Archives par étiquette : Sterling Lord Literistic

AUTOPORTRAIT de Jesse Ball

A literary self-portrait in which the author’s entire life is revealed through the brief moments of accident, absurdity, and loss which have made it.

AUTOPORTRAIT
by Jesse Ball
‎ Catapult, TBD 2022
(via Sterling Lord Literistic)

Photo by James Foster

Inspired by Édouard Levé’s novel of the same title and format, Jesse Ball haswritten a slim, uninterrupted stream of compact reflections with no obvious order, that brilliantly construct AUTOPORTRAIT. These reflections range from the mundane, the crude, and the crass, to the mysterious, poignant and the brutally beautiful. With spare prose, marked by its humility and precision, Jesse Ball has rendered life, memory, and existence so vividly there are many places where the reader wonders if it is their own existence being described. The novel, which borrows its name from Levé’s, and which preceded Levé’s final work published mere weeks before his tragic suicide, deals with similar themes in a similar register. However, Ball’s voice is entirely his own, and the speaker of this novel is frighteningly honest, while inspiring a deep, tender fondness. Among the many treasures of this piece, Ball includes comments on his difficult upbringing, his marriages, his drug use, his teaching and pedagogy, the things he likes about cats and rats, and the things he adores about gullies and sumps.
Ambitious, serious, witty, and provocative, Jesse Ball’s latest work is a disciplined novel that chronicles the chaos of a life. AUTOPORTRAIT, both through its form and its content, suggests that human beings are made up of contradictions, and encourages us to contradict ourselves more often.

Jesse Ball is the author of fourteen books. His works have been published to acclaim in many parts of the world and translated into more than a dozen languages. He is on the faculty at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, won the 2018 Gordon Burn Prize, the 2008 Paris Review Plimpton Prize, was longlisted for the National Book Award, and is a 2017 Granta Best Young American Novelist. Ball has also been a fellow of the NEA, Creative Capital, and the Guggenheim Foundation.

TOGETHER WE BURN d’Isabel Ibañez

A lush, enchanting standalone fantasy inspired by medieval Spain about a family of famous Dragonadores—matador-like figures who fight dragons for entertainment.

TOGETHER WE BURN
by Isabel Ibañez
Wednesday Books, May 2022
(via Sterling Lord Literistic)

Eighteen-year-old Zarela Zalvidar is a talented flamenco dancer and daughter of the most famous Dragonador in Hispalia. People come for miles to see him fight in their arena, La Giralda. And one day La Giralda will be hers to run. During their five hundredth anniversary show, the family’s dragons mysteriously break free from their pens, causing death and destruction in the ring, and in the carnage, Zarela’s father is horribly injured. Facing punishment from the Dragon Guild, Zarela must keep the arena—her ancestral home and inheritance —safe from their greedy hands. She has no choice but to take her father’s place as the Dragonador of La Giralda. Seeking the help of Arturo Diaz de Montserrat, an infuriatingly handsome former Dragonador with his own secrets, she trains for the role of her life.
But someone is out to ruin the Zalvidar family, and Zarela will have to stay one step ahead of them in order to prevent the Dragon Guild from taking away her birthright.
Ibañez offers a beautifully built world and swiftly paced adventure with exactly the right amount of danger, heroics, sparkling dialogue, and romance. TOGETHER WE BURN is perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas, Shelby Mahurin, and Zoraida Cordova.

Isabel Ibañez was born in Boca Raton, Florida and is the proud daughter of two Bolivian immigrants. A true word nerd, she received her degree in Creative Writing and has been a Pitch Wars mentor for three years. Isabel is an avid movie goer and loves hosting family and friends around the dinner table. She currently lives in Winter Park, Florida with her husband, their adorable dog, and a serious collection of books.

A STUDY IN DROWNING d’Ava Reid

If the monsters are real, so are the women who defeat them. Ava Reid’s YA thriller is Possession meets The Hazel Wood.

A STUDY IN DROWNING
by Ava Reid
HarperTeen, Winter 2023
(via Sterling Lord Literistic)

Architect student Effy Sayre has been called many things—a liar, a tease, a troubled young woman—but Effy is above all a survivor. When Effy sees a flier announcing a competition to design her favorite author Emyrs Myrddin’s family estate, she feels certain this is her destiny. Effy’s tattered, dog-eared copy of his most famous work, Angharad, about a girl who falls in love with the Fairy King, lays permanently on her nightstand. While others read his stories as fiction, she knows something they don’t—the Fairy King is real.
When Effy arrives at Hiraeth Manor in the Bay of Bells, a sinking house at the edge of a hungry sea, she meets a stodgy, young academic, Preston Heloury, who is determined to prove that her favorite author was a fraud. Preston has devoted his life to his studies, and doesn’t believe in destiny or fate… or magic. They immediately commence a rivalry over the reclusive and mysterious dead author’s legacy, piecing together clues through his letters, books, and diary entries, but there are dark forces, both mortal and magical, conspiring against them, and the truth may bring them both to ruin.

