Archives de catégorie : Music

UNTITLED ON TAYLOR SWIFT de Stephanie Burt

A leading literary and pop culture critic looks at Taylor Swift at the height of her success.

UNTITLED ON TAYLOR SWIFT
by Stephanie Burt
Basic Books, TBD
(via Frances Goldin Literary Agency)

Based on her forthcoming course at Harvard University, the announcement of which received major media coverage from around the world, UNTITLED ON TAYLOR SWIFT will be the first serious work of cultural criticism about Taylor Swift as an artist and creator, touching on girlhood, fame, privilege, costume, economics, song and stagecraft, and the author’s own transition to womanhood. In the vein of Sarah Smarsh’s She Come By It Natural, on Dolly Parton, or Touré’s I Would Die 4 U: Why Prince Became an Icon, Burt’s book will be an appreciation and analysis of one of the most influential pop stars of a generation.

Stephanie Burt is a poet, literary critic, and professor with nine published books, including Close Calls with Nonsense (Graywolf Press, 2009) which was a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award. Her most recent poetry collection is We Are Mermaids (Graywolf, 2022). Her culture writing has appeared in many venues including The New Yorker, The Guardian, The New Republic, The Nation, the London Review of Books and TLS. She is a Guggenheim award winner and the Donald P. and Katherine B. Loker Professor of English at Harvard University.

SHOWSTOPPER de Tom Ramsay

A joyful and hilarious queer YA romance set in the mad mad world of musical theatre.

SHOWSTOPPER
by Tom Ramsay
TBA
(via Randle Editorial & Literary Consultancy)

In the bright lights of the West End, a competition – and romance – is heating up to bring the drama, plot twists and exhilarating highs that only musical theatre can.

Gregarious giant Olly is back at the UK’s most prestigious competition for teen performers to prove he has what it takes to be a leading man after he was sabotaged last year; determined to stand out like his favourite Broadway diva Bernadette Peters.

Nervous novice Tarun would rather be anywhere other than centre stage. Nominated after stepping into his school show under much duress; he’s been blackmailed into attending by his Mum and mates and knows nothing about musicals. As far as he’s concerned, ‘Chicago’ is somewhere you get deep dish pizza, and ‘Hairspray’ is something you buy in Boots.

So when the two boys get paired to share a hotel room, Olly can’t comprehend sharing with someone who doesn’t live and breathe the magical world of musicals, whilst Tarun thinks Olly is “way too much” and cannot decipher a single one of his references. But as they get to talking, they discover they’ve more in common than the opening number might reveal. Amidst the drama of rehearsals, could two boys be falling in love?

The novel is filled to the brim with humour, drama and queer joy, and is a laugh-out-loud page-turner that will be appreciated and embraced both by musical theatre fans and by those who are more sceptical. The love of musicals is irresistibly infectious, as is the romance, and it is perfect for readers who loved Heartstopper, Gay Club, and those who are re-discovering Glee (as well as those who remember it the first time around!)

Tom Ramsay works for a West End Producer as Literary Manager and Dramaturg, looking after new work and writers of theatre for the company. This role has included working on an Olivier-nominated play and helping to translate a musical about the life of Marie Curie from Korean to English. In his own writing, he is passionate about telling queer stories with the hope and optimism that he longed to find on bookshelves growing up, with a touch of theatrical magic for good measure.

LUCKY de Jane Smiley

From the best-selling, Pulitzer Prize–winning writer, a soaring, soulful novel for readers of Daisy Jones and The Six about a folk musician who rises to fame across our changing times.

LUCKY
by Jane Smiley
Knopf, April 2024)
(via The Friedrich Agency)

Before Jodie Rattler became a folk sensation, she was just a little girl who struck lucky at a racetrack. That roll of two-dollar bills she won has never left her side since. Jodie comes of age in recording studios, backstage, and on tour, and tries to hold her own in the wake of Janis Joplin, Joan Baez, Judy Collins, and Joni Mitchell. Yet it feels like something is missing.

