Archives par étiquette : Dystel Goderich & Bourret

THESE DEADLY GAMES de Diana Urban

Author of ALL YOUR TWISTED SECRETS, Diana Urban’s explosive sophomore novel will keep you riveted until the final twist is revealed.

THESE DEADLY GAMES
by Diana Urban
Wednesday Books, February 2022
(via Dystel, Goderich & Bourret)

Let’s play a game. You have 24 hours to win. If you break my rules, she dies. If you call the police, she dies. If you tell your parents or anyone else, she dies. Are you ready?
When Crystal Donavan gets a message on a mysterious app with a video of her little sister gagged and bound, she agrees to play the kidnapper’s game. At first, they make her complete bizarre tasks: steal a test and stuff it in a locker, bake brownies, make a prank call.
But then Crystal realizes each task is meant to hurt–and kill–her friends, one by one. But if she refuses to play, the kidnapper will kill her sister. Is someone trying to take her team out of the running for a gaming tournament? Or have they uncovered a secret from their past, and wants them to pay for what they did…
As Crystal makes the impossible choices between her friends and her sister, she must uncover the truth and find a way to outplay the kidnapper… before it’s too late.

A Most Anticipated Book of 2022 from:
Seventeen Magazine * Buzzfeed * Book Riot * Goodreads * The Nerd Daily * She Reads

Diana Urban is an author of dark, twisty thrillers, including All Your Twisted SecretsThese Deadly Games, and Lying in the Deep (Penguin Teen, coming May 2, 2023). Her novels have been published internationally, and she’ll be featured in the Firsts and Lasts anthology (Penguin Workshop, 2023). When she’s not torturing her fictional characters, she freelances in video game narrative writing. She lives with her husband and cat in Boston and enjoys reading, playing video games, fawning over cute animals, and looking at the beach from a safe distance. 

KRAZYLAND de Mar Romasco-Moore

In this scary story for fans of Neil Gaiman, The Last Kids on Earth, and Goosebumps, the only way out is krazier than you could ever imagine…

KRAZYLAND
by Mar Romasco-Moore
Delacorte, September 2022
(via Dystel, Goderich & Bourret)

Nathan used to be terrified of Krazyland when he was a young kid. Now that he’s 12, the spooky-themed arcade games aren’t that bad. He even enjoys stomping on plastic spiders and battling a creepy doll with big plastic eyes. But things become scarier again when kids start to go missing from the entertainment park…
There’s another world exists beneath Kraztown’s ball pit. A world where the entertainment park’s games come to life. And if he isn’t careful, Nathan is going to be the next one sucked under!

Mar Romasco Moore is the author of the novels I Am the Ghost in Your House and Some Kind of Animal, as well as Ghostographs, an interconnected collection of flash fiction inspired by vintage photographs. Her stories have appeared or are forthcoming in Lightspeed, Fireside, DIAGRAM, Hobart, Interfictions, Kaleidotrope, Lady Churchill’s Rosebud Wristlet, and the anthology Women Destroy Science Fiction. She is a graduate of the Clarion West Writer’s Workshop and has an MFA from Southern Illinois University. She teaches writing at Columbus College of Art and Design.

ONCE UPON ANOTHER TIME: TALL TALES de James Riley

The second book in a new trilogy of twisted fairy tales from New York Times bestselling author James Riley, set in the world of his popular Half Upon a Time series, that’s perfect for fans of Fablehaven and Chris Colfer’s A Tale of Magic series!

ONCE UPON ANOTHER TIME: TALL TALES
by James Riley
Aladdin, September 2022
(via Dystel, Goderich & Bourret)

Lena might finally be accepted by the other giants after helping to defeat the Golden King and his faceless army in the Cursed City, but that doesn’t mean life has become any easier for her. The power-hungry Golden King wants revenge and has begun spreading shadow magic out over the kingdoms, taking over the minds of anyone it touches, and instilling fear and hatred as it goes.
The fairy queens, the most magical beings in the kingdoms, say their sacred book, Tales of All Things, claims that there is one person who can defeat the Golden King and his dark spells: Lena. But only if she first proves herself worthy by completing three challenges.
All Lena ever wanted was to prove she is really a giant. Now she has to be so much more. Can she and her genie friend, Jin, save the human world that doesn’t trust them, or will they fall prey to shadow magic, and doom everything?

James Riley lives in Virginia. He is the New York Times bestselling author of the Half Upon a Time, Story Thieves, Revenge of Magic, and Once Upon Another Time series.

