Archives par étiquette : Sterling Lord Literistic

HARD GIRLS de J. Robert Lennon

An enormously gratifying crime novel featuring the Pool sisters—two estranged twin sisters with an unusual past take to the road on the hunt for their elusive mother.

HARD GIRLS
by J. Robert Lennon
Mulholland Books, Summer 2024
(via Sterling Lord Literistic)

Jean Pool has put her dark past behind her and is trying to live a peaceful life—caring for her daughter, enduring her bad marriage, and tending to her absentminded professor father—when a suspicious email lands in her inbox. It looks like spam, but she knows it’s a code—from her, Lila, the estranged twin sister Jean hasn’t seen in a decade. Against her better judgement, she responds, and learns that their mother, missing since they were teenagers and presumed dead, has resurfaced.
There’s nothing Jean wants less than to find the woman who abandoned them when they needed her most. But the mystery of their family’s past haunts her, and she agrees to a cross-country road trip to track Annabel Pool down and discover the secrets of their childhood. On the way, Jean and Lila must confront the horrific tragedy that turned them into runaways and eventually tore them apart.
Jean and Lila encounter gunrunners and conspiracy theorists, stalkers and spies, and uncover a decades-old secret that returns them to their youth—and to a shameful chapter in American history. Mystery, suspense, espionage, and family drama intersect in this smart thriller from the author of
Castle and Broken River.

J. Robert Lennon is the author of ten novels, including Familiar, Broken River, and Subdivision, and the story collections Pieces for the Left Hand, See You in Paradise, and Let Me Think. He lives in Ithaca, New York.

SOME STRANGE MUSIC DRAWS ME IN de Griffin Hansbury

A gorgeous novel about what it means to be a flawed and forgivable human being amidst constantly changing social norms.

SOME STRANGE MUSIC DRAWS ME IN
by Griffin Hansbury
W.W. Norton, Fall 2023
(via Sterling Lord Literistic)

In the summer of 1984, teenage Mel becomes entranced with the trans woman who appears in her blue-collar American town. Through the world-expanding time she spends with the woman, Sylvia, and the changes of adolescence, Mel soon discovers she is not the girl she thought she was—in fact, she might not be a girl at all. In the wake of this revelation, Mel navigates gender, sexuality, and an intense friendship with her childhood best friend in a hostile time and place for both girls and queers.
Moving back and forth to 2019, Mel has become Max, a middle-aged trans man. He returns to his hometown in the wake of his mother’s death, still reeling from his own politically-incorrect, gender-related scandal at his workplace, and bearing the burden of guilt from that pivotal teenage summer. As he reunites with his wayward older sister, spends time with his preteen great-niece and reckons with his past, Max works to come to terms with what it means to be a flawed and forgivable human being amidst constantly changing social norms.

Griffin Hansbury is the acclaimed author of Vanishing New York (Dey Street, 2017), based on the celebrated blog written under the pen name Jeremiah Moss. As Hansbury he is the author of The Nostalgist, a novel, and Day For Night, a collection of poems. A two-time NYFA fellow, his writing has appeared in n+1, The New York Times, The New York Daily News, and online for The New Yorker, The Paris Review, The Atlantic, The Village Voice, Salon, and The New York Review of Books.

MUCKROSS ABBEY AND OTHER STORIES de Sabina Murray

From the PEN/Faulkner award winning pioneer of “ironic gothic” (Washington Post) comes a wry and spooky set of ghost stories, replete with original illustrations.

MUCKROSS ABBEY AND OTHER STORIES
by Sabina Murray
Grove Atlantic, March 2023
(via Sterling Lord Literistic)

Since her acclaimed novel A Carnivore’s Inquiry, Sabina Murray has been celebrated for her mastery of the gothic. Now in MUCKROSS ABBEY AND OTHER STORIES, she returns to the genre, bringing readers to haunted sites from a West Sutralian convent school to the moors of England to the shores of Cape Cod in ten strange tales that are layered, meta, and unforgettable.
From a twisted recasting of Daphne Du Maurier’s
Rebecca, to an actor who dies for his art only to haunt his mother’s house, to the titular “Muckross Abbey,” an Irish chieftain burial site cursed by the specter of a flesh-eating groom—in this collection Murray gives us painters, writers, historians, and nuns all confronting the otherworldly in fantastically creepy ways. With notes of Wharton and James, Stoker and Shelley, now drawn into the present, these macabre stories are sure to captivate and chill.

