Archives par étiquette : Sterling Lord Literistic

THE NOBODIES d’Alanna Schubach

The story of two young women whose friendship offered—and demanded—more than either should share. A powerful exploration of the boundaries between ourselves and those we are closest to that poses questions about the nature of intimacy, the many flavors of betrayal, and the value of female friendships. For fans of Sally Rooney and Claire North.

THE NOBODIES
by Alanna Schubach
Blackstone Publishing, June 2022
(via Sterling Lord)

When they meet as children, Nina and Jess form a strong bond, one that quickly intensifies when they discover they share an extraordinary power: they can swap bodies. As they grow older, they use this ability to steal into each other’s lives, unearthing secrets and betraying confidences. Nina, introspective and self-conscious, is seduced by the turbulence of Jess’ life, but also possessive of her bolder friend. Jess, meanwhile, envies the stability of Nina’s world, and wishes to seize it for herself. Now, Jess has re-entered Nina’s life after a long separation. She is in crisis after her father’s death, and says she needs Nina’s help, but Nina fears she may try to take far more than that. Over the course of this novel, they reckon with the truth, the beauty, and the horror of walking in another person’s shoes.
THE NOBODIES is the story of a power struggle that poses questions about the nature of intimacy, the power of female friendships, the extent to which we can ever “know” someone, and if in possessing another, we might transcend ourselves.

Alanna Schubach is a fiction writer, freelance journalist, and teacher. She was named a NYC Emerging Writers Fellow with the Center for Fiction in 2019, and a Fellow in Fiction with the New York Foundation for the Arts in 2015. She was awarded a residency at the Vermont Studio Center in 2017. Her short stories have appeared in Electric Literature, The Lifted Brow, Post Road, and more. She earned an MFA in Creative Writing from Sarah Lawrence College. She served as Contributing Editor for Brick Underground and has contributed essays, features, criticism, opinion, and profiles to The Washington Post, The Atlantic, Al Jazeera, Jezebel, Dame, The Village Voice, and more. She teaches fiction and non-fiction for the Gotham Writers Workshop.

JONATHAN ABERNATHY YOU ARE KIND de Molly McGhee

At once tender, startling, and deeply funny, JONATHAN ABERNATHY YOU ARE KIND is a gimlet-eyed reckoning with late-stage capitalism, a brilliant, ferocious novel for readers of Paul Beatty’s The Sellout and Patricia Lockwood’s No One Is Talking About This.

JONATHAN ABERNATHY YOU ARE KIND
by Molly McGhee
‎ Atra, Fall 2023
(via Sterling Lord Literistic)

Jonathan Abernathy is screwed. Jobless, behind on his student loan payments, and a self-declared failure, the only thing Abernathy has in abundance is debt. When a government loan forgiveness program offers him a job he can do literally in his sleep, he thinks he’s found his big break. That is, until he finds himself auditing the dreams of white collar workers, flagging their anxieties and preoccupations for removal.
As Abernathy finds his footing in this new role, reality and morality begin to warp around him. Soon, the lines between life and work, love and hate, right and wrong, even sleep and consciousness, have blurred.

Molly McGhee reminds me of absolutely no one. Here’s an original mind brimming over with invention and comic ferocity and a new world sensibility that serves to remind us what good hands the future of literature is in. I am hugely excited for everyone to read this mad, hilarious writer.” —Ben Marcus, Guggenheim Fellow and author of The Flame Alphabet

Molly McGhee is from a cluster of unincorporated towns outside of Nashville, Tennessee. She completed her M.F.A. in fiction at Columbia University, where, in addition to receiving a Chair’s Fellowship, she taught in the undergraduate creative writing department. She has worked in the editorial departments of McSweeney’s, The Believer, NOON, Farrar, Straus and Giroux, and Tor. Currently living in Brooklyn, her work has appeared in The Paris Review.

MY MURDER de Katie Williams sera adapté pour Netflix et produit par Harry & Meghan

Netflix et la société de production du prince Harry et de son épouse Meghan, Archewell Productions, ont remporté aux enchères les droits d’adaptation du thriller de science-fiction de Katie Williams, MY MURDER. La plateforme de streaming prévoit d’en faire un long métrage. Aucune date n’a été annoncée pour le moment.

