Archives par étiquette : Laura Dail Literary Agency

BEHIND THE CRIMSON CURTAIN d’E.B. Golden

Firin and Bregan never should have met, let alone started a relationship that would haunt them their whole lives.

BEHIND THE CRIMSON CURTAIN
by E.B. Golden
47 North/(Amazon, September 2024
(via Laura Dail Literary Agency)

Firin is a face-changing con artist trained by her domineering father. Bregan is an actor turned heroic leader in the Reform movement that’s overthrowing the coal-choked island of Luisonn.

As the flames of revolt settle, Firin joins Bregan on the stage. She’s determined to create a life with the honorable man she never forgot. But love and truth are hard to hide—especially when one of Firin’s victims, now President, chooses Bregan as his right-hand man. In a web of war and false identities, Firin must choose a side. Will the price of freedom be her heart?

« A steamy, epic romance with two backdrops — a revolution and the theater — that somehow work together perfectly.” – Ali Hazelwood, author of The Love Hypothesis and other TikTok sensations/New York Times bestsellers

A lyrically haunting love story masterfully woven into a world that is a poignant mirror to our own. Genre fans will be enraptured by the morally gray cast, shocking plot twists, and imaginative foray into the world of theater. Fans of Erin Morgenstern, Shannon Chakraborty, and R.F. Kuang will be undone. Perfect for readers who love their fantasy razor sharp. » – J. Elle, New York Times bestselling author of House of Marionne and Wings of Ebony

Though born and raised on the coast of Maine, E.B. Golden spends most of her free time exploring the mountains of southwest Colorado with her husband and daughter. Since she could hold a pen, she’s used speculative fiction to make sense of a nonsensical world, and when she’s not writing, she’s usually traveling or coaching other writers, because the world always needs more stories.

KILLER STORY de Claire St. Amant

Behind the scenes of every major murder story, there is an entirely separate drama playing out in newsrooms across the country.

KILLER STORY
by Claire St. Amant
BenBella Books, February 2025
(via Laura Dail Literary Agency)

If you pictured Apple TV’s The Morning Show taking place on the set of 48 Hours, you’d have Claire St. Amant’s behind-the-scenes memoir, KILLER STORY. Diving into her time as a true crime television producer, Claire reveals the inner workings of national TV murder coverage, narrating and investigating the twisting cases themselves, while also detailing her personal journey in mainstream network news.

Claire St. Amant is the host of the true crime podcast, Final Days on Earth, which has over 1.4 million downloads since its launch in 2021. She was part of the breaking news team nominated for an Emmy in 2016 for “Bringing a Nation Together,” a special report on the Dallas Police shooting. She has written for CBS News, the Wall Street Journal, Houston Chronicle, and D Magazine. She has earned many writing accolades, including two Dallas Bar Association Stephen Philbin Awards for excellence in legal reporting. She lives in Dallas, Texas.

THE BITTER END d’Alexa Donne

Eight teens. One blizzard. Zero exits. And a killer on the loose. The trip of a lifetime might be the death of them all.

THE BITTER END
by Alexa Donne
Crown (Penguin Random House), October 2024
(via Laura Dail Literary Agency)

Willa believes she’s cursed. Now bad luck has followed her up a mountain.

Declan became TikTok-famous for pranks. But this trip is no joke.

Delaney is the perfect girlfriend. Her boyfriend? He’s the perfect liar.

Wyatt has mastered every video game. Too bad there are no extra lives IRL.

Eden has never shied away from drama. Will her secrets get the best of her?

Liam is a literal Boy Scout. Now he’ll have to put his survival skills to use.

Camille is the ultimate competitor—and she’ll fight to the death.

Piper wasn’t supposed to be on this trip at all. Or was she?

The students of LA’s elite Warner Prep can’t wait for their Senior Excursion—five days of Instagrammable adventure in one of the world’s most exclusive locations. This is not your average field trip. Which is why eight students can’t believe their bad luck when they end up on a digital detox in an isolated Colorado ski chalet. Their epic trip is panning out to be an epic bore… until their classmates start dropping in a series of disturbing deaths. The message is clear: this trip is no accident. And when a blizzard strikes, secrets are revealed, betrayals are exposed, and survival is at stake in a race to the bitter end.