Ava Reid was born in Manhattan and raised right across the Hudson River in Hoboken, but currently lives in Palo Alto, where the weather is too sunny and the people are too friendly. She has a degree in political science from Barnard College. Her debut adult fantasy, The Wolf and the Woodsman, published in 2021 with Harper Voyager.

FIRST LIE WINS d’Ashley Elston

Evie Porter has everything a nice, Southern girl could want—perfect, doting boyfriend, house with a white picket fence and a garden, fancy group of friends. Only thing is—Evie Porter doesn’t exist.

FIRST LIE WINS
by Ashley Elston
Pamela Dorman Books/Viking, Spring 2023
(via Sterling Lord Literistic)

The identity came first: Evie Porter, newest resident of Lake Forbing, Louisiana. Once she was given a name and location by her mysterious boss, she became that person. She learned everything there was to know about the town and the people in it. Then the mark: Ryan Sumner. She ate, slept and breathed everything Ryan.
The last piece of the puzzle was the job.
Sometimes the jobs were short, lasting a few days to a week. A quick in and out. Other times, they were much longer. A couple months or more. She knew this job would be different. She knew she couldn’t make any mistakes especially after what happened on the last job. She came in expecting the worst but she never saw the woman coming.
Because the one thing she worked her entire life to keep clean, the one identity she could always go back to—her real identity—just walked right into this job. Evie Porter must stay one step ahead of her past while making sure there’s still a future in front of her.
FIRST LIE WINS is a twisty, cat-and-mouse suspense that turns the domestic thriller on its head. It’s a stylish, sharp, impossible-to-put-down read in the vein of Laura Dave, Liv Constantine, and Julie Clark.

Ashley Elston is the author of several young adult novels, including The Rules for Disappearing (a finalist in the Best Young Adult Novel category of the International Thriller Awards) and 10 Blind Dates. Her work has been translated into 23 languages. She graduated with a Liberal Arts degree from Louisiana State University in Shreveport. Ashley worked for many years as a wedding photographer before turning her hand to writing. Ashley lives in Louisiana with her husband and three sons. 10 Blind Dates has been optioned by ACE Entertainment, the group who produced To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before.

LIL’ KIM: THE QUEEN BEE de Lil’ Kim

A fearless, inspiring, and refreshingly candid memoir by the Grammy-award winning rapper, multi-platinum recording artist, and cultural icon Lil’ Kim.

LIL’ KIM: THE QUEEN BEE
by Lil’ Kim
Hachette US, November 2021
(via Sterling Lord Literistic)

When teenager Kimberly Denise Jones—better known as Lil’ Kim—burst on the hip-hop scene in the mid-nineties, no one was prepared for how she would shake-up the entire music industry. As the sole female member of the Notorious B.I.G.’s rap collective, Junior M.A.F.I.A., and an affiliate of Puff Daddy and the Bad Boy family, Lil’ Kim always stood out from the pack. But she was determined to make an even greater name for herself and emerged as a solo superstar. In 1996, she dropped her solo debut album, Hard Core, which topped the Billboard charts, went double-platinum, and is now widely considered to be one of the most influential rap albums of all-time. With her dynamic lyricism, her unflappable no-nonsense attitude, her iconic looks both on and off the red carpet, and her unapologetic sexuality, Lil’ Kim quickly established herself as a force to be reckoned with—and was crowned the Original Queen Bee.
Twenty-five years later, this Grammy award-winning superstar has released five studio albums, sold millions of records, topped the Billboard charts, performed all over the world, and remains at the top of her game. And yet few people ever knew about the hard work, hustle, and heartbreak that went into securing her place on the throne—until now. In this debut memoir, Lil’ Kim reveals everything that really went on behind-the-scenes of her legendary career, much of it for the very first time publicly. From her earliest rap beginnings growing up in Bed-Stuy, Brooklyn, and her teenage years spent with the Notorious B.I.G. to her rise as a solo icon, Lil’ Kim not only blazed trails for women in hip-hop, but also inspired the careers of those who followed. However, life at the top hasn’t been easy, either. Lil’ Kim also talks about the hidden moments of her reign: her complicated high-profile relationships, the misogynistic industry she fought to change through sex positivity, the challenging double standards of self-image and beauty in the spotlight, and the momentous act of loyalty that ultimately landed her in prison.
A true page-turner from start to finish, The Queen Bee is every bit as fierce, empowering, and badass as the woman at the heart of this story—and firmly cements her legacy as a true feminist icon.

Kimberly Denise Jones is the female rap legend, better known as Lil’ Kim. She has sold more than 15 million albums and 30 million singles worldwide.