Archives de catégorie : Frankfurt 2021 Adult Fiction

FIRE SEASON de Leyna Krow

A feminist novel upending the archetypal « western » in the vein of The Sisters Brothers meets Inland, set in 1889 in Washington Territory on the heels of a great fire about an inadvertently dangerous psychic and the two conmen she meets on her path to redemption.

FIRE SEASON
by Leyna Krow
‎Viking, Summer 2022
(via Levine Greenberg Rostan)

For the citizens of Spokane Falls, a fire that destroyed their frontier boomtown was no disaster; it was an opportunity. Set in 1889 in Washington Territory on the heels of this event, FIRE SEASON tells the story of three characters who seize big opportunities the fire brings, though in different ways and to different ends. Barton Heydale, manager of the city bank, uses the ensuing chaos to embark on schemes of fraud, forgery, and kidnapping. Quake Auchenbaucher, a conman, suddenly finds his career in manipulation jeopardized. And there’s Roslyn Beck, an alcoholic prostitute with the ability to see the future and with whom both men fall madly and dangerously in love. Unbeknownst to them, she has a deviant influence that, for better or worse, can change the world. As their paths collide, diverge, and collide again, these three come to terms with their own needs for power, greed, and control — leading one to total ruin, one to heartbreak, and one, ultimately, to redemption.
In the incandescent, genre-bending spirit of Eleanor Catton’s
The Luminaries, Karen Joy Fowler’s Sarah Canary, or Patrick deWitt’s The Sisters Brothers, with notes of Ottessa Moshfegh’s quick wit and wicked imagination, FIRE SEASON is playful, creepily magical, and historical, yes, but not in the traditional sense. The setting is a darkly whimsical approximation of what the Pacific Northwest was like at the end of the 19th century, and the characters may seem better suited to the modern literary fabulism of someone like Aimee Bender or Kelly Link than the wild west.

Leyna Krow’s first collection I’m Fine, But You Appear to Be Sinking (Featherproof Books, 2017) was a finalist for The Believer Book Award. Krow lives in Spokane, Washington with her husband and two children. She is at work on her second novel.

Photo credit: Young Kwak

FOR THOSE WHO ARE LOST de

On the eve of the Nazi invasion of the island of Guernsey, terrified parents have a choice to make: send their children alone to England, or keep the family together and risk whatever may come to their villages.

FOR THOSE WHO ARE LOST
by Julia Bryan Thomas
Sourcebooks Landmark, June 2022

On the island of Guernsey, as WWII looms, many islanders make the heartbreaking choice to ship their children to safety in England, not knowing when (or if) they will be reunited. Acting on faith, Ava and Joseph Simon reluctantly send their nine-year-old son Henry and four-year-old daughter Catherine with their children’s teacher Helen, who will escort them to the mainland. But Helen’s sister Lily is fleeing an abusive marriage, and, just as the ferry is about to leave, takes Helen’s place to make a new start for herself. It is Lily who takes them to England, and it is Lily who lets Henry get on a train by himself, deciding in a split second to walk the other way and take Catherine with her. That split-second decision lingers long after the war ends, impacting the rest of their lives.
Perfect for readers of
Sold on a Monday, FOR THOSE WHO ARE LOST is at once heartbreaking, thought-provoking, and uplifting.

Julia Bryan Thomas is the author of The English Boys, 2016, a Library Journal Debut of the Month novel, and Penhale Wood, 2017, which earned starred reviews from Kirkus Reviews and Library Journal. She lives in Oklahoma.

THE DEEPEST BLACK de Randall Silvis

Three dead. And more to come… A fascinating blend of fact and fiction pushes the boundaries of the crime fiction category and will keep readers guessing on every page.

THE DEEPEST BLACK
by Randall Silvis
Poisoned Pen Press/Sourcebooks, August 2022

A triple homicide in a small Pennsylvania town is no small event. And when one of the locals is a writer with a hefty dose of curiosity, the secrets that people have been trying their best to hide never stay hidden for long… Acclaimed author Randall Silvis pushes the boundaries of crime fiction with THE DEEPEST BLACK, a gripping and twisty novel written in the style of a true crime memoir that blends fact and fiction and leaves the reader guessing every step of the way.