Alexa Donne is the author of Brightly Burning and The Stars We Steal, YA sci-fi romances, and The Ivies and Pretty Dead Queens, YA thrillers. A graduate of Boston University, she works in TV marketing and has done pro bono college admissions mentoring since 2014. In her “free” time she manages one of the most popular writing advice channels on YouTube.

THE SECRETS OF LOVELACE ACADEMY de Marie Benedict et Courtney Sheinmel

From New York Times bestselling author Marie Benedict and Courtney Sheinmel comes a historical adventure that follows the young and gifted Lainey as she is plucked from a London orphanage to begin attending Lovelace Academy, a boarding school with ivy-covered walls that hide more secrets than Lainey can even imagine.

THE SECRETS OF LOVELACE ACADEMY (Book 1)
by Marie Benedict and Courtney Sheinmel
Aladdin (Simon & Schuster), April 2025
(via Laura Dail Literary Agency)

London, 1904.

Lainey Phillips has lived at the Sycamore Home for Orphaned Children since she was three years old. Now nearly a teenager, her life is difficult, and she doesn’t expect it to get better—until a chance encounter during an open house changes everything when Lainey meets a woman who invites her to attend the prestigious Lovelace Academy.

Fitting in amongst the many privileged students at Lovelace Academy proves challenging in a different way, though. Terrified she’ll be cast out of the academy, Lainey grabs the chance to prove herself by traveling to Switzerland to witness a female scientist craft a groundbreaking theory. The journey that includes a train, a ferry, and a mysterious boy named Gen is treacherous, but the real test is what awaits her at the home of Mileva Maric, wife of Albert Einstein.

Marie Benedict is the New York Times bestselling author of several adult books of historical fiction, including The Other Einstein, the inspiration for this book. She lives in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

Courtney Sheinmel is the author of nearly thirty books for kids and teens, including the acclaimed Stella Batts and My Pet Slime series for young readers. Her book, Helen Keller, was part of Chelsea Clinton’s She Persisted series. Courtney received a National Scholastic Outstanding Educator Award for her work as a writing instructor at the non-profit Writopia Lab. She lives in New York City.

THE HEDGEWITCH OF FOXHALL d’Anna Bright

In this gorgeous stand-alone fantasy romance perfect for fans of Margaret Rogerson and Allison Saft, a rebellious witch undertakes a last-ditch quest to restore magic to medieval Wales—as two princes vie for her heart.

THE HEDGEWITCH OF FOXHALL
by Anna Bright
HarperTeen, March 2024
(via Laura Dail Literary)

Magic is fading from Wales—choked off by King Offa’s Dyke, the enemy earthworks that spans the entire border. Even the dragons have disappeared. And now an attack is imminent.

Prince Taliesin would love to watch magic die. Prince Dafydd fears it, and the throne. But when their father promises the crown to whichever son can destroy the dyke and restore magic to Wales, the brothers are forced into an uneasy rivalry.

Ffion works hedgewitch magic for poor folk, not princes. Unlike the power-hungry Foxhall coven, she uses only what nature can spare. But when the coven’s greed costs Ffion everything, she will need power beyond her wildest dreams to get back what she’s lost.

So when Prince Taliesin arrives, begrudgingly seeking a witch’s aid, Ffion agrees to help him—even if it means walking from one end of Wales to the other with the most use-less peacock she’s ever clapped eyes on. Even if it means striking a bargain with Dafydd behind Tal’s back. The fate of Wales depends on their quest… and so might the fate of Ffion’s heart.

Anna Bright lives in Washington, D.C., where she’s an indie bookseller by day and an author by night. She is also the author of THE BEHOLDER and THE BOUNDLESS, her debut novels, as well as THE SONG THAT MOVES THE SUN. 

« A fiercely lovely, wild-hearted enchantment of a story, with characters and a landscape worth falling for. Sheer magic from beginning to end. » Laura Weymouth, critically acclaimed author of The Light Between Worlds

A delicate weaving of fantasy and history, THE HEDGEWITCH OF FOXHALL casts a spell of magic, romance, and adventure from the first page.” Hannah Whitten, New York Times bestselling author of For the Wolf