Uncover the secrets of The One That Got Away in the first book in a brand new Scottish crime fiction series by JD Kirk, author of the multi-million selling DCI Jack Logan novels.

(A DI Heather Filson Novel, #1)
by JD Kirk
Zertex Media, May 2023
(via Northbank Talent Management)

What if your worst enemy was your only hope?

When a fifteen-year-old girl fails to make it home after school, DI Heather Filson believes she’s dealing with just another teenage runaway.

The girl’s grandfather, a notorious Glasgow gangster, disagrees. Convinced one of his underworld enemies has grabbed her, he’s prepared to bathe the city in blood in order to bring his princess home.

But, as the days pass and the evidence mounts, Heather starts to fear that they’re both wrong, and that a brutal killer from the past has returned.

A killer who once stalked the streets of her hometown, preying on vulnerable young victims. A killer that DI Heather Filson is uniquely familiar with…

JD Kirk is the pen-name of award-winning former children’s author Barry Hutchison, who first turned his hand to tartan noir in early 2019 with the publication of his first DCI Jack Logan novel, A Litter of Bones. Since then, JD has written and published over a dozen novels in the series. In 2021, JD made the final shortlist of five for the Kindle Storyteller Prize, and also released three books in his Robert Hoon spin-off series, which has been described as ‘Jack Reacher meets Trainspotting.’. Born and raised in the Highlands Barry (or JD) has a unique insight into the locations featured in the DI Filson, DCI Logan, and Hoon book series.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email