Archives par étiquette : Greystone

THE BETTER SEX THROUGH MINDFULNESS WORKBOOK de Lori Brotto

An actionable, approachable workbook for Better Sex through Mindfulness that allows readers to apply the book’s groundbreaking research to cultivate desire in everyday life.

THE BETTER SEX THROUGH MINDFULNESS WORKBOOK:
A Guide to Cultivating Desire
by Lori Brotto
Greystone, October 2022

In her trailblazing book Better Sex Through Mindfulness, clinical psychologist Dr. Lori Brotto revealed how mindfulness can be used to treat sexual difficulties such as lack of desire, pain, and trauma. An instant favorite among sex therapists and clinicians as well as readers, the book featured a foreword by Emily Nagoski and was recommended by Dan Savage and by Dr. Jen Gunter in The New York Times. In this functional workbook, readers can apply Dr. Brotto’s award-winning research in a simple, structured setting for optimal results.
Designed primarily for women, with instructions and inquiries for developing a mindfulness practice with or without a sexual partner, this guidebook also includes information for men and gender diverse people. Dr. Brotto infuses her workbook with compassion and hope, inspiring gentleness and curiosity on this path towards more fulfilling and pleasurable sex for all.

Lori A. Brotto, PhD, is a clinical psychologist and sex researcher. She is a member of various sexuality organizations and an associate editor for Archives of Sexual Behavior. Brotto has been featured in the New York Times, The Walrus, Chatelaine, Dan Savage’s Savage Lovecast, and many other outlets. She lives in Vancouver, BC.

WILDFLOWER de Melanie Brown, illustré par Sara Gillingham

A stunning picture book that celebrates gardens and inclusion from an award-winning talent.

WILDFLOWER
by Melanie Brown
illustrated by Sara Gillingham
Greystone, May 2022

Daisy is new to the garden and just opening her petals to the sun when Rose tells her that she’s just a weed. What’s a weed? Rose explains that weeds aren’t planted on purpose and only get in the way. As Daisy compares herself to other plants in the garden, she begins to feel even worse: she isn’t tall like Sunflower, nor sweet like Strawberry, nor fragrant like Rose. Just as Daisy worries that Rose might be right—that she is a weed after all—a strange and beautiful plant offers a new perspective. Maybe Daisy does have a purpose! And why do others get to decide who she is? This sweet and empowering story shows the inner strength it can take to define ourselves on our own terms, and how supporting one another can help us grow.

Melanie Brown has worked as both an elementary school teacher and an interior designer, and she lives in Vancouver with her family and a sweet silver Labrador retriever named Rosie. WILDFLOWER is her first book.
Sara Gillingham is an award-winning children’s book author and illustrator, art director, and designer who has helped publish many bestselling books. Sara has written and illustrated more than twenty-five titles for children, including How to Grow a Friend, Snuggle the Baby, the Empowerment series, and the bestselling In My series. She lives in Vancouver with her family.

I AM A PEACEFUL GOLDFISH de Shoshana Chaim, illustré par Lori Joy Smith

For fans of Deborah Underwood’s The Quiet Book and Susan Verde’s I Am Peace, this gentle story introduces kids to mindfulness and breath awareness.

I AM A PEACEFUL GOLDFISH
by Shoshana Chaim
illustrated by Lori Joy Smith
Greystone Books, April 2021

When we are overcome with emotions, our breath—and a bit of imagination—can bring us back to a peaceful place. In I Am a Peaceful Goldfish, two children learn how to settle their difficult feelings with imaginative breathing techniques, pretending they are elephants, flowers, and even dragons!
A perfect book for readers of
I Am Peace and I Am Yoga by Susan Verde.

Shoshana Chaim is a former kindergarten and physical education teacher turned wellness expert, who concentrates on helping families make healthy lifestyle choices. She also teaches children’s yoga and hosts The Plant Trainers Podcast. She lives in Toronto with her husband and two children.

Lori Joy Smith is an illustrator of multiple children’s books and an artist whose works have exhibited in galleries around the world. Smith lives on Prince Edward Island with her husband, two girls, three cats, two bunnies, one dog, and two sheep.

SHOW US WHERE YOU LIVE, HUMPBACK de Beryl Young, illustré par Sakika Kikuchi

This evocative picture book celebrates a child’s connection and kinship with whales.

SHOW US WHERE YOU LIVE, HUMPBACK
by Beryl Young
illustrated by Sakika Kikuchi
Greystone Books, May 2021

Swimming, singing, and blowing bubbles—children and baby whales love many of the same things! This lyrical picture book compares the parent-child relationship with the bond between a mother humpback whale and her calf, showing how their underwater lives are touchingly like our own. Patterned in a call-and-response format, where the mother observes and the child responds, this book is peppered with facts and begs to be read aloud. At the story’s end, acclaimed author Beryl Young and debut illustrator Sakika Kikuchi leave readers dreaming of the wonderful world we share with whales.

Beryl Young is the author of several critically acclaimed and award-winning books for children, including picture books, middle-grade novels, and biographies.Young fell in love with humpback whales watching them swim off the coast of British Columbia and in the warm bays of Hawaii.She lives in Vancouver and has three children and four grandchildren.

Sakika Kikuchi is an illustrator who has loved picture books and stories since her childhood. After studying graphic design at Tama Art University in Tokyo, she worked as an in-house designer for a few years before moving to the UK to complete her MA in children’s book illustration at the Cambridge School of Art. She lives in Japan. This is her first picture book.

THE REIGN OF WOLF 21 by Rick McIntyre

The Druid Peak Pack was the most famous wolf pack in Yellowstone National Park, and maybe even in the world. This is the dramatic true story of its remarkable leader, Wolf 21.

THE REIGN OF WOLF 21
by Rick McIntyre

Greystone, September 2020 (voir catalogue)

In this compelling follow-up to the national bestseller The Rise of Wolf 8, Rick McIntyre profiles one of Yellowstone’s most revered alpha males, Wolf 21. Leader of the Druid Peak Pack, Wolf 21 was known for his unwavering bravery, his unusual benevolence (unlike other alphas, he never killed defeated rival males), and his fierce commitment to his mate, the formidable Wolf 42. Wolf 21 and Wolf 42 were attracted to each other the moment they met—but Wolf 42’s jealous sister interfered viciously in their relationship. After an explosive insurrection within the pack, the two wolves came together at last as leaders of the Druid Peak Pack, which dominated the park for more than 10 years. McIntyre recounts the pack’s fascinating saga with compassion and a keen eye for detail, drawing on his many years of experience observing Yellowstone wolves in the wild. His outstanding work of science writing offers unparalleled insight into wolf behavior and Yellowstone’s famed wolf reintroduction project. It also offers a love story for the ages.

Like Thomas McNamee, David Mech, Barry Lopez, and other literary naturalists with an interest in wolf behavior, McIntyre writes with both elegance and flair, making complex biology and ethology a pleasure to read. Fans of wild wolves will eat this one up.” —Kirkus starred review

Rick McIntyre has spent more than fifty years watching wolves in America’s national parks, twenty-five of those years in Yellowstone, where he has accumulated over 100,000 wolf sightings and educated the public about the park’s most famous wolves. He has spoken about the Yellowstone wolves with 60 Minutes, NPR, and CBC, and he is profiled extensively in Nate Blakeslee’s American Wolf and in international publications. He lives in Silver Gate, Montana.