Archives par étiquette : Penguin Books for Young Readers

PAWS #2: MINDY MAKES SOME SPACE de Nathan Fairbairn & Michele Assarasakorn

Are you a fan of Raina Telgemeier or Shannon Hale? Then you won’t want to miss the second book in this graphic novel series that’s the Baby-Sitters Club for pets! Your favorite dog-walkers are back with even more cute animals—and even more friendship and family drama—in this funny and heartwarming story perfect for fans of Real Friends, Roller Girl, and Allergic!

PAWS #2: MINDY MAKES SOME SPACE
by Nathan Fairbairn
illustrated by Michele Assarasakorn
Razorbill/ Penguin Young Readers, November 2022

Best friends Mindy Park, Gabby Jordan, and Priya Gupta are back in business! After a few ups and downs, their dog-walking business is booming and the girls are closer than ever. It’s a dream come true!
But for Mindy, things at home are beginning to feel like a bit of a nightmare. Her mom just started dating someone, which has Mindy feeling like the odd one out. For as long as she can remember, it’s been just the two of them and she doesn’t want that to change. (So what if her mom’s boyfriend has a cute pet cat, and all of Mindy’s friends seem to think he’s pretty cool?)
And things only get worse when a new student named Hazel arrives in class and seems totally into joining PAWS. Sharing her mom feels bad enough, so there’s no way Mindy’s is going to share her best friends and her business, too! But when Mindy’s stubbornness starts to hurt everyone around her, will she be able to overcome her fears and learn that change doesn’t have to be a cat-tastrophe?

Reminiscent of Ann M. Martin’s The Baby-Sitters Club, this series starter will be a surefire hit with Raina Telgemeier fans and any reader seeking a solid friendship story. Laugh-out-loud funny and full of heart.” School Library Journal, starred review

The story is refreshingly inclusive in its depiction of its distinctive characters and their families, offering a reflection of the world that many readers will find familiar. With expressive faces and body language, the artwork poignantly emphasizes the ups and downs of the girls’ experiences. This truly heartwarming story about friendship (and lots and lots of dogs) is a great choice for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Shannon Hale.” Booklist

« What’s a bigger, tougher balance of fun and responsibility than animals? Friends, maybe. And I was really rooting for the three girls from PAWS as they struggled to navigate both. I liked this book a lot! » —Dana Simpson, New York Times bestselling creator of the Phoebe and Her Unicorn series

Nathan Fairbairn is a New York Times bestselling and Eisner-nominated creator who has worked as a colorist for such iconic characters as Spider-Man, Batman, Wonder Woman, and Scott Pilgrim. He’s also co-creator, writer, and colorist of the graphic novel Lake of Fire. He started writing PAWS, his middle-grade debut, as a way to share his passion for comics and storytelling with his daughter. Nathan lives with his family in Vancouver.
Michele Assarasakorn (also known as MSASSYK) is colorist who worked on comic series such as Eisner-nominated Isola, Gotham Academy, and the Magnificent Ms. Marvel. Originally from Bangkok, Thailand, Michele now calls Vancouver home but also likes to travel the world working remotely as an artist.

FLORA’S WISH de Fiona Halliday

A picture book about friendship and loss, in which a shy little mouse learns about bravery after her dandelion friend fades and departs, leaving behind only wishes.

FLORA’S WISH
by Fiona Halliday
Dial/ Penguin Young Readers, August 2023

Flora the field mouse was a boldly whiskered liontamer! Although it wasn’t very hard to be bold and brave with her best friend Lion (a dandelion) by her side. But as the seasons change, Lion’s whiskers go from a bright yellow to shimmering silver, until one day, he scatters in the wind completely. Can Flora still be brave without Lion by her side?

Fiona Halliday loves all things finned, furred, feathered and fantastical. She studied English Literature at Edinburgh University and received a MA in Photojournalism from the University of Westminster, London. She has been a freelance journalist and photographer, an ESL teacher, and an organist. Originally from Scotland, she now lives in Austria.

THE BEST FLOWER EVER de Neesha Hudson

A spare and laugh-out-loud funny picture book about appreciating what you have and learning to grow with the help of friends.

THE BEST FLOWER EVER
by Neesha Hudson
Dial/ Penguin Young Readers, June 2023

An Australian shepherd thinks he has the most special flower in the world. He loves the way it smells and how soft it is and how the petals tickle his nose. But one by one, more dogs show up with flowers that seem to be even more special than his! A humongous sunflower with a bejeweled pot? A plant that can survive in the desert? How could his little flower compete against those? But when he accidentally destroys his flower, this pup learns that just because other flowers are special doesn’t mean his can’t be too. 

Neesha Hudson is a freelance author-illustrator living on the coast of Maine. She is delighted to spend most of her days drawing funny little characters and sipping black tea. She is the author-illustrator of Turtle in a Tree, and when not illustrating, Neesha enjoys spending time with her husband, their two children, two dogs, and four chickens.

HELLAWEEN de Moss Lawton

The first in a new middle-grade graphic novel series, featuring over-the-top action and excitement—and a superpower all kids dream of having.

HELLAWEEN
by Moss Lawton
Razorbill/ Penguin Young Readers, August 2023

Learning to become a witch can be difficult. Luckily, Gwen has Sloane (a werewolf) and Miles (a vampire). Except they’re not from this world… they’re from the Hallowlands, a realm with monsters. With the help of a new wand and a grimoire, Gwen’s hoping her friends will see that she’s ready to return with them to the Hallowlands. But Gwen hadn’t counted on running into Hiro, a local kid who’s just a little too obsessed with monster-hunting, and his mission to rid his town of evil.

Moss Lawton is a combination Dracula/Storyboard and Comic artist from the Bay Area, based in Los Angeles. Since graduating from San Jose State they have worked at major studios such as Netflix, Nickelodeon, Cartoon Network, Warner Animation Group, Disney TV and Dreamworks TV. Moss has also worked on projects such as Monsters at Work, Trollhunters: Rise of the Titans and LEGO Movie 2.

THE YEAR LIFE WENT DOWN THE TOILET de Jake Maia Arlow

A hilariously honest book about surviving middle school while navigating a chronic illness from the Stonewall Honor-winning author of Almost Flying. When Al is diagnosed with Crohn’s disease, she thinks her life is over, but then she joins a support group for other middle schoolers with IBD. Her new friends help her navigate life in seventh grade.

THE YEAR LIFE WENT DOWN THE TOILET
by Jake Maia Arlow
Dial/ Penguin Young Readers, August 2023

Twelve-year-old Al Schneider is too scared to talk about the two biggest things in her life:
1. Her stomach hurts all the time and she has no idea why.
2. She’s almost definitely 100% sure she likes girls.
So she holds it in…until she can’t. After nearly having an accident of the lavatorial variety in gym class, Al finds herself getting a colonoscopy and an answer—she has Crohn’s disease.
But rather than solving all her problems, Al’s diagnosis just makes everything worse. It’s scary and embarrassing. And worst of all, everyone wants her to talk about it—her overprotective mom, her best friend, and most annoyingly her gastroenterologist, who keeps trying to get her to go to a support group for kids with similar chronic illnesses. But, who wants to talk about what you do in the bathroom?
The Year My Life Went Down the Toilet is a wildly funny and honest story about finding community, telling the truth even when it’s hard, and the many indignities of middle school life.  

Jake Maia Arlow is a podcast producer, writer, and bagel connoisseur. She studied evolutionary biology and creative writing (not as different as you might think) at Barnard College. They live with their girlfriend and their loud cat in the Pacific Northwest.