Randall Silvis is the internationally acclaimed author of more than a dozen novels, including Two Days Gone and the other Ryan DeMarco mysteries. His essays, articles, poems, and short stories have appeared in various online and print magazines. His work has been translated into ten languages. He lives in Pennsylvania.

THE BOOK WOMAN’S DAUGHTER de Kim Michele Richardson

Bestselling historical fiction author Kim Michele Richardson is back with the perfect book club read following Honey Lovett, the daughter of the beloved Troublesome book woman, who must fight for her own independence with the help of the women who guide her and the books that set her free. A stunning companion to The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek.

THE BOOK WOMAN’S DAUGHTER
by Kim Michele Richardson
‎ Sourcebooks Landmark, May 2022

In the ruggedness of the beautiful Kentucky mountains, Honey Lovett has always known that the old ways can make a hard life harder. As the daughter of the famed blue-skinned, Troublesome Creek packhorse librarian, Honey and her family have been hiding from the law all her life. But when her mother and father are imprisoned, Honey realizes she must fight to stay free, or risk being sent away for good.
Picking up her mother’s old packhorse library route, Honey begins to deliver books to the remote hollers of Appalachia. Honey is looking to prove that she doesn’t need anyone telling her how to survive. But the route can be treacherous, and some folks aren’t as keen to let a woman pave her own way.
If Honey wants to bring the freedom books provide to the families who need it most, she’s going to have to fight for her place, and along the way, learn that the extraordinary women who run the hills and hollers can make all the difference in the world.

« In Kim Michele Richardson’s beautifully and authentically rendered THE BOOK WOMAN’S DAUGHTER she once again paints a stunning portrait of the raw, somber beauty of Appalachia, the strong resolve of remarkable women living in a world dominated by men, and the power of books and sisterhood to prevail in the harshest circumstances. A critical and profoundly important read for our time. Badassery womanhood at its best! » –Sara Gruen, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Water for Elephants

New York Times, Los Angeles Times and USA Today bestselling author, Kim Michele Richardson, is a multiple-award winning author who has written five works of historical fiction, and a bestselling memoir. Kim Michele was born and raised in Kentucky and lives there with her family and beloved dogs. She is also the founder of Shy Rabbit, a writers residency and scholarship implemented for low-income writers.

Les droits de langue française de The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek sont également disponibles.

 

ALWAYS THE FIRST TO DIE de R.J. Jacobs

The Guest List with a 90s slasher edge that begs the question: who will survive when your most famous horror movie comes to life? This book offers a fascinating and immersive look at what it would be like to be on the set of a classic 90s slasher. Perfect for fans of Riley Sager and Lucy Foley.

ALWAYS THE FIRST TO DIE
by R.J. Jacobs
Sourcebooks Landmark, September 2022

After her husband’s death, Lexi has refused to return to the Pinecrest Estate on the Florida Keys, too many hard memories on the tiny strip of land. Memories of meeting her husband as a teenager on the set of an iconic horror movie shot at the dilapidated manor house. Of being cast as an extra, of watching herself get killed on screen. And of scoffing at the rumors of the Pinecrest Estate “curse,” until she witnessed a cast member die that very summer. But when her daughter insists on visiting her grandfather, legendary horror movie director Rick Plummer, Lexi finally agrees. That’s when a Category Four hurricane changes course, and hits the southern coast.
Unable to get through to her daughter, Lexi drives to the Keys in the wake of the storm. What she finds is an island without cell service, without power, and with limited police presence. A desolate bit of land, with only a few remaining behind: the horror director, the starlet once cast as the final girl, the young teenager searching for clues of her father, the mother determined to get off the island, and…the person picking them off one-by-one.

R. J. Jacobs has practiced as a psychologist since 2003. He maintains a private practice in Nashville, focusing on a wide variety of clinical concerns. After completing a post-doctoral residency at Vanderbilt, he has taught Abnormal Psychology, presented at numerous conferences, and routinely performs PTSD evaluations for veterans. He’s the author of And Then You Were Gone and Somewhere in the Dark, published by Crooked Lane.