Archives de catégorie : Middle Grade

La série de romans jeunesse Paola Santiago bientôt adaptée en série tv

La plateforme Disney+ a lancé le développement de Paola Santiago and the River of Tears, une série tv originale basée sur le roman jeunesse de Tehlor Kay Mejia, en partenariat avec UnbeliEVAble Entertainment, la société de production d’Eva Longoria, et 20th Television. Aucune date n’a été annoncée pour le moment. (Lire l’article de Deadline)

Le livre, publié en août 2020 chez Rick Riordan Presents/Disney-Hyperion aux États-Unis, est le premier volet d’une série middle-grade d’aventure et d’horreur qui s’inspire du folklore mexicain. Il met en scène une jeune fille qui s’est toujours appuyée sur les sciences exactes pour comprendre le monde qui l’entoure, jusqu’au jour où elle doit s’aventurer au pays des cauchemars pour retrouver son amie. Le troisième tome est prévu pour août 2022.

Les droits de langue française sont toujours disponibles.

BEA WOLF de Zach Weinersmith, illustré par Boulet

A modern middle-grade graphic novel retelling of Beowulf, featuring a gang of troublemaking kids who must defend their tree house from a fun-hating adult who can instantly turn children into grown-ups.

BEA WOLF
by Zach Weinersmith
illustrated by Boulet
First Second/Roaring Brook, February 2023
(via The Gernert Company)

Listen! Hear a tale of mallow-munchers and warriors who answer candy’s clarion call! Somewhere in a generic suburb stands Treeheart, a kid-forged sanctuary where generations of tireless tykes have spent their youths making merry, spilling soda, and staving off the shadow of adulthood.
One day, these brave warriors find their fun cut short by their nefarious neighbor Grindle, who can no longer tolerate the sounds of mirth seeping into his joyless adult life. As the guardian of gloom lays siege to Treeheart, scores of kids suddenly find themselves transformed into teenagers, beset by the plagues of hormones and pimples! The survivors of the onslaught cry out for a savior—a warrior whose will is unbreakable and whose appetite for mischief is unbounded. They call for Bea Wolf!

Zach Weinersmith is acclaimed creator of Saturday Morning Breakfast Cereal (smbccomics.com) an online comic with over 250,000 daily readers and over 300 million annual views. He’s the author of the New York Times bestseller Soonish.
Boulet is the critically-acclaimed French artist and cartoonist, most noted for his self published work Bouletcorp which receives over 200,000 visitors a month on the English side alone! His work has been featured on Slate, The Washington Post, The New York Times, and many more. He lives in France.

A MILLION VIEWS de Aaron Starmer

Brewster Gaines just wanted to make a video and get a million views—he didn’t count on needing friends to get there. From the author of Spontaneous and the Locker 37 series comes a heartfelt story of friendship, family, and filmmaking.

A MILLION VIEWS
by Aaron Starmer
Penguin Workshop, October 2022
(via Dystel, Goderich & Bourret)

Brewster Gaines loves everything about making videos. The planning, the filming, the editing, and especially the feeling of watching his YouTube views tick up and up. So what if he doesn’t have friends to film with or parents who are home every night for dinner? He’s got a phone and a tripod and a lofty goal: A million views. But when he enlists the acting chops of charismatic new kid Carly for a ten-second video, he gets more than he bargained for. Her intimidating friend Rosa soon steps in with funding to produce an epic fantasy trailer, and before long, their tiny team is adding cast and crew. What started as a simple shoot mutates into a full-fledged movie production, complete with method-acting cosplayers, special effects, and a monster made out of a go-kart. That’s when Brewster realizes that getting to a million views may be harder than he ever imagined . . .

Aaron Starmer was born in northern California and raised in the suburbs of Syracuse, New York. Before pursuing writing full-time, he worked in New York City for over ten years as an editor for a travel bookseller and as an operations director for an African safari company. His middle grade and young adult novels have been translated into multiple foreign languages and have appeared on best of the year lists from Time Magazine, The Wall Street Journal, New York Public Library, YALSA, Bank Street College of Education, Chicago Public Library and School Library Journal. He lives in Vermont with his wife and two daughters.

ONCE UPON ANOTHER TIME de James Riley

Storybook characters collide in this first book in a new trilogy of twisted fairy tales from New York Times bestselling author James Riley, set in the world of his popular Half Upon a Time series—perfect for fans of Fablehaven and Chris Colfer’s A Tale of Magic series!

ONCE UPON ANOTHER TIME
by James Riley
‎Aladdin, April 2022
(via Dystel, Goderich & Bourret)

Five and a half feet might seem pretty tall for a twelve-year-old, but it’s not when your parents are giants. Lena has kept the fact that she’s a tiny giant secret, using magic to grow when out in the giant village. But hiding who she is has always felt wrong, even though she knows the other giants might not accept her. Fortunately, Lena has friends down in the Cursed City who understand that looking different doesn’t make her less of a giant.
Someone who knows not to judge by appearances is Jin, a young genie currently serving one thousand and thirty-eight years of genie training that requires him to fulfill the wish of whoever holds his magical ring. In Jin’s case, it’s the power-hungry Golden King. At least the king only has two wishes left, one of which is for Jin to go to the Cursed City and capture its protector, the Last Knight—one of Lena’s closest friends.
What Lena and Jin don’t know is how close the Golden King’s plans are to coming together, between his dark magic and his horrible Faceless knights. If Jin does find the Last Knight and bring him to the Golden King, why, that could doom the entire fairy-tale world.
…This sounds like it’ll end badly, doesn’t it?

James Riley is the New York Times bestselling author of the Half Upon a Time series, The Story Thieves series, and The Revenge of Magic series for middle grade readers. In his most recent series, ONCE UPON ANOTHER TIME, which is set in the world of the popular Half Upon a Time series, storybook characters collide in a trilogy of twisted fairy tales. James lives in Northern Virginia and is currently at work on the next novel in the series.

THE HOTEL WITCH de Jessica Miller

A spellbinding middle-grade tale of determination and love. Its characters sparkle and delight. It’s a brilliantly rich magical tale that young readers will fall in love with.

THE HOTEL WITCH
by Jessica Miller
Text Publishing (Australia), March 2023

Sibyl loves possibilities, and at the Grand Mirror Hotel everything seems possible. It might even be possible that one day her grandmother will let her open the Book of Advanced and Dangerous Magic. Sibyl is the apprentice hotel witch. Under the watchful care of her grandmother she is memorising spell patterns to keep the hotel staff and guests happy. But the spells don’t always go exactly as planned: sometimes the spell to make the cakes rise works a little too well, and eclairs and chocolate cakes float up to the ceiling.
When Sibyl’s grandmother goes missing, other things mysteriously disappear from the Grand Mirror Hotel. At first, the harp doesn’t sound quite so ‘harp-y’, then the grandfather clock loses its ‘boooong’ and the Golden Nightingale, the world’s most wonderful soprano, loses her voice. When Sibyl discovers that something or someone is stealing their shadows, she knows it’s up to her to find the right spell to return them before the magic of the Grand Mirror Hotel is lost.

Jessica Miller is a children’s writer from Brisbane, currently living in Berlin. She has written for a variety of publications including Kill Your Darlings and Stilts. Her first novel, Elizabeth and Zenobia, was shortlisted for the Text Prize and the Readings Prize. It was also a CBCA Notable Book, as was her second book, The Republic of Birds.