THE MOSSHEART’S PROMISE de Rebecca Mix

From New York Times bestselling YA author Rebecca Mix comes this breathtaking middle-grade fantasy debut about a young fairy who has always lived in her heroic grandmother’s shadow, but now must step up and embark on a quest to save her mother from the ever-creeping mold overtaking their world. Perfect for readers who loved Brandon Mull’s Fablehaven, The City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau, and Endling: The Last by Katherine Applegate.

THE MOSSHEART’S PROMISE
by Rebecca Mix
Balzer + Bray, September 2023
(via Dystel, Goderich & Bourret)

The mold takes all.
Twelve-year-old fairy Canary Mossheart knows this better than most. A few years ago, the mold took her papa, and even her famous, former-chosen-one Gran never found a cure. So when Ary’s beloved mama falls ill, Ary decides it’s taken enough. Armed with only a bucket and a prayer, she sneaks out to find a magical, underground lake whose healing waters are straight out of Gran’s adventures.
But when Ary gets there, the lake’s bone dry, and instead of healing waters, she finds a terrifying secret: Her entire world is actually trapped inside a giant terrarium—one they were meant to leave centuries ago. Worse, Gran knew and hid the truth, dooming Ary and her generation to a dying, rotting world.
Now, allied with only her doomsday-obsessed frenemy, a timid pill bug, and a particularly grumpy newt, Ary has one week to unravel the clues and find a way out of the terrarium—or they’ll be trapped for good.

Rebecca Mix is an author of stories about messy girls, eerie magic, and hope. Her work has been featured by Barnes & Noble, Buzzfeed, Tor.com, Bustle, and Huffington Post. THE MOSSHEART’S PROMISE is her middle-grade debut. You can find her at rebeccamix.com

Print Friendly, PDF & Email