DON’T CRY FOR ME de Daniel Black

A Black father makes amends with his gay son through letters written on his deathbed in this wise and penetrating novel of empathy and forgiveness, for fans of Ta-Nehisi Coates, Robert Jones Jr. and Alice Walker.

DON’T CRY FOR ME
by Daniel Black
Hanover Square Press, February 2022
(via Dystel, Goderich & Bourret)

As Jacob lies dying, he begins to write a letter to his only son, Isaac. They have not met or spoken in many years, and there are things that Isaac must know. Stories about his ancestral legacy in rural Arkansas that extend back to slavery. Secrets from Jacob’s tumultuous relationship with Isaac’s mother and the shame he carries from the dissolution of their family. Tragedies that informed Jacob’s role as a father and his reaction to Isaac’s being gay. But most of all, Jacob must share with Isaac the unspoken truths that reside in his heart. He must give voice to the trauma that Isaac has inherited. And he must create a space for the two to find peace.
With piercing insight and profound empathy, acclaimed author Daniel Black illuminates the lived experiences of Black fathers and queer sons, offering an authentic and ultimately hopeful portrait of reckoning and reconciliation. Spare as it is sweeping, poetic as it is compulsively readable, Don’t Cry for Me is a monumental novel about one family grappling with love’s hard edges and the unexpected places where hope and healing take flight.

Sad and gripping…an example of how fiction is not just a form of literature but a place. We go there for lessons on how to live, how to change and, most important, how to forgive and seek forgiveness. » —New York Times Book Review

Heartbreaking…Poignant and moving… consistently powerful.” —Publishers Weekly

DON’T CRY FOR ME a perfect song: the epistolary dirge of a man singing to his son as he faces death by cancer. At turns intense and funny, tender and brutally honest, Jacob’s letter to his son, Isaac, is revelatory. While the story is an unflinching account of a family and a community in the Black American Midwest coming of age in the modern now, it is also full of that which makes us all human, regardless of where we are from or who we are: full of fathers trying to understand sons, sons trying to understand fathers, parents feeling as if they have failed children, children realizing how they have passed their own traumas on to others and so on. It’s a beautiful book. Read it. ” —Jesmyn Ward

Daniel Black is an author and professor of African American studies and English at Clark Atlanta University. His books include The Coming, Perfect Peace and They Tell Me of a Home. He is the winner of the Distinguished Writer Award from the Middle-Atlantic Writer’s Association and has been nominated for the Townsend Prize for Fiction, the Ernest J. Gaines Award,and the Georgia Author of the Year Award. He was raised in Blackwell, Arkansas, and lives in Atlanta, Georgia.

IN THE DARK WE FORGET de Sandra SG Wong

A jolting psychological suspense novel from an up-andcoming crime writer about missing parents, a winning lottery ticket and the lies we tell ourselves in order to survive.

IN THE DARK WE FORGET
by Sandra SG Wong
‎ HarperCollins, June 2022
(via Dystel, Goderich & Bourret)

Some things are better left forgotten. . . When a woman wakes up with amnesia beside a mountain highway, confused and alone, she fights to regain her identity, only to learn that her parents have disappeared—not long after her mother bought a winning $47 million lottery ticket. As her memories painfully resurface and the police uncover details of her parents’ mysterious disappearance, Cleo Li finds herself under increasing suspicion. Even with the unwavering support of her brother, she can’t quite reconcile her fears with reality or keep the harrowing nightmares at bay. As Cleo delves deeper for the truth, she cannot escape the nagging sense that maybe the person she should be afraid of…is herself.
With jolting revelations and taut ambiguity, IN THE DARK WE FORGET vividly examines the complexities of family—and the lies we tell ourselves in order to survive.

A chilling, nerve-jangling journey into lost memories and unforgettable terrors. Sandra Wong knows what scares us all—and what we can never forget.” – Tess Gerritsen, New York Times-bestselling author of Listen to Me

« IN THE DARK WE FORGET is a hair-raising high-wire act. Wong gives us a hero whose search for her identity, and the truth of what happened to upend her life, reveals more than she wants to know, and leaves the reader gasping as much in admiration as in fear. » – Sara Paretsky, award-winning author of Dead Land

Sandra SG Wong writes fiction across genres. She is a finalist for the Crime Writers of Canada Awards of Excellence and a nominee for the Whistler Independent Book Awards. She holds an honours BA in English literature and speaks four languages at varying levels of proficiency, though she usually only curses in one of them. Sandra lives in Edmonton, Alberta, and is too often tweeting from @S_G_Wong or tweaking sgwong.com instead of writing.