Full of atmosphere, shot through with longing and exuberance, romance and rock’n’roll, Lucky is a colorful portrait of one woman’s journey in search of herself.

Jane Smiley is the author of numerous novels, including A Thousand Acres, which was awarded the Pulitzer Prize, and most recently, Some Luck, Early Warning, and Golden Age. A member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters, she has also received the PEN Center USA Lifetime Achievement Award for Literature. She lives in Northern California.

SUPREME SIRENS de Marcellas Reynolds

A stunning photography book that explores the power, rebellion, and resilience held within the voices of trailblazing Black female musicians.

SUPREME SIRENS:
Iconic Black Women Who Revolutionized Music
by Marcellas Reynolds
Abrams, Spring 2023

From the author of Supreme Models and Supreme Actresses comes the third installment of the celebrated series, SUPREME SIRENS: Iconic Black Women Who Revolutionized Music. This will be the first-ever art book to honor the Black female singers and musicians who dominate the music industry.
SUPREME SIRENS
chronicles the most influential and successful Black performers—from legendary jazz chanteuse Billie Holiday to the queen of soul Aretha Franklin and from glamorous girl groups such as the Supremes to modern, iconic superstars including Beyoncé, Rihanna, and Janet Jackson. Through exquisite photographs, personal interviews, short biographies, and career milestones, Reynolds details how these women’s music and careers have become the soundtrack of our lives.
SUPREME SIRENS
shares the power and wisdom of women who are at the forefront of entertainment; women who have overcome racial prejudices and redefined contemporary notions of Black women by breaking glass ceilings and tearing down racial barriers in the recording studio and on stage and screen.

Marcellas Reynolds is a Los Angeles–based entertainment reporter and celebrity fashion stylist with editorials in British GQ, Grazia, InStyle, British Vogue, and more. Reynolds, the author of Supreme Models and Supreme Actresses, is also the executive producer of Supreme Models, the documentary airing on Vogue’s YouTube channel. He regularly appears on ABC, CBS, CNN, E!, NBC, and the UK’s ITV. His recent television appearances have included Access Hollywood, Soul of a Nation: Screen Queens Rising, the Tamron Hall Show, and Bravo’s Watch What Happens Live!

HALF DEAF, COMPLETELY MAD de Tony Cohen & John Olson

This exuberant, tragic memoir of master music producer-engineer Tony Cohen is an extraordinary cultural message in a bottle.

HALF DEAF, COMPLETELY MAD
by Tony Cohen & John Olson
Black Inc., November 2022

This is a book about making art and the transgressions that might occur in doing so. Tony helped define the sounds of innumerable Australian bands from the 1970s through to the 2000s, and his always entertaining stories are hilarious, incisive and self-deprecating. Tony’s work with Nick Cave and his three bands – The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, The Bad Seeds – comprises a large part of this memoir. There are also indelible stories of: Chrissy Amphlett/Divinyls, Beasts of Bourbon, Blondie, Cold Chisel, The Cruel Sea, Dirty Three, The Go-Betweens, Hoodoo Gurus, Michael Hutchence, Paul Kelly, Men at Work, Mixed Relations, The Saints, Split Enz … This is vastly entertaining fly-on-the-wall account of a life lived LOUD.

Like many geniuses, [Tony] was a nightmare to work with. But you came back again and again because he was just so good, everything he did was so unique and bold and startling. He was a master at both what not to do in the studio and what to do in the studio. For example – don’t set fire to the studio, don’t sleep in the air-conditioning vents, don’t not show up to the sessions for days at a time, but conversely – do record music like your very life depended on it, do create sounds that no-one has ever heard before …” —Nick Cave

Tony Cohen was perhaps Australia’s most original and influential record producer. He helped define the sounds of innumerable Australian bands (many of whom went on to find new lives in the UK and Europe) from the 1970s through to the 2000s, until his untimely death in August 2017.
John Olson is a producer and engineer, who interviewed Tony Cohen and assembled this account of his life and times.