Dans le roman, qui paraîtra en été/automne 2023 chez Riverhead aux États-Unis, la mort de Louise, une jeune mère assinée par un tueur en série, scandalise l’opinion publique. Mais Lou renaît, clonée par le gouvernement. Pour essayer de comprendre ce qui lui est arrivé et qui elle est désormais, elle rejoint un groupe de soutien auquel appartiennent les quatre clones des autres victimes. Elles se réunissent chaque semaine pour s’épauler mutuellement au sein d’une société obsédée par leur existence même. Après avoir accepté d’aider une des victimes à rendre visite au tueur, Lou découvre un secret choquant et décide d’enquêter sur sa propre mort… (Lire la présentation complète ici)

Les droits de langue française sont toujours disponibles.

THE SEVEN CIRCLES de Chelsey Luger & Thosh Collins

In this revolutionary self-help guide, two beloved Native American wellness activists offer wisdom for achieving spiritual, physical, and emotional wellbeing rooted in Indigenous ancestral knowledge.

THE SEVEN CIRCLES:
Indigenous Teachings for Living Well
by Chelsey Luger & Thosh Collins
HarperOne, October 2022
(via Sterling Lord Literistic)

When wellness teachers and husband-wife duo Chelsey Luger and Thosh Collins founded their Indigenous wellness initiative, Well for Culture, they extended an invitation to all to honor their whole self through Native wellness philosophies and practices. In reclaiming this ancient wisdom for health and wellbeing—drawing from traditions spanning multiple tribes—they developed a holistic model for modern living rooted in timeless teachings from their ancestors. Luger and Collins have introduced this universally adaptable template for living well to Ivy League universities and corporations like Nike, Adidas, and Google, and now make it available to everyone in this wise guide.
Their model comprises interconnected circles that keep all aspects of our lives in balance, functioning in harmony with one another. They are: Food, Movement, Sleep, Ceremony, Sacred Space, Land, Community.
In THE SEVEN CIRCLES, Luger and Collins share intimate stories from their life journeys growing up in tribal communities, from the Indigenous tradition of staying active and spiritually centered through running and dance, to the universal Indigenous emphasis on a light-filled, minimalist home to create sacred space.
With warmth and generosity—and 75 atmospheric photographs by Collins throughout—THE SEVEN CIRCLES
teaches us how to connect with nature, with our community, and with ourselves, and to integrate ancient Indigenous philosophies of health and wellbeing into our own lives to find healing and balance.

Chelsey Luger and Thosh Collins are cofounders of the Indigenous wellness organization Well for Culture, for which they conduct workshops and keynote speaking engagements around the world with universities, non-profit organizations, and corporations such as Nike, Adidas, Google, and Equinox. Their work has been featured in numerous publications including The New York Times, BBC World News, Shape, Bon Appetit, Well + Good, and the Nike N7 campaign, among other outlets. They live in Arizona with their two daughters.

RECOVERY TAKES FLIGHT de Scott Weidensaul

Through active conversations with biologists, conservationists and others around the globe, world-renowned naturalist Scott Weidensaul explores the groundbreaking progress that’s being made for birds.

RECOVERY TAKES FLIGHT:
Saving Birds (and Saving The World)
by Scott Weidensaul
W.W. Norton, Fall 2025
(via Sterling Lord Literistic)

As grim as the recognition that we’ve lost nearly 3 billion birds—a third of our avifauna in North America, in the past 50 years—may be, there are many places where the tide is being turned. Globally, at scales hyperlocal or hemispherically immense, work is being driven not just by scientists and conservation professionals but also by average people—ranchers in the West, rice farmers in Colombia, Indigenous Dene communities in Canada, poor rural women in India, isolated Polynesian islanders, rural villages in the Carpathian Mountains, and many more. And because birds are so diverse, so ubiquitous, and with their migrations cover virtually every square mile of the planet’s surface, if we can create a planet that works for birds, it will work for everything else, including us.

Scott Weidensaul is a Pennsylvania-based naturalist and one of the most respected natural history writers in the US. He was a finalist for the 2000 Pulitzer Prize in general nonfiction for his book Living on the Wind: Across the Hemisphere With Migratory Birds, and has written more than 30 books on birds. He is a contributing editor to Audubon magazine and a columnist for Bird Watcher’s Digest. For the past 20 years Weidensaul has overseen one of the largest owl-migration research projects in the country, and he is one of fewer than 200 licensed hummingbird banders in the world.