic, monstrous, enigmatic, and curious inhabitants: the squid. More than just calamari, squid species are fascinatingly odd creatures, with much to teach us about our own species, not to mention the obsessive interest so many of us can’t help but have for the enormous beast that is the giant squid, which is quick to attack sperm whales, and even submarines and boats. Williams also examines other equally enthralling cephalopods, including the octopus and the cuttlefish, and explores their otherworldly abilities, such as camouflage and bioluminescence. Kraken takes the reader on a wild ride through the world of squid science and adventure, along the way answering some riddles about how the human brain works, what intelligence really is, and what monsters lie in the deep. Wendy Williams weaves a rich narrative tapestry around her subject, drawing powerfully on the passions and discoveries of scientists, fisherman, and squid enthusiasts around the world.

Wendy Williams is a journalist and author.  She has written for the Boston Globe, the Wall Street Journal, the New York Times and the Christian Science Monitor, among other publications. She is also the author of several books, including the New York Times bestseller, The Horse, which was also chosen by the Wall Street Journal as a 2015 Best Book of The Year and won a Nautilus Book Award.

THE FOREST FEAST ROAD TRIP d’Erin Gleeson

Beloved Forest Feast author Erin Gleeson is back with a love letter to travel and delicious vegetarian food from her home state of California.

THE FOREST FEAST ROAD TRIP
by Erin Gleeson
Abrams, Mars 2022

For years, Forest Feast fans have loved Erin Gleeson’s effortless California-style vegetarian cooking, made in her beautiful cabin in the woods. Now, Gleeson takes an extended road trip around California, staying in unique cabin dwellings along the way and showing readers the beauty and incredible food of the Golden State she knows so well. From the grapes of the wine country where Gleeson grew up to the avocados of San Diego, California is known for its rich agriculture. THE FOREST FEAST ROAD TRIP showcases 100 vegetarian recipes, all inspired by her family’s journey by car through a stunningly geographically diverse setting. Each chapter focuses on a different region of California, depicted in Gleeson’s signature aesthetic of atmospheric photography, charming watercolor illustrations, and mouthwatering recipes drawn from the fresh, local produce found in each location. Gleeson visits the giant redwoods on the coast of Mendocino, the desert of Joshua Tree, the mountains of Lake Tahoe, the tropical beaches of Santa Barbara, the cliffs of Yosemite National Park, and everywhere in between. In each location, Gleeson and her family stay in design-forward cabins, host dinner parties, and explore local attractions, providing tips for readers who may want to take a California road trip of their own.
With its sense of wanderlust and its fresh take on the vegetarian cookbook, THE FOREST FEAST ROAD TRIP is an essential addition to this bestselling series.

Erin Gleeson is the author, illustrator, and photographer behind the New York Times bestselling cookbook The Forest Feast, The Forest Feast for Kids, The Forest Feast Gatherings, The Forest Feast Mediterranean, and the popular blog of the same name. Gleeson also teaches photography in continuing studies at Stanford University. Her work has been featured in the New York Times, the Kitchn, Design*Sponge, Food52, InStyle, Country Living, Better Homes and Gardens, Bon Appétit, and Saveur, and appears in a line of stationery products from Abrams Noterie that includes journals, art prints, and calendars. Gleeson lives in a cabin in the woods in Northern California, where she creates simple and delicious vegetarian recipes, inspired by her weekly farm box.

SOFIA COPPOLA : FOREVER YOUNG de Hannah Strong

An illustrated critical survey of Academy Award–winning writer and director Sofia Coppola’s career, covering everything from her groundbreaking music videos through her latest films.

SOFIA COPPOLA : FOREVER YOUNG
by Hannah Strong
Abrams, May 2022

In the two decades since her first feature film was released, Sofia Coppola has created a tonally diverse, meticulously crafted, and unapologetically hyperfeminine aesthetic across a wide range of multimedia work. Her films explore untenable relationships and the euphoria and heartbreak these entail, and Coppola develops these themes deftly and with discernment across her movies and music videos. From The Virgin Suicides and Marie Antoinette to Lost in Translation and The Beguiled, Coppola’s award-nominated filmography is also unique in how its consistent visual aesthetic is informed by and in conversation with contemporary fine art and photography.
SOFIA COPPOLA offers a rich and intimate look at the overarching stylistic and thematic components of Coppola’s work. In addition to critical essays about Coppola’s filmography, the book will include interviews with some of her closest collaborators, including musician Jean-Benoît Dunckel and costume designer Nancy Steiner, along with a foreword by Italian filmmaker Alice Rohrwacher. It engages with her creative output while celebrating her talent as an imagemaker and storyteller. Along the way, readers meet again a cast of characters mired in the ennui of missed connections: loneliness, frustrated creativity, rebellious adolescence, and the double-edged knife of celebrity, all captured by the emotional, intimate power of the female gaze.

