Archives de catégorie : Speculative Fiction

THE NOBODIES d’Alanna Schubach

The story of two young women whose friendship offered—and demanded—more than either should share. A powerful exploration of the boundaries between ourselves and those we are closest to that poses questions about the nature of intimacy, the many flavors of betrayal, and the value of female friendships. For fans of Sally Rooney and Claire North.

THE NOBODIES
by Alanna Schubach
Blackstone Publishing, June 2022
(via Sterling Lord)

When they meet as children, Nina and Jess form a strong bond, one that quickly intensifies when they discover they share an extraordinary power: they can swap bodies. As they grow older, they use this ability to steal into each other’s lives, unearthing secrets and betraying confidences. Nina, introspective and self-conscious, is seduced by the turbulence of Jess’ life, but also possessive of her bolder friend. Jess, meanwhile, envies the stability of Nina’s world, and wishes to seize it for herself. Now, Jess has re-entered Nina’s life after a long separation. She is in crisis after her father’s death, and says she needs Nina’s help, but Nina fears she may try to take far more than that. Over the course of this novel, they reckon with the truth, the beauty, and the horror of walking in another person’s shoes.
THE NOBODIES is the story of a power struggle that poses questions about the nature of intimacy, the power of female friendships, the extent to which we can ever “know” someone, and if in possessing another, we might transcend ourselves.

Alanna Schubach is a fiction writer, freelance journalist, and teacher. She was named a NYC Emerging Writers Fellow with the Center for Fiction in 2019, and a Fellow in Fiction with the New York Foundation for the Arts in 2015. She was awarded a residency at the Vermont Studio Center in 2017. Her short stories have appeared in Electric Literature, The Lifted Brow, Post Road, and more. She earned an MFA in Creative Writing from Sarah Lawrence College. She served as Contributing Editor for Brick Underground and has contributed essays, features, criticism, opinion, and profiles to The Washington Post, The Atlantic, Al Jazeera, Jezebel, Dame, The Village Voice, and more. She teaches fiction and non-fiction for the Gotham Writers Workshop.

THE OTHER VALLEY de Scott Alexander Howard

Written in exquisite, spare prose, this literary debut novel is a cross between Kazuo Ishiguro’s speculative work, the clever fabulism of Ted Chiang, and the heart-rending search for where it all went wrong in Matt Haig’s The Midnight Library.

THE OTHER VALLEY
by Scott Alexander Howard
Atria/Simon & Schuster, Spring 2024
(via Frances Goldin Literary Agency)

Sixteen-year-old Odile Ozanne is an awkward, quiet girl, but everyone knows she’s destined to land a coveted seat on the Conseil. In her apprenticeship, she competes to become one of the judges to decide who amongst the town’s residents may travel across the border. If she earns the position, she’ll decree who may be escorted deep into the woods, who may cross the border’s barbed wire fence, who may make the arduous trek over the western mountain range — or perhaps the eastern range—to descend into the next valley over. It’s the same valley, the same town. However, to the east, the town is twenty years ahead in time. To the west, it’s twenty years behind. The towns repeat in an endless sequence across the wilderness. The only border crossings permitted by the Conseil are mourning tours: furtive viewings of the dead in towns where the dead are still alive.
Odile, wise beyond her years, will surely pass the Conseil’s vetting. But when she happens upon a mourning tour she wasn’t supposed to see, she realizes her dear friend Edme’s parents have crossed the border from the east, from twenty years in the future, to view their son still alive in Odile’s present.
Edme, who’s so funny and light. Edme, who’s a violin virtuoso at just sixteen! Edme, who’s the first boy to even see Odile, to really like her…. And it’s Edme who’s going to die.
Sworn to secrecy by the Conseil in order to preserve the timeline, Odile finds herself drawn even closer to the doomed boy. When Edme dies far sooner than Odile expects, when she does nothing to thwart his fate, she’s deeply shaken. The loss, her foreknowledge, the weight of her rare and varied grief all throw Odile’s own future, her adult life, into a devastating, downward spiral.
If your soul was stricken by the years, your teeth bloodied from all of life’s blows, would you risk being seen by the armed patrols, would you gamble with everyone’s lives, with your own, with the annihilation of an entire timeline to hike across the border and get back to where it all went wrong?
THE OTHER VALLEY is a dark, modern fable about time and fate. Readers will rush breathlessly to the end to see if the spark of hope in their hearts for Odile will grow again into the bright promise of her youth—or collapse into unchangeable catastrophe.

Scott Alexander Howard has a PhD in philosophy from the University of Toronto, where he wrote an award-winning dissertation on literary emotions and the passage of time. His articles have appeared in journals such as Philosophical Quarterly and Analysis. Upon completing a postdoctoral fellowship at Harvard, he decided to pursue fiction. He now lives in Vancouver.

MY MURDER de Katie Williams

A propulsive, darkly comic novel, set in the near future, in which a young mother is cloned and brought back to life following her own murder, but comes to suspect that there is more to the story of her life and death than anyone is telling her.

