Archives par étiquette : Context Literary Agency

RED AS BLOOD de Sorboni Banerjee & Dominique Richardson

The first in a new young adult series that is fairytales meet thrillers set in the world of the ultra-rich.

RED AS BLOOD
by Sorboni Banerjee & Dominique Richardson
Wise Wolf Press, Spring 2023
(via Context Literary)

Penny Zale is missing. Disappeared from the psychiatric hospital to which her parents had her committed. Raven Snow, Aarya Samudra, and Dawn Thorne were Pennys best friends. Or so they thought. Until Elle Glass shows up with letters that Penny wrote before she disappeared. Letters that point to a mystery Penny was involved in and had never told them about, and a secret so dark it threatens to rip their enchanted lives apart.Raven, Aarya, and Dawn have always lived in a world of privilege. But as they, along with Elle, try to unravel the mystery of what happened to their friend, they are drawn into a world where life is expendable and where power and money mean everything.

Sorboni Banerjee is a Bengali-American author and Emmy Award winning television news reporter and anchor. Sorboni is also the host of The Lead, an online talk show featuring authors, aimed at inspiring positive change and achieving big dreams.
Dominique Richardson is a Lebanese-Jamaican former CPA who spends her free time writing and passing on her love of unicorns to her twin boys. Dominique presents #DomsDownload on The Lead, breaking down books that help people live their best lives.

A BRIGHT HEART de Kate Chenli

A debut young adult fantasy inspired by classic Chinese tropes.

A BRIGHT HEART
by Kate Chenli
with an introduction by Francis Spufford
Union Square Press, Fall 2023
(via Context Literary)

Mingshin is murdered by the prince she loved, the man she helped become king. But as she is dying, she prays for time to turn back so she can have a chance to make things right. Her prayer is granted. When Mingshin wakes up two years earlier, she swears two things: She will do whatever it takes to prevent Ren from becoming king and she will never fall in love. But it isn’t easy to stop a man who is willing to lie, steal, kill, and even give his soul to the most evil form of magic. And it isn’t easy to prevent falling in love with a good man. Even if that man is Ren’s brother, who is also in competition for the throne.

Kate Chenli is has a Master’s degree in Computer Engineering, but has always enjoyed creating elaborate worlds and characters more than designing complex software. Besides reading and writing, her passion is world travel (four continents down and counting.)

THE BRIDGE KINGDOM de Danielle L. Jensen

What if you fell in love with the one person you’d sworn to destroy? Passionate and violent, THE BRIDGE KINGDOM is a seductive fantasy perfect for fans of From Blood and Ash and A Court of Thorns and Roses.

THE BRIDGE KINGDOM (Book 1)
by Danielle L. Jensen
William Morrow, August 2022
(via Context Literary)

A warrior princess trained in isolation, Lara is driven by two certainties. The first is that King Aren of the Bridge Kingdom is her enemy. And the second is that she’ll be the one to bring him to his knees.
The only route through a storm-ravaged world, the Bridge Kingdom enriches itself and deprives its rivals, including Lara’s homeland. So when she’s sent as a bride under the guise of peace, Lara is prepared to do whatever it takes to fracture its impenetrable defenses. And the defenses of its king.
Yet as she infiltrates her new home and gains a deeper understanding of the war to possess the bridge, Lara begins to question whether she’s the hero or the villain. And as her feelings for Aren transform from frosty hostility to fierce passion, Lara must choose which kingdom she’ll save… and which kingdom she’ll destroy.

An epic, action-packed tale of love, revenge, and betrayal.” —Jennifer Estep, New York Times bestselling author of Kill the Queen 
“Exquisite, phenomenal, and sexy, THE BRIDGE KINGDOM is the epitome of fantasy romance perfection. I adored Jensen’s world and characters. Aren and Lara were magnificent individually and together, a couple you’ll root for from beginning to end. »—Olivia Wildenstein
USA Today bestselling author of Feather

Danielle L. Jensen is the USA Today bestselling author of The Malediction Novels: Stolen Songbird, Hidden Huntress, Warrior Witch, and The Broken Ones, as well as the Bridge Kingdom series and the Dark Shores series. She lives with her family in Calgary, Alberta.

AVIVA VS. THE DYBBUK de Mari Lowe

A compelling, tender middle-grade story about friendship and community, grief and healing, and one indomitable girl who somehow manages to connect them all.

AVIVA VS. THE DYBBUK
by Mari Lowe
Levine Querido, February 2022
(via Context Literary)

A long ago « accident. » An isolated girl named Aviva. A community that wants to help, but doesn’t know how. And a ghostly dybbuk, that no one but Aviva can see, causing mayhem and mischief that everyone blames on her. That is the setting for this suspenseful novel of a girl who seems to have lost everything, including her best friend Kayla, and a mother who was once vibrant and popular, but who now can’t always get out of bed in the morning. As tensions escalate in the Jewish community of Beacon with incidents of vandalism and a swastika carved into new concrete poured near the synagogue, so does the tension grow between Aviva and Kayla and the girls at their school, and so do the actions of the dybbuk grow worse.
Could real harm be coming Aviva’s way? And is it somehow related to the « accident » that took her father years ago?

Mari Lowe has too little free time and spends it all on writing and escape rooms. As the daughter of a rabbi and a middle school teacher at an Orthodox Jewish school, she looks forward to sharing little glimpses into her community with her books. She lives in New York with her family, menagerie of pets, and robotic vacuum.

THE FAMILY IZQUIERDO de Rubén Degollado

An extraordinary debut literary fiction from a new Latino voice that explores the intersection of cultural expectations and family dynamics.

THE FAMILY IZQUIERDO
by Rubén Degollado
Norton, Spring 2022

Through the lens of its patriarch, THE FAMILY IZQUIERDO deftly weaves together the lives of different members of the Izquierdo clan to paint the picture of a Mexican-American family bound together by love, and a curse. From young love to a failing marriage, from a mother afraid to leave her house to a young woman moving far from her family to try to find her way, Papa Tavo watches as his children and grandchildren try to navigate their way through a confusing and painful world. But it’s hard when a neighbor’s black magic hechizos affect their ability to live their lives.

Rubén Degollado’s stories have appeared in Beloit Fiction Journal, Gulf Coast, Hayden’s Ferry Review, and Image. He has been a contest finalist in American Short Fiction, Bellingham Review, and Glimmer Train.