Hannah Strong is the associate editor at Little White Lies magazine. Her work has appeared in Vulture, GQ, the Guardian, and Dazed & Confused, and she regularly appears on television and radio as a film critic, largely for the BBC and ITV. Strong lives in London.

GABE IN THE AFTER de Shannon Doleski

A post-apocalyptic upper middle-grade adventure with a first-crush romance, perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead and Shannon Hale.

GABE IN THE AFTER
by Shannon Doleski
Amulet/Abrams, June 2022

It’s fourteen-year-old Gabe Sweeney’s day to check for survivors . . . Two years after a global pandemic, twenty survivors (most of them children) have relocated from their coastal Maine island full of sad memories to a mansion on a small, neighboring island where they have school and farm chores. When Gabe and his dog, Mud, find Relle Douglas alone in the woods on the mainland, they take the strange new girl across the channel to live with them. Relle changes the island with her hopeful attitude. She tells big stories and makes plans for activities like talent shows. Despite a growing crush, Gabe doesn’t quite understand the point of it all; why have a talent show at the end of the world? But when tragedy strikes, Gabe sets out on a dangerous journey to try and find other survivors where the world might be normal. Like Before.
Lightly inspired by
Anne of Green Gables, GABE IN THE AFTER is a moving and heartfelt story about the end of the world—and what perseveres through it.

Shannon Doleski is the author of Mary Underwater, which received a starred review from Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books, who called it “perfect for readers not quite ready for Laurie Halse Anderson.” She was born and raised in Cazenovia, New York. After graduating from Niagara University with an English education degree, Shannon was an English teacher and swim coach in New York and Maryland. She lives with her family in West Texas.

THE POWERS #1: HAVEN’S SECRET de Melissa Benoist et Jessica Benoist, avec Mariko Tamaki

Two sisters come to terms with their extraordinary powers in a new middle-grade fantasy from Supergirl’s Melissa Benoist and her sister, the writer Jessica Benoist, with the New York Times bestselling author, Mariko Tamaki.

THE POWERS #1: HAVEN’S SECRET
by Melissa Benoist, Jessica Benoist
with Mariko Tamaki
Amulet/Abrams, October 2021

Ellie McFadden has intuitive gifts. She can sense what other living things are feeling. She can even talk to animals! Too bad she can’t connect with her twin sister, Parker. Parker McFadden has kinetic gifts. She can cause shocks to the earth and produce heat energy that explodes from her body like fire, especially when she is angry. The sisters aren’t aware of the legacy they inherited from their mother until, on their thirteenth birthday, two mysterious relatives on the Power side whisk them off to an isolated sanctuary called Haven. Ellie immediately adapts to their new routine, but Parker has one impulse: to get back to her normal life of friends and sports, fast.
Unlocking Haven’s secrets is just the beginning of what Ellie and Parker can do if they choose to work together to harness their abilities. But the sinister force that took their mother has other plans; and if the sisters’ fragile relationship succumbs to The Danger, a terrible fate may befall the people they love.
This epic tale of two remarkable girls and the powers they wield is sure to appeal to fans of Chris Colfer, Rick Riordan, and Tui T. Sutherland.

Melissa Benoist is an American actress best known for her roles in Glee, Whiplash, and Supergirl (in which she plays Supergirl). She and Jessica Benoist, her sister, are lifelong readers of science fiction and fantasy and are particularly passionate about using fantasy as a vehicle for making topical themes accessible to young readers.
Mariko Tamaki is a writer known for her graphic novels This One Summer, a Caldecott Honor and Printz Honor winner cocreated with her cousin Jillian Tamaki; Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me, a Harvey, Ignatz, Eisner, and Printz Honor winner; and other notable works. Visit her at marikotamaki.blogspot.com.