MY MURDER
by Katie Williams
‎Riverhead, Fall 2023
(via Sterling Lord Literistic)

Lou is a happily married mother of an adorable toddler. She’s also the clone of the original Louise who, along with four other victims of a local serial killer, has been brought back to life by a government project to return the women to their grieving families. But as the new Lou re-adapts to her old life and attends a support group for murdered women, questions surface about what exactly preceded her death, and how much to trust those around her. Understanding the truth may determine what comes next for Lou.
Darkly comic, set in the near future, MY MURDER offers an exploration of ideas about personal identity, domestic life, and reinvention, within a suspenseful, surprising, and entertaining mystery.

Katie Williams is the author of the novel Tell the Machine Goodnight, a Kirkus Prize finalist, New York Times Editors’ Choice, and NPR Best Books of 2018. She is also the author of the young adult novels Absent and The Space Between Trees. Her short fiction has appeared in The Atlantic, Best American Fantasy, American Short Fiction, Prairie Schooner, Subtropics, and elsewhere. Katie is an assistant professor in fiction writing at Emerson College in Boston.

ALL THAT’S LEFT IN THE WORLD d’Erik J. Brown

Jamie and Andrew are strangers, and two of the last people left alive. They don’t know what they’ll find on their perilous journey … but they may just find each other. What If It’s Us meets Life as We Knew It in this postapocalyptic, queer YA adventure romance from debut author Erik J. Brown. Perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Alex London.

ALL THAT’S LEFT IN THE WORLD
by Erik J. Brown
Balzer + Bray, March 2022
(via Dystel, Goderich & Bourret)

When Andrew stumbles upon Jamie’s house, he’s injured, starved, and has nothing left to lose. A deadly pathogen has killed off most of the world’s population, including everyone both boys have ever loved. And if this new world has taught them anything, it’s to be scared of what other desperate people will do . . . so why does it seem so easy for them to trust each other?
After danger breaches their shelter, they flee south in search of civilization. But something isn’t adding up about Andrew’s story, and it could cost them everything. And Jamie has a secret, too. He’s starting to feel something more than friendship for Andrew, adding another layer of fear and confusion to an already tumultuous journey.
The road ahead of them is long, and to survive, they’ll have to shed their secrets, face the consequences of their actions, and find the courage to fight for the future they desire, together. Only one thing feels certain: all that’s left in their world is the undeniable pull they have toward each other.

Erik J. Brown is a Lambda Literary Emerging Writers Fellow and a Temple University graduate with a degree in writing and media arts. When not writing genre-blending books for young adults, he enjoys traveling and embarking on the relentless quest of appeasing his Shiba Inu. Erik lives in Philadelphia with his husband.

AN ARROW TO THE MOON d’Emily X.R. Pan

Romeo and Juliet meets Chinese mythology in this magical novel by the New York Times bestselling author of The Astonishing Color of After.

AN ARROW TO THE MOON
by Emily X.R. Pan
Little, Brown BYR, April 2022
(via Dystel, Goderich & Bourret)

Hunter Yee has perfect aim with a bow and arrow, but all else in his life veers wrong. He’s sick of being haunted by his family’s past mistakes. The only things keeping him from running away are his little brother, a supernatural wind, and the bewitching girl at his new high school.
Luna Chang dreads the future. Graduation looms ahead, and her parents’ expectations are stifling. When she begins to break the rules, she finds her life upended by the strange new boy in her class, the arrival of unearthly fireflies, and an ominous crack spreading across the town of Fairbridge.
As Hunter and Luna navigate their families’ enmity and secrets, everything around them begins to fall apart. All they can depend on is their love…but time is running out, and fate will have its way.
AN ARROW TO THE MOON, Emily X.R. Pan’s brilliant and ethereal follow-up to
The Astonishing Color of After, is a story about family, love, and the magic and mystery of the moon that connects us all.

« Emily X.R. Pan’s brilliantly crafted, harrowing first novel portrays the vast spectrum of love and grief with heart-wrenching beauty and candor. This is a very special book. » ―John Green, bestselling author of The Fault in Our Stars and Turtles All the Way Down

« Magic and mourning, love and loss, secrets kept and secrets revealed all illuminate Emily X.R. Pan’s inventive and heart-wrenching debut. » ―Gayle Forman, bestselling author of If I Stay and I Was Here

« A lovely, lyrical exploration of how a poignant Chinese myth might play out in a contemporary setting. » ―Kirkus

« Expansive, third-person chapters—including some from the adults’ perspectives—and snippets of lore create a contemporary telling with an otherworldly, age-old feel in this cleverly conceived novel. » ―Publishers Weekly

« Emily X.R. Pan beautifully depicts grief in all its complexities: the numbing sadness, the rage, the confusion, and, most hauntingly, the joy. » ―Bustle.com

Emily X.R. Pan is the New York Times bestselling author of The Astonishing Color of After, which won the APALA Honor Award and the Walter Honor Award, received six starred reviews, was an L.A. Times Book Prize finalist, and was longlisted for the Carnegie Medal, among other accolades. NBC News called the novel “moving and poetic” and the Wall Street Journal named it as one of the top twelve books of the season. Emily is also co-creator of the Foreshadow anthology. She currently lives on Lenape land in Brooklyn, New York, but was originally born in the Midwestern United States to immigrant parents from Taiwan.