Sabina Murray is the author of the novels The Human Zoo, Forgery, A Carnivore’s Inquiry, Slow Burn, and Valiant Gentlemen, as well as two short story collections, the Pen/Faulkner Award winning The Caprices, and Tales of the New World. She grew up in Australia and the Philippines and is currently a member of the MFA faculty at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst. She has also received a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship, a Massachusetts Cultural Council Grant, a UMass Research and Creativity Award, and a Fred R. Brown Literary Award from the University of Pittsburgh, and has been a Guggenheim Fellow, a Bunting Fellow at Radcliffe, and a Michener Fellow at UT Austin. She is the writer of the screenplay for the film Beautiful Country, for which she was nominated for an Independent Spirit Award and a Norwegian Amanda Award.

THE ALPHABETICAL DIARIES de Sheila Heti

A habitual diarist radically compresses and reorders ten years of life, asking not how a person should be, but how a person is.

THE ALPHABETICAL DIARIES
by Sheila Heti
Farrar, Straus & Giroux, Spring 2024
(via Sterling Lord Literistic)

A little more than 10 years ago, I began looking back at the diaries I had kept over the previous decade. I wondered if I’d changed. So I loaded all 500,000 words of my journals into Excel to order the sentences alphabetically. Perhaps this would help me identify patterns and repetitions. How many times had I written, I hate him, for example? With the sentences untethered from narrative, I started to see the self in a new way: as something quite solid, anchored by shockingly few characteristic preoccupations. As I returned to the project over the years, it grew into something more novelistic. I blurred the characters and cut thousands of sentences, to introduce some rhythm and beauty. When I was asked about a work of fiction that could be serialized, I thought of these diaries: The self’s report on itself is surely a great fiction, and what is a more fundamental mode of serialization than the alphabet? After some editing, here is the result.” —Sheila Heti

Sheila Heti is the author of several books of fiction and nonfiction, including How Should a Person Be?, which New York Magazine deemed one of the “New Classics of the 21st century.” She was named one of “The New Vanguard” by The New York Times book critics, who, along with a dozen other magazines and newspapers, chose Motherhood as a top book of 2018. Her books have been translated into twenty-one languages.

FRIENDS LIKE THESE de Jennifer Lynn Alvarez

From the author of Lies Like Wildfire comes another page-turning thriller about the little lies we all tell before the truth sets us free—perfect for readers of Karen M. McManus and Diana Urban.

FRIENDS LIKE THESE
by Jennifer Lynn Alvarez
Delacorte, November 2022
(via Sterling Lord Literistic)

Mistake number one: Fun-loving Jake tells his girlfriend Jessica that they have to go to Tegan’s end of summer party in their tiny California beach town. Jessica doesn’t like parties and she doesn’t like Tegan, who has an obvious, obsessive crush on Jake. But Jessica agrees to go, to make Jake happy.
Mistake number two: Something awful happens at the party. Something so embarrassing that Jessica doesn’t know if she can ever get over it—and Jake will do whatever it takes for forgiveness. And now, a girl is missing. Everyone is a suspect. And, Jessica begins to notice that Jake seems to have a lot to hide.
When a body is discovered at the beach, friends start turning on friends, and lies start piling on top of lies. What happened this summer could destroy their lives. Keep your friends close and your enemies closer? Perhaps that’s mistake number three…

With pulsing dialogue and believable action, the thriller raises the stakes at every turn. A fast-paced thriller to keep readers on the edges of their seats.” —Kirkus Reviews

Jennifer Lynn Alvarez is the author of the young adult thriller, Lies Like Wildfire, and two middle-grade fantasy series, The Guardian Herd and Riders of The Realm. She earned her degree in English Literature from UC Berkeley and is the Sonoma County Coordinator for SCBWI. The Pet Washer is her indie novel. Jennifer lives on a small ranch in Northern California with her husband, three children, and more than her fair share of pets.