Archives par étiquette : Isabel Ibañez

TOGETHER WE BURN d’Isabel Ibañez

A lush, enchanting standalone fantasy inspired by medieval Spain about a family of famous Dragonadores—matador-like figures who fight dragons for entertainment.

TOGETHER WE BURN
by Isabel Ibañez
Wednesday Books, May 2022
(via Sterling Lord Literistic)

Eighteen-year-old Zarela Zalvidar is a talented flamenco dancer and daughter of the most famous Dragonador in Hispalia. People come for miles to see him fight in their arena, La Giralda. And one day La Giralda will be hers to run. During their five hundredth anniversary show, the family’s dragons mysteriously break free from their pens, causing death and destruction in the ring, and in the carnage, Zarela’s father is horribly injured. Facing punishment from the Dragon Guild, Zarela must keep the arena—her ancestral home and inheritance —safe from their greedy hands. She has no choice but to take her father’s place as the Dragonador of La Giralda. Seeking the help of Arturo Diaz de Montserrat, an infuriatingly handsome former Dragonador with his own secrets, she trains for the role of her life.
But someone is out to ruin the Zalvidar family, and Zarela will have to stay one step ahead of them in order to prevent the Dragon Guild from taking away her birthright.
Ibañez offers a beautifully built world and swiftly paced adventure with exactly the right amount of danger, heroics, sparkling dialogue, and romance. TOGETHER WE BURN is perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas, Shelby Mahurin, and Zoraida Cordova.

Isabel Ibañez was born in Boca Raton, Florida and is the proud daughter of two Bolivian immigrants. A true word nerd, she received her degree in Creative Writing and has been a Pitch Wars mentor for three years. Isabel is an avid movie goer and loves hosting family and friends around the dinner table. She currently lives in Winter Park, Florida with her husband, their adorable dog, and a serious collection of books.

WRITTEN IN STARLIGHT d’Isabel Ibañez

An adventurous South American Tomb Raider! This hotly anticipated companion to Woven in Moonlight follows an outcast Condesa, as she braves the jungle to forge an alliance with the lost city of gold.

WRITTEN IN STARLIGHT
by Isabel Ibañez
Page Street, January 2021
(chez Sterling Lord Literistic)

Catalina Quiroga is a Condesa without a country. She’s lost the Inkasisa throne, the loyalty of her people, and her best friend. Banished to the perilous Yanu Jungle, Catalina knows her chances of survival are slim, but that won’t stop her from trying to escape. Her duty is to rule. While running for her life, Catalina is rescued by Manuel, the son of her former general who has spent years searching for allies. With his help, Catalina could find the city of gold that’s home to the fierce Illari people and strike a deal with them for an army to retake her throne. But the elusive Illari are fighting a battle of their own―a mysterious blight is corrupting the jungle, laying waste to everything they hold dear. As a seer, Catalina should be able to help, but her ability to read the future in the stars is as feeble as her survival instincts. While searching for the Illari, Catalina must reckon with her duty and her heart to find her true calling, which is key to stopping the corruption before it destroys the jungle completely.

Isabel Ibañez is the author of Woven in Moonlight (Page Street), which received two starred reviews and earned praise from NPR. She was born in Boca Raton, Florida, and is the proud daughter of two Bolivian immigrants. Isabel is an avid movie goer and loves hosting family and friends around the dinner table. She currently lives in Winter Park, Florida, with her husband, their adorable dog, and a serious collection of books.